Compliment Starsauto

Sotong_kia

I think with so much "bad publicity" about dealership etc.. at least, I wanna offer my opinion on my own servicing during my latest 40K.

Can be seen in my blog

At least, they managed to SOLVE my problem, though it was after a few complaints.. they changed this, changed that.. but never fully solved it before.

What was changed, in all, suspension bushing , link rods, and now even the entire suspension mountings. So almost all new liao.. hahaha. and under warranty, so dun even need to pay for parts.

Probably if I had gone to outside workshop, they MIGHT have solved it first round, but I will have to pay for the parts...

So I guess, they are not THAT bad..

Yah... I also think that it is so troublesome, plus you also suffer from the loss of your car for the period under repair.

glad your problem was solved.

But imho, there's nothing to compliment about. It's suppose to be their basic responsibility to do so.

Edited by Osiris

sometimes the competency of the agent's technical expertise is questionable. happens anywhere, not only starsauto. remember the beemer's case where the lady successfully sued PM and got compensated?

Haha.. thanks for all your concerns and feedback that they suck.

Well, still, I think this is something that I do NOT take for granted.

They have many customers and many cars to service, and everybody wants to get it back ASAP. They have costs, and personnel management issues, and of course customers to manage.

Though I am not in service line, I think I can understand how they feel.

They cannot be 100% to everyone's expectations, and still survive as a company with profits. They are not the garment, so don't expect them to be profit-free.

Even though it is their job, if they did a good job in solving a long-standing issue, I will still compliment them.

(No, this is NOT the effect of the stooppid garment's GEMS effort. I have always been like this.)

Yes, perhaps they took a long time, from our perspective. But then, every 5 minutes is a long time for us, when we see our baby QUEUE inside. Probably got expert that MIGHT be able to solve the problem within a day, but charges are definitely not going to be FREE. For all you know, I might be chopped as vegetable-head for many before I get it right.

We want our cars serviced, NOW ! NOW ! NOW ! And I want to finish my 40K Servicing in 20 minutes, and I want my suspension solved within 2 hours ! I can expect that and end up complaining like hell to SA.

What kind of effort they put in to find out the cause and problem, I will never know, cos I never go in and see.

For all I know, my problem might be those that visual inspection cannot see anything. Have to replace parts by trial and error, and use EXPERIENCE to narrow down where the cause is.

Left it there for 1 day, it is fine. Taking MRT and LRT for one evening makes me appreciate things in my life better, makes me appreciate my ability to afford a use of a car (see my other article in my blog).

Take a minute and appreciate things around you, instead of finding fault in everyone and the whole world except yourself. Otherwise, you slog so hard, buy the most expensive car in the most expensive country, for what ? So that you can be more unsatisfied ?

(for those who didn't get the link to my blog : http://calamariforthought.blogspot.com/200...-servicing.html)

Well said bro. In my opinion, 1 day in the workshop is OK. What is most impt is that they solved your problem.

in service sector, it's call managing expectation.

for e.g. your car can't start, you take it to the mech to solve the problem

Case 1.

Mech: We will take a look, not sure how long it takes

You: 1 day? 2 day?

Mech: Not sure what is wrong, we call you when we know

Case 2:

Mech: We will do a full diagnostic, that takes 5 hours, we will let you know what's wrong then and how long to get it fix by this time.

We want our cars serviced, NOW ! NOW ! NOW !

Well, we aren't unreasonable. Just set our expectation right. don't promise 1 hr when they know it's 3 hrs.

Service is not that bad, from my previous service. I also see improvement each time. I think SA also need encourage, not complain, to make there job better, and happier for both of us.

If you like to have a better service in the future, be constructive, not destructive.

Yes, true, managing expectations.

But sometimes, without evaluation or "testing" , very difficult. Can't give a reply like "3 Days SURE can complete everything". Even then, if one of the parts suddenly no stock, also have to wait more than 3 days.

Like in the case of my suspension, I told them this is my 3rd time complaining, since the last 2 servicing. Everytime after the last 2 servicing, the sound is "lesser" but not totally solved.

So they did get the guy to drive around with me, and only after they tried replacing a few parts, that the problem is not totally solved, that they called me at 4+ to tell me that it can't be solve and needs another day, but told me that it WILL be solved the next day.

So the question is just asking me whether I want the car for the night or not. Which I decided not. I dun wanna spend 2 more taxi trip down to collect and send in again. Might as well just take public transport home, since I got nothing on that nite.

So I guess not that bad lah. Afterall, they never give me the "its like that" excuse, and they did everything, even check that 2 servicing ago, I request not to change spark plug.

This round, I never specify NOT to change, so they called to tell me that 40K got change plugs, whether I wanna keep mine or not. Then I told them don't change.

Overall, I think they are improving quite well..

[reply]

We want our cars serviced, NOW ! NOW ! NOW !

