Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 HELP ME!!~!~! Bros and Sis out there.. i feel unsafe driving now.. the steering wheel don't know how to turn back after i make a turn.. so scary when i was doing U-turn just now, nearly kiss lamp-post.. the steering wheel cannot ownself turn back.. what could be the problem?? tyres just changed today by dad only.. oh ya, when turning the steering wheel, it is super heavy and there is a squeaky sound that is quite loud.. how how?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 bring to a mech and check the entire steering assembly bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Author Share June 2, 2006 today go change tyre, according to dad.. the person don't know how to check for such things, so he only change tyre.. must wait another day to go mech liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bego Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 solve from the cheapest first. go check your tires pressure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Author Share June 2, 2006 (edited) tyre pressure for front is 275Kpa, rear is 200Kpa.. all is alright.. but hor, this problem has worsened.. actually still can self-center slowly de.. but now like serious case already.. if i don't turn the steering wheel, everything will be like normal.. but if i turn the steering wheel, i sian half.. Edited June 2, 2006 by Nhrisuzu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roddy0 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Did you change to a larger tyre? Did you also change your rims? Squeaking sound and heavy steering could be caused by your wheels sticking in the wheel arch if the tyres are too big or the rim offsets are wrong. If your car has been lowered before, there is also a chance this can happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Author Share June 2, 2006 sorry.. mine is lorry.. fully stock.. but the tyre guy has been changing tyres for us very long already.. don't think he will make a mistake ba.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bego Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 (edited) hi, most probable fault: incorrect caster setting but quite unlikely other potential faults: steering rack or power steering pump defect. your is hydralic or electric steering? . . . . but i will still advise you to look for your mech, they are more pro and have equipment to check, pinpoint and solve your problem. A good mech will save you time and money. Edited June 2, 2006 by Bego Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Author Share June 2, 2006 hydraulic.. becos when it was new, the steering was not as light as a electric de.. electric one can turn with last finger sia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roddy0 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Ok, I don't know too much about lorry. Perhaps others here can help you with that, or you could take it back to your tyre guy and complain. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Birdy_bombs Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 (edited) HELP ME!!~!~! Bros and Sis out there.. i feel unsafe driving now.. the steering wheel don't know how to turn back after i make a turn.. so scary when i was doing U-turn just now, nearly kiss lamp-post.. the steering wheel cannot ownself turn back.. what could be the problem?? tyres just changed today by dad only.. oh ya, when turning the steering wheel, it is super heavy and there is a squeaky sound that is quite loud.. how how?? no worries, bro, it s/b the steering coupler problem. it is a two U shaped thingy that connects the steering columm shaft and the shaft to the wheels shaft. bearings worn,n no more grease so the two U joints dun move easily anymore. squeaky noise - maybe dried joint? my 93 rolla then, changed absorbers by a petrol kiosk chain of workshop, reached home multi-storey cp, up ram, accelerate, full right turn, let go steering so it self centre, oooohh shiiittt, the car dun centre, lucky react fast use right hand forced turn it to centre, woooo, shocking ah, i noe how u feel. next day went to workshop kiosk to complain cos it happened after changing abosrbers, alamak they all blur sotongs, check tis n tat, adjust angles, chambers, go round to kiosk premises after each adjust, 1 hr later, tell me ok n say my rims wheels problem! damn them! on the road problem still not solved. go to my half-a-yr-see-once mechanic, he popped the bonnet, unscrewed the cover of the U joint, took it out and tell me "tis finished, see, turn so hard, change can" - less than 5 min - s/b less than $50, can't remember prices. chain workshops i dun like, only good in changing oils. if it is the same thing, hope it helps, else troble shoot, headache !! ps - sorli ah , no tissue for u to wipe tears cheers Edited June 2, 2006 by Birdy_bombs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 chances are the return hydraulic strut, if your system uses one. Otherwise, leak in the power steering system. DO get it check ASAP for your own safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 3, 2006 Author Share June 3, 2006 power steering pump?? there got fluid de ar?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 If steering is heavier than normal power steering system may have problem. If cannot return the return assist strut may be leaky. If you have some abnormal sound whenever you are turn the steering, possibly the pump or steering fluid is in sufficient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 3, 2006 Author Share June 3, 2006 the steering fluid can buy from Petrol station one or not?? look like how one?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 Normaly call "Power Steering Fluid", you can top up the "reservoir" in the engine bay. If the fluid is indeed low, it is safer to get your mechanic to check. Safety is more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 4, 2006 Author Share June 4, 2006 think something is wrong with the steering mechanism.. today try U-turn.. the full-lock is only 1.5 now.. originally should be 2.5.. now i need 3 lanes to U-turn!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frozebite Neutral Newbie June 4, 2006 Share June 4, 2006 I think that there is not sufficient air on the tyres Tyre lao hong already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...