Toyota22 Neutral Newbie April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 As my car is reaching the 80000km mileage soon, is it a must to change the timing belt ? I driving a toyota soluna. Any recommendation of where to change and the cost? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 Play safe, change the belt. Usually Jap cars need to change belt at 70k, does your owner's manual specific the change interval? Give Ah Lin at Blk 29, Sin Ming Ind Estate, #01-215. Tel: 4563710 a call and get a quote. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 Check your manual... as for mine.... it's 100,000km to change.. i'm driving a Toyota Corona.... cost should be in the range of $250 to $350... depending how indepth & throught u want to change.... but must use original ok...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo6_23 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 dun understand how come timing belts are so expensive to change... is it the labour...? the belts are quite cheap rite...? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Belts cost from $20-$70, the labor is intensive so usually charges range from $150-300 for changing timing belt. I suggest U change both timing and accessory belts at the same time, as for the water pump it's your call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo6_23 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 wat other accessory belts are there...? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Just one more accessory belt, for the alternator, aircon compressor, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 I understand that me e46 is chain. Thus change only at 200k??? Is this true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Should be thereabouts since chain is much stronger and does not get brittle like rubber belts. My recommended interval is 129k or 5yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Which in ur opinion is better? chain or belt??? I understand chain is a tad noisier?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Chain is slightly noiser and makes your engine sound like a diesel if not maintained. Donno whether is lub needed for the chain type but I believe in constant maintenance so I'd rather change a rubber one more often than leaving such a crucial item for 200k or 10yrs. Just my 2 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 So, my E46 sound like taxi hor! Well, better than President class at le ast! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Airport limo lah! Not taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luke721 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Hello Mr Toyota, Just changed my timing belt 2 mths back (i'm driving a Daewoo Lanos 99') - it cost me $450 (including the water pump as it was starting to leak). You should change it between 75k km to 85k km, bearing in mind the mileage does not include the times when the engine is idle (ie stopping at junctions or waiting for the wife). Your engine should start to be noiser now, and you may even hear the grinding of ballbearings. When this happens, do change the timing belt at your earliest convenience, if not, the belt could get jammed, and you would need to do a TOP OVERHAUL which could set you back by at least $900. Depending on where you live, you may wish to go to the Shell Kiosk along Jalan Bt Merah to get a rough quote from Richard. They provide excellent service, but the price is rather ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 just to give a very good example of mine, chain driven 1981 Mazda kenna trashed for around 300,000km before require an overhaul (timing chain was not broken) I understand that me e46 is chain. Thus change only at 200k??? Is this true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 If u really want to change... can go to my mechanic... should be about $300 plus minus..... Call 64438631.. ask for Kok Tai.... got to speak to him in Hokkien.... tell him your car model.... and ask him to quote u... if the price is right..... then confirm time.... go down and get it done.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 If you know your way in JB, I strongly suggest you get the timing belt changed there. Buy the original parts from Singapore, smuggle them in and let the Malaysian mechanic do the rest. The parts are not expensive. It is the labour involved. In labour scarce Singapore, it is not surprisingly our counterpart across the Causeway can sometime be 50% cheaper. For my previous car, I changed the clutch, timing belt and radiator at Malaysia. The car was fine to the day I sold it. My usual workshop is Century something or something Century (sorry, can't be sure). It is located near Hotel Continental. Good luck! As my car is reaching the 80000km mileage soon, is it a must to change the timing belt ? I driving a toyota soluna.Any recommendation of where to change and the cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Wow!! so u stayed there & waited for them to complete for u? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...