Well, we aren't unreasonable. Just set our expectation right. don't promise 1 hr when they know it's 3 hrs.

Not saying u lah.. but my joke is not just a joke. I actually hear sickening ppl do that...

sometimes the competency of the agent's technical expertise is questionable. happens anywhere, not only starsauto. remember the beemer's case where the lady successfully sued PM and got compensated?

I don't have any question about their technical expertise. I would think that they are more experienced that the new AM dealer, at least. To be fair, noise is usually a mother of a problem to solve. It is not a simple mechanical or electronic failure where it is very apparent to see and pin point. Noise is difficult ! Being in the similar service industry, I would give them reasonable amount of time to fix the problem especially when noise is concerned. Hey, at least they take the responsibility to try and fix it despite the number of times that they have tried.

Try this with a Parallel Importer.....you will get the middle finger up your Ar$e !

CBX [laugh]

glad your problem was solved.

But imho, there's nothing to compliment about. It's suppose to be their basic responsibility to do so.

People are all like that ! So freaking unhuman ! Even a dog, when it does it trick properly, it would deserve a pat on the head and a small treat ! Why isn't this kind of treatment given to your fellow human being ! It does not cost one anything just to say something kind.

Imagine....all the good and correct things people do but that is their basic responsibility and nothing is mentioned about it. They screw up once.....the customer would shaft their middle finger up their ar$e ! What a cruel world ! [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

Me, I would give my free words of compliments when things get done correctly [thumbsup] , my patience when it is done wrongly [smallcry] and my middle finger when they don't do it at all ! [laugh]

CBX

Edited by Cbx750p

You what is the main problem? Its the superflously high standards of Singaporean car owners/whiners.

I know we paid a lot of money for these depreciating hunk of metal. That doesn't mean we have to make thiem into bigger money pits than what they are already.

Lets see now......engine oil. Die die must use synthetic. Synthetic is best! I got a $100+/4L synthetic. My car is smoother. The engine noise is gone! rolleyes.gif I sweat it is the best that money can buy. My car deserves the best.

Petrol. Die die must use RON98 when the minimum spec'd is RON95. Worst still when the minimum spec'd is RON91 (Aveo), die die must use RON98. I swear the engine is smoother. I got more power. I can race with Ferrari. If there is synthetic petrol I will buy synthetic petrol because that is the best petrol money can buy for my car. unimpressed.gif

Wow! I need better FC and better power. I buy voltage stabilizer. I swear I got 0.1HP gained. I can feel it. My car deserves the best and the best money can buy.

There is noise from my suspension, better send to mechanic to take a look. It bothers me, I swear the car will fall apart on me. My car is the best and I give the best that money can buy. hur.gif

I heard Hurricane filter is the best. 70-80 microns filtration. Can let elephant in but nevermind. Its the best filter money can buy. I swear the car gained a lot of torque! I can challenge SBS bus already! Can pull 10 buffaloes.

This is where I get vulgar. Do all these for F A R K!

Let me put it simply. This is a car. A damn farking car! It is on lease even though you can pay fully for it and it is not yours because there is this stupid artificial lifespan of 10yrs on it.

Another thing is that it is actually a freaking simple machine and SG car owners think that it is some kind of USS Enterprise where the noise originated from modulation of power to the isolinear processors which thenflood the cargo bay with hydrozine gas before we reveal the sub-atomic resonance of the phenomena! tongue.gif

Got noise? Kick it! Got squeak? Find the mouse and kill it!

Its amazing with the amount of crap people are not willing to put up because they worship their cars.

As of now, there is noise from my undercarriage. I don't care, don't want to do anything about and if it gets solved all of a sudden, yippy kay yay! laugh.gif

Apart from all this. One thing I can fault the stealer's workshops is that they take a whole damn bloody day for a simple oil change. I'd rather they let the other quick lube places take this business instead and let us go to them for major problems. Noise from the undercarriage is not a major problem. Its just a lousy excuse to nag.

It's no wonder why people from Botswana want our cars.

Edited by Genie47

No. People are not inhuman. They are treating their cars better than humans.

I'm now whipping the bejeezus out of my car. Pushed it to 160kph, make it corner until the tires screech and suspension groan. The brakes might be turning to micro dust as we speak.

It now has more dents and dings. The only thing I do is detail it with AIO and sealant. I didn't even bother to send it for any dent removal.

The interior is a little scuffed from children's shoes but the c0ckroaches are still killed by my traps. sly.gif

Its like running shoes. I have blown through 6 pairs over 10yrs. They were abused. Got mud, grass, pebbles stuck under, torn from scuffs off pavements and even bits and pieces of emblems falling off.

A real running enthusiast will not respect clean looking athletic shoes. It shows they were not used, not gone to places, not taken part in competitions and most importantly not used for training.

Wat can I say...??? Well written, well written... Clap clap.. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Edited by Tazzy_72