Rontheman Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 Always remove the stain first before applying wax, unless your wax is a cleaner wax. For the watermark, you can try either AIO or Prime to see if that will remove the stains. If not, then you probably need to try something more aggresive such as Prime Strong, Color-X or Soff99 polish. Unless the water marks are etched deeply into the clear coat, the above should alleviate the problem somewhat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 Hi Bro, Try using Vinegar, 50-50 mix with water. Spray some on the water spot and let it sit for half a minute then gently buff and wipe off. Or dip a portion of a MF towel into the mixture and gently rub on the surface then buff off. See if it works. If it's not etched in too badly, it should come off or at leastreduce it. Clear Coat save. Not to worry. One thing though the mixture will also clean off your wax too. so be prepared to put on a layer of wax after that... Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tzeench Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 I would prefer Scratch X over vinegar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 i prefer AIO > Scratch X Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rontheman Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 Bro, good suggestion, vinegar might also do the trick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeskon5 Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Author Share June 29, 2006 thanks for the suggestions. now i dunno wic one to do. maybe i'll try the cheapest solution first. vinegar n water. n i tot swirl marks is already bad enuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 Hi Gibto, Do you use the polishes on the same car? It that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gibto Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 hi ah bon, hmm... single stage paint.. does that mean its like one layer only? no additional protection from manufacturer? thats prob the case la.. so if i keep polish and polish it will become botak eventually? prob have to respray after that then! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie June 29, 2006 Share June 29, 2006 Hi Bro, Single Stage paint is where the paint and clear coat is mixed together then spray onto the car body. That's why when you polish the get paint stains... 2k paint (two stage paint) is where the paint is sprayed on 1st then the clear coat on top. i dun thick there's a difference between the thickness of the paint work, but single stage tends to be abit softer compared to 2k paint. Having said that, some of the car models with 2k paint also rather soft. these cars tend to kanna defects more easily. those that i know of, Altis and swift for eg. btw, respray doesn't mean you'll not get defects... sometimes, that's where the defects (SWIRLS!!!!) comes from!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie June 30, 2006 Share June 30, 2006 My new car also kena alot of water marks when it was 2 month old. Me lazy and don't know how to DIY to remove them. So sent it in for the professionals to do it. But after they groom my car, I still have to maintain by washing it at least once a week. Now I always wipe dry my car after every rain. If not the water marks will come back again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear June 30, 2006 Share June 30, 2006 Hi folks, do you all wash your car after kena rain? or at least rinse it so can wipe of water with lesser worry on dust / dirt scratching... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 (edited) Me also got watermarks... use 3M or Meguiar ScratchX better ? sigh... cant seem to remove ? Can use claybar to remove ? Edited July 3, 2006 by Droozy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 I went for car grooming in late March. They gave me a bottle of car washing solution. But I forgotten to use it. After I lazy to wipe dry my car after a heavy rain recently, water marks started to reappear on my black car. Lucky that bottle of solution save my car from the ugly water marks. Now I use it once a week during my car washing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 bro .. wat is that bottle of solution called ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rontheman Neutral Newbie July 4, 2006 Share July 4, 2006 If you use Scratch-X and cannot remove, then claybar will not help. Try going thru the below links and see if they help. http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthrea...p?threadid=4891 http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthrea...p?threadid=1516 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiatmobile 1st Gear July 4, 2006 Share July 4, 2006 I have a bottle of polishing product called "Tuffi Luxe" which was given to me when I bot my previous car. It can get rid of stains, tree sap, water marks quite easily n leaves a shine behind. I dont see it sold in shops nowadays though Surprisingly, i used it last Saturday after washing and that i find that its better than those brands on the shelf... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 4, 2006 Share July 4, 2006 (edited) gud on you. its like that lah, slowly but surely u learnt which brand is better for which product. For example, those tyre wash on the car accesory section in supermarts is fine but expensive...typically about $15 range. I used to buy all these overpriced products until I saw professional people using cheaper alternatives[same results] which I now buy off the kitchen sanitary section in NTUC Edited July 4, 2006 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie July 4, 2006 Share July 4, 2006 I have already read that long time ago... maybe I still use the wrong method... but is scratch X gd for watermarks as well as swirl marks ... maybe I will try claybar again then use that again.. wat do u all think ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...