Timing belt

Toyota22

Don't say smuggle lah, for one item and for personal use it's fine. To play safe take it out of the packaging and stuff them into a container in the boot. Spare parts only mah [;)]

thanks guyver... but now still on member status (5-10% discount) with jackspeed... will try other mechanics once this membership expires... [;)]

You may wanna try the following.....

Racy Auto

360 Changi Road

Tel : 6342 1793

Look for Heng or Ken

Verdict : Not much of a workshop but workmanship is acceptable and reliable. I have been using them for the past 10 years.

Auto Dynamac

Blk 3019A Ubi Road 1

#01-28

Tel : 6745 9702

Look for Raymond

Verdict : Nice workshop and fully equipped. Friendly boss helps and competent mechanics. Price reasonable.

In fact I will be senting my car for the timing belt change tomorrow at Auto Dynamac. I will be doing the following preventive maintaince :

Timing Belt Change

Throttle Body Cleaning

Adjust Tappet

Replace waterpump

Check and replace other belts (alternator and fan)

Aircon servicing. (Top up of gas and replace the dryer)

The estimation is around 700-800 as some of the parts do not require replacement. Why dun you give Raymond a call.......tell him that the ghost ask you to call one....he beri scared of ghost one.... [:p][:p]

Initially, I did stay.

Over time, I've come to trust them. I simply leave the car there, go shopping and then pick up the car.

Wow!! so u stayed there & waited for them to complete for u?

can i know what the waterpump for ?

You may wanna try the following.....

Racy Auto

360 Changi Road

Tel : 6342 1793

Look for Heng or Ken

Verdict : Not much of a workshop but workmanship is acceptable and reliable. I have been using them for the past 10 years.

Auto Dynamac

Blk 3019A Ubi Road 1

#01-28

Tel : 6745 9702

Look for Raymond

Verdict : Nice workshop and fully equipped. Friendly boss helps and competent mechanics. Price reasonable.

In fact I will be senting my car for the timing belt change tomorrow at Auto Dynamac. I will be doing the following preventive maintaince :

Timing Belt Change

Throttle Body Cleaning

Adjust Tappet

Replace waterpump

Check and replace other belts (alternator and fan)

Aircon servicing. (Top up of gas and replace the dryer)

The estimation is around 700-800 as some of the parts do not require replacement. Why dun you give Raymond a call.......tell him that the ghost ask you to call one....he beri scared of ghost one.... [:p][:p]

Hi! there, Toyota22,

The water pump is used in water-cooled engines, e.g. the Beetle, has air-cooled engine. Water-cooled engines gives higher performances than air-cooled engines, thereby creating an increase in engine temperatures. To lower the temp., water cooling to intake manifold (though some don't have), cylinders, intake assembly is by water pump to circulate the water to a radiator for the safe operation of the engine at high mileage & speed.

To enable the engine to reach optimum operating temp, a thermostat is installed, which restrict the water flow to the engine, where it will only open the valve for water to flow, once temp. of the cooling system is reached for the smooth running of the engine.

In SG, with the temp. that we have, you'll not see the unsafe operation to the engine cooling system. In colder climates, if the temp. is too cold, damage to the engine is severe if it doesn't reach the operating temp of the engine. Hence, the radiator will have to be covered to prevent the flow of cold air into the radiator.

Over here, overheating is more of a concern, as it will affect everything in the engine bay. Relays, connectors, electrical parts, a/c components, will be degraded from an overheating engine. Many times, pressure fitting on the a/c system have blown open from the overworked a/c compressor.

Rgds

Paul Yong

There is no particular mechanic I go to. I just tell the boss what needs to be done and confirm the price with him before I leave.

So did u get the same guy to do the job? Or u liase with the boss.... and he'll get his mechanic to settle for u?

Hi! there, Guyver,

I do some of my own maintenance, and parts replacements. As I was once a mechanic in the offshore diving industry and w/shop assistant in a heavy plant company, I spend a lot of time talking to the mechanics where I developed to be quite a good engine-near.

The most significant incident that occured when I was at the w/shop was when sparks flew from a grinder and ignited a tray of thinner for cleaning parts, the explosion of flames engulfed an Indian worker. Be very aware of safety instructions.

Rgds

Paul Yong

Wow!!! no wonder.... u sound so hands on..... Wah!! u have experience real life things like this ah? like those in movie like that..... how did u save the guy then? Care to tell us about your heroic act?

As my car is reaching the 80000km mileage soon, is it a must to change the timing belt ? I driving a toyota soluna.

Any recommendation of where to change and the cost?

Whatever it is, don't tempt fate by going beyond the recommended mileage for a timing belt change. One busted timing belt means many other things needed to be changed. Since your car has served you well for 80000, don't you think it's time to serve her well too? [;)][laugh][laugh]

I would replace all the belts and battery in one go once a year. No need to remember the distance covered. Country is small and even with drives to MY, replacing them once a year is very recommended.

even my pants belt i dun replace every year....laugh.giflaugh.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif ... thats shows how well you maintain your tummy , me gotta change every year , tummy bloating liao sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif