Class D and A/B amps

Evan015

was wondering if any seniors here can explain wats the main diff between a Class D and a A/B amp? [sweatdrop]

Interesting Topic here [gossip] .....

Is it of importance if our amp is a Class A, Class A/B, or Class D or even Hybrid Tube???

Can anyone here "hear" the difference??? [hur][hur][hur]

class A= expensive

class A/B=normal prices

hybrid tube= even more expensive

tube=out of this world pricing

class D= best used to woofers as they are more efficient and will not heat up that much, thus not losing power to heat.

Think totally disagree what you said.

Quality is base on the circuit design not measure it by CLASS. If you mind set said Tube is expensive. Then you may easily core by sellers.

Class A, when the RMS power at 5w or 15w. it may sound like Class A. But when it boost up to 75w or... it can't be the class A anymore. Maybe AB and B. So in the market in fact only AB or B. Class A is those company used as marketing purpose.

Hybrid Tube = input tube ,Output mosfet. In fact same prices with those market normal amp. Again. It depend on the circuit diagram design.

Full Tube= sound warm, what it ex in the market. Because designer have to put effort on the cooling design and power stablelizer.

D class = what american ppls like to use for sub.Bcos it used a little bit of current/power supply but produced the big power ( RMS ) output.

The prices on amplifier is measure by the amp circuit design. Mean the amp must be able to transfer the signal from the input stage to the output staget of the amp with the min signal lost and with consistantly. And... too many !!!

Best amplifer for sub ( SQ ) will be the normall class AB or.. no D.

Too much things. Better listen by your own ear. = )

y u "tut" me until so jiat lat.. wah lau.. hahaha..i never say anything abt quality from the price wat.. just state my observation on the pricin on various types of amp lor.

but nice explanation. aiyah. i putting it in common layman terms mah. and its quite true (from what i've seen), tube is indeed more expensive as compared to normal Class ABs ard. how can u say i easily get conned?

class A, most ard quite ex.

class AB, common ard,price vary from cheap to ex.

Hybrid tube: more ex liao, like butler and rammaudio (according to bosebani, he got for 3K), thus i tink tats expensive.

class D, for sub, price vary lor..

aiyah, best to listen with own ears lor..

Edited by Headshok

>>class A= expensive

class A/B=normal prices

hybrid tube= even more expensive

tube=out of this world pricing >>

bro,

There are easily many class A/B amps that are more expensive than HYbrid Tube or Tube and vice versa. Since you are sellng ICE online, sure you know which are those, rite?

hahhaa..

i noe.. class AB got big price range .. heheh..from $60 planet audio to $7k Thesis (or is it $8k)

but tube is mostly quite ex as compared to most of the AB out there wat.. heheh..

heheh.. did i get the price of ur rammaudio correct?i remember it was ard that price that u stated..

Edited by Headshok

wat do you mean by input tube and output mosfet? Can elaborate?

so there's realy no hard and fast rule tat states wat tyoe of amp is suitable for component or sub or used to achieve SQ or SPL, rite?

if there is, so to achieve SQ or SPL, which class of amp should we use?

So, for circuit diagram design, wat are the kind of diagram or design tat amps are based on? and wat are the differences for these designs?

I apologise if i am asking too much.. but was just curious? coz reading on website, some of the terms tat they use, really can't understand, easier to refer layman's term to professional lingo.. [sweatdrop]

so basically class d is quite suitable for all lah, as it won't heat-up so much and its more effficient than the As, Bs and ABs. of coz still subjected to diff brands lah, diff diagram design lah [confused] , diff settings or tuning lah, diff needs and diff critical ears.. tio bo?

tat time u quoted for me the PG amp, i think u were refering to the Octane R 8.0:1, rite?

how much diff will the Octane R 15.0:1 be? in terms of damage and performance?

PM me? thanks [sweatdrop]

bro, in the latest SPL! magazine by Twnll [thumbsup] , there is a interesting article about Class D amplifier and it's purpose/benefits. Check it out [inlove]