Jemjem 1st Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 Hi I am reaching my 10k servicing soon. Would like to check with all the experts if there is a need for me to do engine flush? Cos i am changing the engine oil from mineral to full syn cxxxxxe 5w40. jemjem ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 (edited) no flush needed, just change Edited May 4, 2006 by Cyberet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 ya boy...no need flushing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 it is too early for a flush!! try it at around 100ks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 (edited) Your engine is still very new so i don't recommend you to do engine flush Jus drain the old oil off and pour your cxxxxxe in Edited May 4, 2006 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemjem 1st Gear May 4, 2006 Author Share May 4, 2006 Ok. Thanks a lot. :) Will do jus that. jemjem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 What car are you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemjem 1st Gear May 5, 2006 Author Share May 5, 2006 Me driving Kia Cerato. jemjem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cordia_gsr Neutral Newbie May 7, 2006 Share May 7, 2006 It's not necessary. But if you want, you might want to use Semi-Syn for the next 10,000km before going into Full-Syn. Some says it's good to do a transition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemjem 1st Gear May 8, 2006 Author Share May 8, 2006 Ic. But since I already got the full syn cxxxxxe (2 bottles), guess i will jus change to full syn. Was worried that there will be left over of the mineral oil in the engine, which will mix with the full syn cxxxxxe causing adverse effect. But since all the oil experts here recommend no flush necessary, :) I will jus change the engine oil without any flush. Thanks! jemjem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scratchy Neutral Newbie May 8, 2006 Share May 8, 2006 Any idea how much an engine flush costs?stamford tyre should have right?me hitting 90k liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_meow Neutral Newbie May 8, 2006 Share May 8, 2006 hi Can I know whats the reason to flush engine cos mine coming to 180k & I just change oil & filter every 10k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scratchy Neutral Newbie May 8, 2006 Share May 8, 2006 Hmm i think i read somewhere before it helps to flush away deposits in the engine...dun quote me on this...keke..i am an idiot and engines and stuff.... so if not necessary can save some money too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 No need to flush.It's ok, the small volume of mineral oil will not in anyway influnce the performance of the syn oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 yah... seriously... what's the advantages of doing engine flush? and how long do 1 time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 Engine flush is it drain off the oil and replace it new oil..??? Enlighten me please. Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 dun think so. i saw mech pour a bottle of OWS...dun know what engine flush into the engine before draining, then start engine and let it run for quite a while then after that drain everything out. but i was thinking pour that engine flush into already dirty oil.... got use meh... how it flush? mmmm... dun know leh... if good, then those oil company would have include the chemical in the engine oil liao lor.... i very confuse.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 Becareful , so of these flushing chemical/oil can be very effective and may remove too much causing serious damage to crankshaft, end seals, main and con-rod bearings.Machine assist flushing is sometime you have to think twice before parting with your hard earn money. The end result can burnt a big hole in yr pocket. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...