Class D and A/B amps

Evan015

LOL, its more than poison liao at least for me. For now, I am sitting back to enjoy the CDs that I have collected for the past few years. You can say its "CD poison" now...wink.gif

my audioart classs AB cheater amps, 2x50 watts. one burned out liao, the other still suffering.. heheh..

If the amp stated 1ohm mono.Just stand at 2ohm mono will do. Due to the weather in Singapore. 1 ohm stable is trying your luck. Think u go down to 1ohm mono right? [laugh]

at 2 ohm mono, the amp not enough juice.

the other amp burnt out cos it was wired up wrongly b4.didnt wanna harm my sub, disconnected it.

yeah, still runnin my amp at 1ohm. for normal listening for most pple, 1 ohm is piece of cake.

but for me, the type of sub i'm usin and how i'm pumpin the amp, it heats up like siao. but anyway, the amp was made to be like that.. pumping it at 2ohm is wastin its potential.

tryin my luck would be wiring it up to half ohm.. heheh

Edited by Headshok

actually, if u read those car audio magazine, u can vomit blood after seeing the prices.

its DAMM cheap.. but u cant really use those to judge the prices here in Singapore. cos after importing in those products and the local agents jackin up the prices so that they can earn a living,and then supplyin to authorized dealers, it'll reach us much more ex.

but then again, when i made the comment abt the prices of the various types of amps, i'm making it in the Singapore context. the tubes/tube hybrids are 'generally' more expensive then most of their AB counter parts, but there are also class AB amps that are also priced out of this world.

IMHO, those prices in the US magazine only relates to pple who get their stuff direct from the US(be it hand carrying back or privately shipping it back). but for general consumers, those prices can be very heart breaking, imagine walkin into an ICE shop, askin for a rockford amp, expectin it to be a certain price and gettin a rude shock when its sold at a much more expensive price. thus those prices in magazines are pretty misleading in a way.

aniway, i'm still in the learning stage for many things, thanks for the encouragement, . . But i will never say i know everything as there are confirmed pple out there (like you) with such a wealth of knowledge to share.

cheers man!

dun get me wrong. Just want to share with you doesn't mean the amp is done by tube then must be ex. In fact i dun care how much the prices in Singapore. Because i never bought it here for the past until last year. Something change...

forgive me as a DIY man.

haha.. aiyah..

aniway, ur lucky that u don have to get ut stuff locally.. can save a bundle..

good for u [thumbsup]

Edited by Headshok

i believe is what type of song you listening to.maybe you are more to SQ .they must be a reason why manufacturing company want to make class D amp for sub and is expensive.they don't made it for no reason.

Yes. i believe manufacturer made class D amp sure for some reason. Like wat i said most of the american companies produced the class D more than European. Bcos they are more on bass. And it will save a lot of current and produce a big power. It all personal.

ya lor.. $$ hard to earn, so u must sell ur barangs cheap.. ahha.. i like ur sub... 10" atomic [thumbsup] , im looking at OZ or RE, but will let u noe if i want to buy...

Think totally disagree what you said.

Quality is base on the circuit design not measure it by CLASS. If you mind set said Tube is expensive. Then you may easily core by sellers.

Class A, when the RMS power at 5w or 15w. it may sound like Class A. But when it boost up to 75w or... it can't be the class A anymore. Maybe AB and B. So in the market in fact only AB or B. Class A is those company used as marketing purpose.

Hybrid Tube = input tube ,Output mosfet. In fact same prices with those market normal amp. Again. It depend on the circuit diagram design.

Full Tube= sound warm, what it ex in the market. Because designer have to put effort on the cooling design and power stablelizer.

D class = what american ppls like to use for sub.Bcos it used a little bit of current/power supply but produced the big power ( RMS ) output.

The prices on amplifier is measure by the amp circuit design. Mean the amp must be able to transfer the signal from the input stage to the output staget of the amp with the min signal lost and with consistantly. And... too many !!!

Best amplifer for sub ( SQ ) will be the normall class AB or.. no D.

Too much things. Better listen by your own ear. = )

hmmm, wat do u mean by Tube sound Warm? heh heh I can give you a dynamic Tube amp vs a warm Transistor Amp. Does that make the tube sounds warm ? or cos it's "WARM"?

Edited by Jeffteng

I'm gonna say something that will get myself flamed but doesn't matter....

Here goes, unless you have a space constraint, a tight budget or a weak electrical system, ALWAYS use a class AB amplifier if you are concerned about SQ. Even for your sub. Never a class D amp

And it is not always about power either. I used to have a JBL BP1200.1 driving my sub(class D 1000 watter), when I changed to a class AB monoblock with less than half the power, the sub with the class AB amp driving it sounded better.

bro u wont get flamed for this statement lah, in fact i would say [thumbsup]

wat do you mean by input tube and output mosfet? Can elaborate?

so there's realy no hard and fast rule tat states wat tyoe of amp is suitable for component or sub or used to achieve SQ or SPL, rite?

if there is, so to achieve SQ or SPL, which class of amp should we use?

So, for circuit diagram design, wat are the kind of diagram or design tat amps are based on? and wat are the differences for these designs?

I apologise if i am asking too much.. but was just curious? coz reading on website, some of the terms tat they use, really can't understand, easier to refer layman's term to professional lingo.. [sweatdrop]

Input stage of the amp is Tube and Output stage of the amp is mosfet circut design. Mostly all the USA brandnames are using mosfet circuit design.

Talk abt Tube will related with fiber optic. wow... long story [laugh][laugh]

In fact AB/Mosfet design are suitable for SQ and SPL. The only things u have to do is add on the capacitor to make the current supply more constant and more energy. In fact AB/Mosfet amp can perform SQL !!! Normally the damping factor is high compare with class D

Class D was designed by US. Bcos for the past history,they like to play loud.Many subs.

use small current but produce the high power. Normally u can easily to get class D amp with big power rating.

Most of the european products are AB n mosfet. Bcos they more on audiophile system.

Note, monoblock also got class AB n mosfet. Doesn't mean all the monoblock is class D

[wave][sleeping]

yupe totally agree~ [thumbsup]

as wat Xconfused said, AB also can, but personally, i'll still go for a class D as it wont generate so much heat

hmm... can tell u r the SPL kaki.

but the audioart amps that u use are AB design le. [thumbsup] good stuffs.

that fellow SPL SIAO one lah~~~ inside his head only about SPL~~~ and also PCC lah, all those crazy perverted stuff~~~ that's our Headshok~~

Edited by Jeffteng