Tashi Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 yo bro since it seems that you work for the ports, which is a secure area, pls dun get into trouble at work snapping pics too. None of us bros and sis would want u to get in trouble at work. but from what you observe, think we can take your words for it, that there isn't Climatronic. cool pics bro, great stuff. meet you one of these days! But wife is the driver, me just the bozo sitting next to her. bless tashi ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zymon Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Author Share July 20, 2006 Sure! no prob to meet up. Thx for undertsanding on the restriction of the pix. Infact, i have "erased" off some restricted items in the background before i posting the pix, resulting a white background. Just showing enough for all Skoda lovers, including myself though i own otherwise. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 I drive.. so no liquor as well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Erm, I prefer not to see cars when they are in such state... Dented, chip off, scratches before delivery, it's ok.. but when it's delivered to me, make sure everything is in showroom condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 I think the pictures tells a lot but then, we never really know what is going to be included before they hit the showroom and being announced. As written in one of my earlier post, some of the items might have been ship in separately, thus not included. But one thing for sure is that there's no audio control on the steering. not really a must have (if you ask me) but then, I think it's getting more and more to be the norm for cars liao.. Anyway, thanks for the photos. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zymon Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Author Share July 20, 2006 Yeh. Out of sight out of mind is the best. All i can say is, it depends on you luck when you get your new ride. Its a long process and journey once out from the manufacturing plant. Many things can happen and it do happen( from personal observation) just that the flaws had been refined to the min when we get the car......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 The Octavia II does not come with integrated fog lamps in the headlamps. If you have noted the pictures of the Octavia II taken by Zymon, there is a black cover directly below the headlamps instead of the fog lamp assembly. Most likely the front fog lamp option is excluded from this shipment of Octavia II. The 2nd picture shows the switch assembly which allows the activation of front and rear fog lamp. The switch of the Octavia should only have the symbol at the 8 o'clock position which indicates the presence of a rear fog lamp. Attachments: 1. Front fog lamp of Octavia II Source: http://www.skoda-auto.com/global/showroom/...octavia/gallery 2. Headlamp switch assembly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 ya, they have it in the OCTY II range but not on the Classic ones coming to Singapore. sigh......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 kum sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 (edited) Hi bro, The equipment level of the Skodas we get here is decided by CA. This information was convyed by a Skoda spokesperson during my visit to the Mlada Boleslav plant. In fact, at every stage in the production line, there is a equipment specification list which accompanies every Skoda from the time the doors are assembled on the body, to the fitting of the interior panels and engine, to the final stage when the cars are driven off the production line. Hence the definition of 'Classic' trim differs across the globe. In Europe, the most basic version of the Octavia I and II comes with manual windows, some with front powered windows only and non colour-coded wing mirrors. There are more fanciful names given to other trim levels for the Octavia e.g. Collection, Executive, Business which you do not find here. The 'Classic' trim Superb in Europe comes with manual air-conditioning unit, not the Climatronic units which we get here. Hence do not get too carried away with the names of the different trim levels. Most importantly, we have to decide if the asking price from the dealers is reasonable for the level of equipment offered. Edited July 20, 2006 by Koolaba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tashi Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 hi dear bro Think that is the crux, the "asking price", the point of much contention lately. Guess it is economics theory, a fine point trying to balance the trim level and options, and throwing up a price for greater market acceptance. Tough job, but the latest asking price is certainly out of whack. bless tashi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 (edited) thanks Koolaba. the classic trim for the $85,488 superb we have here comes with the Mk IV golf climatronic with the Blaupunkt unit (coincidentally also found in the Mk IV golf) sold here about 5 years ago. Not the dual zone units currently found in most current VW group vehicles. then again, in europe, the skodas are in realistic price range. There is so much value for the price you pay in europe compared with the competition from Opel/ Renault/ VW, etc. here in singapore, skoda's are priced (octy II) higher than a JDM Accord 2.0 with even less toys and performance than a I-vtec City. just my $0.02 Edited July 20, 2006 by Fluffy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 That means we'll probably not get the fog lamp option for the Octy II in S'pore, unless its shipped separately & installed later as with the HU ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 The blaupunkt unit is crap man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 ya, left over from the bulk purchase that was used in the mk IV golfs............perhaps....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Hi Fluffy, The current Superb is not specified with dual-zone climatronic air-conditioning, since it is heavily based on the B5.x Passat (which does not have this feature too). Expect to see this feature in the next model. In the following link, you will see that the latest face-lifted Superb is offered with Climatronic air-conditioning across all the trim levels too. http://www.skoda.de/index.php?e=1-3-8-8 The dual-zone climatronic air-conditioning is available as an option for mid-range VAG vehicles like Golf V, B6 Passat, Octavia II which are released from 2004. The Octavia II is specified with the dual-zone air-conditiong option. See: Automatische 2-Zonen Klimaanlage (Automatic 2 Zone Air-Conditioning) http://www.skoda.de/index.php?e=1-24-1-2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Ultimately it depends on whether CA will specify front fog lamps as a standard equipment in the Octavia II. Even for the current Octavia Tour, the front fog lamp option is not standard. The previous batch of Octavia Ambiente which came with the 1.6i insignia (approx. from SDL to SFQ registration series) were equipped with front fog lamps as standard. I believe the VAG stockists wlil carry the Octavia II front fog lamps and switch assemblies if the demand is large enough. Importing the original Skoda HU is quite unlikely as there are better after-market units the the Skoda ones. Alternatively, I can initiate a group purchase for such accessories from Europe, if the need arises. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 "but the latest asking price is certainly out of whack. " Absolutely true. I have joked with my SE before that the Octavia II and VRS will be collecting dust in the warehouse while the Octavia Tours constantly find new buyers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...