Satinepink Neutral Newbie May 25, 2006 Share May 25, 2006 Here's the deal. I need to change the following items. Am considering wheather to do them in stages or settle it once and for all. I believe once and for all will be heavy on the pocket... Shocks 1 set of 4 Springs 1 set of 4 Rear disc 2 nos Bearings 1 set of 4 Tires 1 set of 4 Should i change shocks and springs first and then change discs, bearing and tires? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 25, 2006 Share May 25, 2006 ALL of the bits you need to change affect the active safety of the car. i suggest you get them all changed at the same time, esp since (excluding tyres) they all involve removing parts in the same area you might as well do it all at one go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie May 25, 2006 Share May 25, 2006 u can change tires first.. tat oen no problem.. dan u can change shock and springs together.. tat will cost u a bomb already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie May 25, 2006 Share May 25, 2006 for the above mention, only the tyres are the easiest to remove and changed..... if you plan to do it yourself.. 1)Shocks and Spring 2)Bearings and disc 3)tyres be very sure you know how to bleed your brake lines, may as well change braided lines :) juz a tot!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rodmansakura Neutral Newbie May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 can state your budget or e price tats was quoted to u??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 Bro, 1st of all, wad car u driving? and of cos it will be heavy on the pocket if u do all at once..So gif us a budget so we can work on what is most suitable and adequate for ur car wif that budget... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rodmansakura Neutral Newbie May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 sure be a starlet ep80 liao la... tis is starlet lover forum mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 oops paiseh...nv notice oso...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satinepink Neutral Newbie May 29, 2006 Author Share May 29, 2006 Well, after much thought, have decided to change shocks(koni), springs(...) and tyres(potenza G3) first. Stage 2 will involve brakes, discs and bearings cos not too long ago my brake lining and pads were changed. might as well use them till their worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 Sounds alright, though i would suggest BF Goodrich Gforce sport over the G3's as even though they are thai made, they're cheaper yet a lil better in the dry and much better in the wet. Just make sure you get the bearings done as soon as possible as its a mechanical part and once there are problems, they end up wearing at a much faster rate than before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steam Neutral Newbie May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 hmmmm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satinepink Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 am stuck again... koni only has rear shocks. Any recomendations for good, reliable shocks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 huh??? my sera uses the front shocks of the EP80 (ep70 for the rear) and they're koni's... must be discontinued i guess. look ard the starlet section, quite a few possibilities. i'm sure tein still makes shocks for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satinepink Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 Yup, discontinued...spoke to the dealer...only left with rear shocks... am on a budget, trying to keep within 1K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rodmansakura Neutral Newbie June 1, 2006 Share June 1, 2006 hi, whihc dealer u approach? i wan to go see see and chk out the price for shock.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 1, 2006 Share June 1, 2006 not as good as monroe in performance but still much better than stock would be the monroe sensatrac. i'm sure those have ep80's. Another is gabriel. not as good as koni, and just a bit better than the monroes. btw the monroes and gabriel's should be cheaper than the konis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steam Neutral Newbie June 1, 2006 Share June 1, 2006 great info. thanks a lot, bro. nice to have you here! cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 1, 2006 Share June 1, 2006 no choice lah my car has shares parts woth both the ep70 and ep80 starlets plus engine parts with the paseo... talk abt a mongrel car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...