Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 Hi Bros, 1. Wanted to find out where to convert to the batman doors, those that flip upward rather than outward. 2. Any pros and cons in parking? Welcome feedback. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 u got poison by the "The Best Looking & Chio Toyota VIOS" thread arh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 haha... you have an idea after seeing my post on the vios thing... with the batman doors... brother, the modification itself... is really in terms of money spent.... think will cost u like Ks of money... like a few grand... too ex le.. not worth it.. and parking hor... u park, vertical parking... u think we can open the door... later door wing up... kenna stuck coz cars next to it are blocking... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 haha.... but i think its nice.. but simply not practical in singapore.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedblade Neutral Newbie May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 why not? Then no more dings to others car! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 This batman door was on displayed in last year auto show at Marina Bay. It is not as expensive, they don't change your door, they just change the hinges. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 yupz...that is wat i wanted to say too....no more dings on my doors from inconsiderate ppl... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 i believe they can do it in such a way that u can either open upwards or outwards rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 that's cool! but then...say u got in a shopping centre... only got one lot... in between two cars... the door swing up... u think in most cases, there would be enough room to swing up? later swing up.. got bang people's door how? worse still.. our own door also get damaged in the process.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 why not? Then no more dings to others car! 1. Ya lor. And I thought it is easily for it to park at tight space as the door flip up vertically not side way? 2. Perhaps the ceiling height of the car park my be a concern. Also wondering if this mod is LTA friendly or not? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 i believe they can do it in such a way that u can either open upwards or outwards rite? You're rite. The trick is on the hinges. You can flip vertically from 0 to 90 degree. i've seen those in States that could even flip foward at perhaps 100 degree or so. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 i read from other forums.. its legal... coz people selling their cars with these things installed... but forgot where the thread is liaoz loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 that's cool! but then...say u got in a shopping centre... only got one lot... in between two cars... the door swing up... u think in most cases, there would be enough room to swing up? later swing up.. got bang people's door how? worse still.. our own door also get damaged in the process.. I see, what you're trying to tell us is that you still need some space to open outward and then flip upward. The good hinges can go either sideway like normal car doors or flip upward so may not be an issue. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 understood! so anyone got lobang for this kind of modifcations.. with the pricing.. can share share... thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 i think u can do a search in this forum....remember that was a thread on this by someone who does such modification.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 understood! so anyone got lobang for this kind of modifcations.. with the pricing.. can share share... thanks. Ya lor, now suddenly sum si si. Have to postpone other mods for this liao, really poisoned.. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 i think u can do a search in this forum....remember that was a thread on this by someone who does such modification.... What is the offical name for this type of door? Can't simply search under doors right, sure kena many hits one. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 i think me too... imagine u drive ur car to ur gf... then u tell her.. wait... i open the door for u.. she will be whatever mods u do... its nothing compared to this.. say u open the door... people will at ur car... u stop by the road side to get something... and the people will be ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...