Jeskon5 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 over the past few weeks i noticed that there are water marks on my car. (esp the parts facing the sky.)i tot it was because i didnt wipe the my car after the rain for a few days. after washing my car, the marks are still there. so itried to wax it off but no difference. seems like the marks staying on permanently. i was told that i need to send my car for polishing to remove the marks. i dunno whether it will work. is there anything else i can do. but i'm juz as curious as how the water marks got there in the first place. any ideas? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 Pls send to those reputed grooming centre cos they'll remove it for u. However, pls be prepared to pay a little more......just my 2 cents worth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 sometimes it mite not be water marks. cud be stains dat have gotten eaten up into ur car pain work le.... coz if water mark should be able to remove de... like the use of waxing products or polishing kit.... play safe send in to profesionals and enquire about it first... juz my suggestions... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 I have a bottle of polishing product called "Tuffi Luxe" which was given to me when I bot my previous car. It can get rid of stains, tree sap, water marks quite easily n leaves a shine behind. I dont see it sold in shops nowadays though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marh Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 me having the same problems... spots were removed when i sent it back to groomers but wats the point in having to always send to groomers to remove it.. very $$$ can't seem to remove it myself... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 look for Gen2.. the paint imperfections removal specialist! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeskon5 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Author Share June 28, 2006 worse, my car is less than 2 mths old. i went to a car wash n the uncle said maybe due the wax i used. but i dont have this problem with my previous car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 u got bluff off completely or not? or ur car's clear coat is lousy one ah what make is your car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gibto Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 bro.. try scratch x.. i use it to remove water mark and light scratchs.. else just use a polish and scrub like mad! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 for me, my ride is going to be 6 months old soon.. i used OCW to protect it.. going to use AIO to clean my ride soon, then use HSG to seal it... then forthnightly OCW again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 scratch-x is TOO abrasive... in the process u will remove clear coat.. worse still, some brothers here attempted to DIY... in the end caused more damage.. the paint became very blur and patchy... look for some pros to help you.... give u a helping hand.. maybe can come down to MCF weekly meetup, i am sure there are some brothers out there who can give u a tip or two... NOTE: Do not attempt to DIY if you dun know what you are doing... esp using scratch-x... its quite abrasive leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gibto Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 I think most cars will have this problem one.. u try looking under direct sunlight or bright light you will see either swirl marks or water marks.. its very very common and this imperfection will happen.. but if you regularly wax or put sealent then its easier to buff off.. 2 month old car.. cannot be the car clear coat la.. dont scare him leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 ya i know... but i was like see a mark? i pui my saliva, then use finger to slightly rub.. it's off.. but of coz lah.. been using OCW regularly.... but i tot if water mark on clear coat, quite easily removed one leh.. if etched into paint work, that's sxxt alreadie i live in a place where my ride is parked in open sun daily... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gibto Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 aiya dont worry la.. i use it all the time.. it says right there on the tube.. clear coat safe.. ha.. anyway i know its abrasive.. cus you can see the slight paint color coming off.. but having said that.. a lot of products also take off bits of color.. like the optimium polish . without taking off or smudging the paint i doubt any product can cover scratches in the first place? i dunno i could be wrong but rather than have a ugly scratch i would like to take off the scratch with a little harsh buff.. ha.. but of course its my own opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 okie... then consult you.. AIO is a very mild polish right? more like a paint cleaner... hehehe which is clear coat safe... according to what was mentioned.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gibto Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 i bet AIO will take off bits of paint as well.. but i dunno la its too cheem for me.. all i know is i use it before .. it works and i will use it again.. it looks still good though.. its not that scary.. i am no pro but just like to have a nice shinny ride like everyone else.. i do polish, wax and sealant and i also use the same product as u.. so to each its own.. next week i m getting a portable buffing machine so my hands wouldnt drop off from buffing.. prob more paint off then! ha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valor79 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 over the past few weeks i noticed that there are water marks on my car. (esp the parts facing the sky.)i tot it was because i didnt wipe the my car after the rain for a few days. after washing my car, the marks are still there. so itried to wax it off but no difference. seems like the marks staying on permanently. i was told that i need to send my car for polishing to remove the marks. i dunno whether it will work. is there anything else i can do. but i'm juz as curious as how the water marks got there in the first place. any ideas? Black car? Anyway these water marks have "eaten" more or less into your paint work already & that's why it's very difficult to wax or polish it off Same thing happened to my black ride and I heard the rain in the west side is more corrosive too. Best thing to do now is to send it to a good grooming centre and have them take care of it for u. Don't bother go back to dealer to complain even tho it's a new car, they will only say "nature's act not covered under warrenty". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 28, 2006 Share June 28, 2006 ok... i was thinking some brothers love to polish their rides so much.. 3-4 times a year.. come till one point in time... the paint polish until botak how? for me, i will polish say 1-2times a year bah... now still looking great.. contemplating whether to polish or not... coz right now.. i haven't polish yet.... only use OCW.... wowo.. its good... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...