Frustrating Waiting at the Ubi Service center

Benson

Singaporean work mentality: Work fast, same pay. Work slow, also same pay. Might as well work slow.

I'll be going for my 10k soon too. I intend to bring my papers and grab their free coffee/Milo and relax for 30min - 1 hour before being entertained. Then I'm off to meet my wife @ Orchard for shopping. Come back around late afternoon to collect car. laugh.gif

10k is nothing but a simple lube job and checking if the nuts and bolts are properly torqued. Nothing more. 6hr wait for a lube job? I think I can start an express lube service. Just come we drain, we change, you go. 30min tops. Go have a latte or capuccino while we work. idea.gif

actually the servicing is pretty fast, around an hour finished, it is the initial waiting for your turn to hand over the key that's long and frustrating!

brock, giving the hardworking service the credit, i dont think they are the bottle-neck. in fact the few i have met with are prompt and friendly. it is the bloody system. why have advance booking and still insist you wait based on queue number?

might as well scrap the advance booking and tell everyone it is a 1st-come-1st-serve basis? that way, i wont complaint.

but if i made an effort to book in advance and also the effort to arrive on time, they should also respect that mah.

also brock, it might take more than 30mins before you can hand over your key. if you cant wait, you can pass the key to the receptionist for her to monitor.

hmm...what can we do? for me...book the earliest of the day still got 2wait till 1pm. the worst thing is they advise @12pm that i need 2leave my OPTRA overnight.

the customer services needs 2enhance ...the lame excuse the given is really unacceptable.

Genie and Benson,

I expected a whole day job as I had several issues. (Benson: sure your ride is 100% ok?)

Appointment time: 0900 hours

Entertained time: 0945 hours

Potential problem(s) reported plus test drive from service tech:

1. Squeaky brakes

2. "Clog-clog" sounds from undercarriage

3. Smelly air from A/C

4. Fuel Sensor problem; inaccurate fuel reading from F to 3/4

5. Missing 'red button' (disable car alarm) near accelerator

Collection time: 1815 hours.

Reported fix(es):

1. A/C filter changed (standard); no more smelly air from A/C

2. "Clog-clog" sound still present; checked the service paper, which they kept. Informed that stabilizer was checked whether it is the "improved model" and serviced and nut number 19 was tightened. Stabilizer to be replaced next time (???)

3. Brakes and rotor checked and serviced (so far no squeaking)

4. Fuel Sensor replaced. My baby car seat was removed so that the rear seats was removed to replace it (I guess). Will monitor and see.

5. Missing 'red button' still missing; was told just to insert key w/o remove into lock and turn left and right to deactive alarm if it ever activate)

Used own oil (Triple R cxxxxxe 10W40 @ $29.90 Carrefour). Saved myself $75 instead of using their Mobil 1 Synthetic 10W50.

Car exterior was washed, including the engine bay (according to paper). I'm still unsure whether to return to SA for my 20k servicing or not. Let's see how my ride performs.

squeaky brakes? "clog clog" sound?

normal! i skimmed my front brake disc but still not satisfactory. "clog clog" sound, SA changed the stabilizer bushings....subsquently got sound again when braking and turning, SA changed link-rod. I was told this shouldn't spoil so fast unless we fly over hump or go off-road. I think there's something wrong with the whole suspension.

As for missing red button, did you let other ppl touch the panel there before?

Lukie,

Oh no! It's going to be another case of "It's liddat one!". Sigh. Stabilizer bushing, link-rod, suspension...all got problem. Jia-lat liao.

Nah...didn't let anyone touch the panel where the alarm override button is supposed to be.

BTW, how's your ride so far, besides the a/m problems?

Got some other problems....think I posted somewhere else. laugh.giflaugh.gif the belts start to get squeaky as well but little servicing does it. I am not sure if it's the suspension or steering....got this "tak tak" sound when I turn the steering and brake at same time when reversing of moving of in front for parking.

All distributor the same lah, They ask you to make appt but still make you wait.

The besting to do is do it outside workshop after the free service, cheap and need not wait.

Agreed Cheap Cheap Outside & No Waiting @ SPC Speedy Care Workshop [thumbsup]

Done my AVEO5 Auto 20000Km service there & cost only:

$93 SPC Syn Oil + Filter, Car Wash, Wheel balanced & Rotated + $20 Free Petrol Voucher.

$90 Set of 4 NGK Iridium Sparks Plug + 1 Free Car Wash voucher.

Cosy Air-Con Room with Internet, TV & Hot Drink.

Friendly & Attentive Service Tech & Adviser [thumbsup]

$183 less $20 Petrol & $3 Carwash Vouchers = $160.

Went there for my 1000 km servicing this week .

Being KS I was there BEFORE 0800h , already #4 on the waiting list .

You know what time I left ?

Almost 5 pm !

Just for that 1 hr servicing and what I would expect another 2~3 hours of niggly work to rectify the pickups that I have !

And then they forgot to put back some screws !

AH ! That will be another story , another post .

Have to go back the next day to have it put right .

Enough horror stories .

Singaporean workers ain't hungry enough !

My view .

[furious]

worker, did you book your slots?

if yes, you should have raise it up with the receptionist or whoever manager that walked past. it is crazy to spend the whole day for a 1 hour servicing job.

i believed there will be a telephone survey phone call to all that has been serviced in their service center. that's where you can raise your comments/ complaints.

I am driving a Aveo sedan, does anyone of you experience smell of fume from other vehicle with all window shut?, I just send my car for the 1000k servicing yesterday, complain about it, the technician make note and say he will check. Collect my car at 6.30pm(My car was send it at 8.45am) and still experiencing the fume smell while driving.

Not too sure whether is it normal or should I send back again?

Benson ,

I believe there is no advantage trying to book a slot.

It is still First-come-first-serve, according to your number allocated .

Of course, I had booked the date and asked for the earliest slot , presumely that would be the 0830h one .

Mine must have been a extreme case of a very slow mechanic , cannot think of any other excuses , or poor work ethics .

Anyway , their service still sucks.

My car has a slight drift to one side and they couldn't get it right , instead they resorted to blaming my alloy rims because i did not get them from SA !

They asked me to refit the original steel rims and let them re-adjust the alignment .

What absolute rubbish !

How can a machined alloy rim be less accurate and precise then a pressed and welded steel rim ?

Rgs

[drivingcar]

Check your fuel lines and for any holes underneath. Don't want to catch you dead in your underwear with a woman.