Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 hi all bros and sis, i've been renting cars quite frequently.. and this question has always crossed my mind.. need your advises and views on which is better.. i have 2 cars for comparison.. car A: $50/day, high FC.. (eg, Matrix) car B: $70/day, low FC.. (eg, Vios) on a 1 day basis, which will be cheaper? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barcode 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Take public transport cheapest, unless really necessary to drive... Save the money better, unless too much money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 usually share with friends.. den once rent we'll go out the whole day.. till next day return car.. more convenient and much faster.. as for price, if all of us take bus, mrt, cab (midnight extra charge), end up almost same price.. drive more fun for us.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ara84 2nd Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 hey bro i once rented a matrix about 2 years ago.even tho it was cheaper the fuel consumption was juz horrible.certainly not worth the cheaper rate.i rented a tucson for about $70 from a shop in roxy square.very spacious and fuel consumption was certainly much betta then the matrix altho 2.0.i say stick wif the vios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barcode 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 I see. Sometimes it's good to have such friends with same thinking as you and who will agree to share cost over something. Rent a car and then share cost, sounds cost-effective. If one person pay, then really not worth. Dun worry, I can see where you are coming from... afterall we all love cars and driving and hence we join this forum. I myself do not own a car but have learnt to realise that taking public transport isn't too bad either, given the high cost of car ownership. Last time I was like you, trying to get some friends to share rental of a car occasionally then we can hang out late. But I wasn't half as successful as you because such trips never happened because my close friends either dun wanna stay out late, think doing this is a waste of time or simply finding it expensive. So somehow I resigned to it and is now taking public transport everytime and not thinking of driving anymore unless necessary. So bro, if u think it's worth renting, go ahead and live the way u want without regrets. You are young once only, but of cos dun overdo it.. cos i see the word "frequently" in ur post and keeping in mind that it may become a financial concern if u overdo it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 star 2 focus? i rented from them before too.. i tried calculating.. and unless i'm travelling like 500km a day, the matrix will be cheaper.. but not by much though.. i believe vios can do 15km/l quite easily rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 ya.. if 1 person pay, really not worth.. i love driving.. thats why.. i just started payng adult fare from 1st jan, and the amount in my EZ link card drops much much faster than before... most of my friends are poisoned by me when i drove them around.. cos no one had license and all around 19.. so all was ok with it. true.. i have to change frequently to seldom le.. have to learn to accept public for the time being till i earn enough to afford one.. thanks for the advice bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 The difference is S$20. Would the FC be S$20 different at the end of the day??? I dont think so. Matrix can give u 8-9km/l, Vios give 14km/l so the difference for a day of driving is not much lah. Matrix bigger space than Vios. If I were to fetch frens, I'll choose a bigger ride. With the above considerations, I suggest take the matrix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barcode 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 500km a day?? Not very possible right? That's even more than what a taxi driver will do in a day. Anyway if i were u, i will choose the vehicle according to my schedule that day. If i foresee lots of travelling then i go for the low FC car. If i expect to drive to a place then stay there for long, for eg.. partying or chilling out for long hours in a pub, then perhaps the high FC car will be more economical. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 You are about correct with the 500km calculation. Very seldom you will get to drive 500km per day unless you are doing sales. Normal mileage per week is 500km. Cheaper choice is therefore Matrix. But I will get Vios for the additional fun in driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 hmmm.. usually is 5 of us lo.. rented the Matrix before, its very spacious.. and comfortable.. nv tried the vios before though.. thinking of renting the vios and see if its cheaper at the end of the day.. i'm very heavy footed, so i guess fc is a big concern.. and also so many guys in the car, add to the weight of the car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 hi all bros and sis,i've been renting cars quite frequently.. and this question has always crossed my mind.. need your advises and views on which is better.. i have 2 cars for comparison.. car A: $50/day, high FC.. (eg, Matrix) car B: $70/day, low FC.. (eg, Vios) on a 1 day basis, which will be cheaper? Take the Matrix. There is not much possibility the higher FC matrix is going to incur more than $20 petrol per day unless you drive for very long distances..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 er.. the last time i rented a lancer, i did almost 500km/l a day lei.. that time really jialat.. went to bukit panjang to pick some friends, drive all the way to east coast, den go town, yishun dam.. and must return car at near east coast.. so i guess its possible ba.. or maybe meter wrong? i tot of that too.. but i cant be sure of what i'll do ma.. me and my friends dun usually plan what we gonna do de.. thats the prob.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 (edited) wahhh.. i see 500km/l.. erh.. mod : when i used the crazy icon, it gives mi the rifle icon when i post the reply. Edited January 4, 2007 by Holysniper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luv_presea 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 ic.. btw, ask a noob question ar.. from boonlay to changi, roughly how many KM ar? the matrix is manual de.. wads the average FC for a matrix (M)? can hit 10? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barcode 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Then take the matrix. As other bros pointed out, very unlikely in a day the petrol difference between these 2 cars will exceed $20. Even if exceed, it will probably be a little over the $20 mark and you can think of it as paying for the spaciousness of the matrix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 I travelled from Tuas Naval Base to Changi Naval Base and it was 40+km. TNB is further than Boon Lay, CNB is further than Changi Airport. My route was Pioneer Rd -> AYE -> ECP -> Changi coast rd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 ......i'm very heavy footed, so i guess fc is a big concern.. and also so many guys in the car, add to the weight of the car..Heavy Foot? Then take the vios, not because it is going to be cheaper from FC, but because you are already driving for fun if you are heavy footed. Don't you feel the significal difference when you change from Lancer to Matrix? Anyway, Vios is small, but still good for passengers. So as long as you stay off NSHW, you should be fine. Try it once, if you passenger complains, then switch back to Matrix. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...