COE Cars

Verve

With coe cars at a all time low been thinking of getting a coe car now as i have been rideless for quite a while.

Reasons

1) Low loan - no unpredictable depreciation

2) If car gives too many problems just scrap and take back the residual coe

A coe nissan sunny goes for about 13k, coe proton saga 11k, and etc, toyotas are on the high side with a corolla going for 16-17k and being a coe car no guarantee that a corolla is gonna be any more reliable than say a sunny.

Any coe car owners care to comment, don't know if the overall cost eg maintainance is gonna eat away all the savings, pros of course is low loan and can go malaysia to fix the ride.

Am looking at a budget of about $900 to 1K all in all to own the car, and of course forgot to mention my employer can subsidise about $500 to $700 if i drive cos i need to travel in my line of work anyway.

well bro, wad i can say is when buying from dealer, must really check the car thru out and slash the price if possible...

i just got a 91 lancer for 13k. heard now itz selling like between 11 to 12k... mainly for COE cars is to check the engine...and do some research for the FC...my car now is only giving me 10 to 12 km per L. starting the fc will be dam bad as u wun knoe the car has been park at the carmart for how long already...

my friend wanted to let go his 92 civic, interested? he is driving taxi now so the extra car seem un-necessary.

yup..actually dun plan to get the lancer one...was drilling my dad to get the corolla as parts are easier to find and easier to mod [sly] hee...somemore itz fuel injection while my is carb [sweatdrop]

coe ends 08/2011 or thereabouts, which is why quite value for money. only thing if every month replace this and that few hundreds then better off without car liao

yup...the AE101 model...or itz all the G7 model...

no la..if my lancer is 1.6 and dohc i happy liaoz lor...

my is just a normal 1.3 SOHC engine..

lol...ya lor...when i was walking with my dad at the carmart, saw one AE101 with slight mod on the engine...den we test drove, woo itz only 1.3 and itz dam powerful with aircon on...

in the end didn't get coz the price given was too steep

true, was initially considering a corolla, but its at abt 16-17k abt 10k above scrap, if it gives problem then i lose big time when i scrap liao as i doubt the dealers will not take it in above scrap. moreover i heard of people with coe corollas complaining about fixing this and that so afterall no guarantee that a corolla is gonna be any more reliable than say a coe sunny

thanks for the offer bro, no offence but i think i will keep away from civics for obvious reasons

well bro, not only corolla la...buying COE car depends on luck...if u heng, u got one car with no problem...if u suay, den the car u got sure got alot of problem...anyway there's no such thing as problem free COE cars...old cars sure bound to haf hiccups here and there...

just like my lancer, i've already change a couple of parts since i got the car...and i've only got the car for 4 mths only..

your budget of 1K, can be enough to get a Brand New Mitsubishi Lancer at the moment. [sly]

COE car is too much a gamble... dun forget the 150% road tax!