Example of Poor QC on Toyota Vios

Vit4wd

I'm just talking MT cars here. For AT Vios, yes standard FC is 13-15 km/l. i-DSi City fares better in this aspect, partly also due to the i-DSi engine being more efficient (it's more advanced than the VVT-i engine) and also partly due to the Vios' gearing. I think a fairer comparison should be VTEC City with the Vios since both engines are from the same era, and there really isn't much difference in their FC. One can also argue that for the MT i-DSi City, you'd expect much better FC than the older tech MT VVT-i Vios, but in reality the small difference in their FC can easily be negated by the heaviness of the driver's right foot.

Yes, CT also using CVT like jazz. some pple called it 7 speed CVT/steermatic. all i know is they got normal 'D' mode, 'S' mode and 7 speed manual override via the steering wheel for more control.

I think that the Vios is positioned as a budget car, and is priced as such. Thus, one would not expect the highest quality of finishings that come with a significantly more expensive car that is not made in SEA.

any idea Vios is not sold in Jap, Europe or elsewhere but only SEA?

cos it is not gd enuf for the Toyota brand in the country and will ruin their reputation in these country.

SEA market are more 'tolerable' due to the lower expectation of quality and safety.

But Singapore's expectation is higher, that's why we dont find those Indonesian/MY/Thai made , truck based platform MPV in Singapore.

My neighbour Vios

Side skirt had been hanging for weeks

And he told me many got this problem also

Only way to solve it is revert it

06-04-06_1529.jpg

I think most Thai made car are for SEA market, not just Vios.

And as you said, the expectation/tolerance level here is lower, so quality can skim a bit and still get away with it.

Pay peanut, how can expect kingkong [sly], thai made like that is acceptable lah [thumbsdown], toyota doesn't care singapore so small market, they are world No.1 [;)]

That's an old problem that was resolved a long time ago. The original sideskirt stoppers were poorly designed and would all fall off after some driving because there wasn't anything to fasten them to the chassis. I think as early as mid-May last year, BM replaced all their stocks of the old stoppers with new ones that hooked onto the chassis properly and wouldn't fall off. I changed all of mine to the new ones FOC and never had a problem with my sideskirt ever.

That's why need passenger airbag which most other budget dont have ma.

What nonsense? Then wat abt some other continental car like Volvo ect? Some even have 4 airbags... Refrain from getting flame here. Think before u tok...

Caught this at Borneo Motors showroom over the weekend.

Notice how the rubber at the bottom of the vertical line has warped.

This is a BRAND NEW unused Vios!!!

Ai yo... like that also complain... [hur] Use your Thump and press it in can liao lor... [laugh]

My neighbour Vios

Side skirt had been hanging for weeks

And he told me many got this problem also

Only way to solve it is revert it

06-04-06_1529.jpg

hmmm...that is bad...

I think most Thai made car are for SEA market, not just Vios.

And as you said, the expectation/tolerance level here is lower, so quality can skim a bit and still get away with it.

Yea,there are a number of those trucks, SUV/MPV/minivan hybrid from Thailand are for SEA

market excluding Singapore due to the higher expectation of quality.

But there are a number of global cars like Accord, Altis, City, Wish(I think), Fortuner, old opel Zafira etc... there are some discernable quality issues discussed...

The altis is sold in the USA [sweatdrop] wonder if those have quality issues anot. i seriously think MOST people who drive those thai made toyota's don't even know about the quality issues, with the perceived thought of their "reliable" cars.

yalar 'Herd mentality' loh...

but while quality is questionable, with less sophistication, they are prob still generally more reliable then many Americanyas and Europas...