4" nail got stuck in tyre!

Picantorian

haha see so many pple posted replies to help u when ur tyre in trouble...very shou huan yin hor u... [laugh]

Dear all,

Have got a 4" nail stuck in the back tyre of the driver's side. Went to Stamford tyres hoping to get it mend, however, the nail is stuck at the wall. The guy advised that it could not be mended and we need to change our tyres... They removed the nail and sort of like put a stopper. Pump the pressure of the tyres up, in hope that it could last till tomorrow to go back C&C to change new tyres...

Thread life still left 90%.. heart pain....

Is there really no way to mend it? understand that it is safer to change a pair instead of just changing the affected tyres. Is it true?

Appreciate precious advise from bros and sis..

Thank you.

The general advice is that if the puncture is on the sidewall, safer to replace the tyre. But my logic is that it's very difficult for nails to pierce the sidewall under normal driving conditions, maybe at the edge between thread and sidewall.

When I was using "branded" tyres, I used to get a few nails in my tyres once in a while. Once I had a nail the very next day after changing to new tyres. Then I changed to "taxi" Maxxis, no nails, nothing. Now I'm using "cheapo" OEM tyres, no nails yet for the past 3 months. Maybe it's just my luck.

hahaha... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

maybe is not me shou huan yin lei.. maybe is my tyre.. laugh.giflaugh.gif

anyway, thank you very much for your advise and help! nod.gif

Edited by Picantorian

ya.. we feel safer to change the tires too..

found that Eng Wah (spoke to Vincent) sells brand new Yoko Ecos tire at a cheaper rate compared to C&C..

will go down and see this sat.. nod.gifsmile.gif

[:)] Btw, any idea if it's ok for me to drive with 3 Yokohama tyres and 1 Bridgestone?

Yokohama C Drive 185/65R14

Bridgestone B38 175/70R14

And now that I intend to buy a spare, do you think I shd get a Yokohama or bridgestone?

Picantorian, sorry to use your thread. I dun have enuf postings to start a new one.

My friend just called me to tell me he had the same problem as u...nail went thru the top and come out thru the sidewall.....

he heart pain....only 3 months old tyres....change for 200 a piece...he's on 17inch AD07 if i am not wrong..

Suggested that.. but cause going for 10K servicing soon, and this rotation will be included then.. if do now, must pay that extra... hubby advised that even if change, no point rotate now and pay that extra. Cause when servicing comes, I also need to pay for it... unimpressed.gif

When u go 4 servicing, can have the option of not rotating & save the $$ rite?

Anw, if u r nt a racer or chiongster but a law abiding driver, juz change off the damaged tire will do.

Alternatively, if u wan 2 change both with budget, can go to pxx xxxg & get those almost new OEM tires. These tires r v.new cos some pple after collecting their cars, drive straight to tyre shop to change sports rims.

smile.gif Btw, any idea if it's ok for me to drive with 3 Yokohama tyres and 1 Bridgestone?

Yokohama C Drive 185/65R14

Bridgestone B38 175/70R14

And now that I intend to buy a spare, do you think I shd get a Yokohama or bridgestone?

Picantorian, sorry to use your thread. I dun have enuf postings to start a new one.

is ok.. no worries.. drivingcar.gif

but if i am not wrong, it is not advisable, cause the threads are different and not balanced.. but some say does not matter, as long as rims is same size.. me also a bit confused...

maybe let other bros and sis enlighten us ba..

Suggested that.. but cause going for 10K servicing soon, and this rotation will be included then.. if do now, must pay that extra... hubby advised that even if change, no point rotate now and pay that extra. Cause when servicing comes, I also need to pay for it... unimpressed.gif

When u go 4 servicing, can have the option of not rotating & save the $$ rite?

Anw, if u r nt a racer or chiongster but a law abiding driver, juz change off the damaged tire will do.

Alternatively, if u wan 2 change both with budget, can go to pxx xxxg & get those almost new OEM tires. These tires r v.new cos some pple after collecting their cars, drive straight to tyre shop to change sports rims.

nope.. is all included like a package, so hubby feels that no point do now..

pxx xxxg do not have the tires we want, so no point.. gossip.gif

Dear all,

Have got a 4" nail stuck in the back tyre of the driver's side. Went to Stamford tyres hoping to get it mend, however, the nail is stuck at the wall. The guy advised that it could not be mended and we need to change our tyres... They removed the nail and sort of like put a stopper. Pump the pressure of the tyres up, in hope that it could last till tomorrow to go back C&C to change new tyres...

Thread life still left 90%.. heart pain....

Is there really no way to mend it? understand that it is safer to change a pair instead of just changing the affected tyres. Is it true?

Appreciate precious advise from bros and sis..

Thank you.

wah sis ah....

ur tyre kena nailed ah....

so how is it now???looks like a 2 days old thread...

well,since ur tyre is so new,i think can just change 1 will do...

no need to change 1 pair...no diff one... [:)]