Jackfoo 1st Gear January 19, 2007 Share January 19, 2007 what the different between a 2wd & 4wd in term of fuel consumption; pick up; maintenance etc thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nero159 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 (edited) Everything you mentioned except "pick-up" (I presume you mean acceleration) are higher for 4WD. Only advantage of 4WD over 2WD is better traction in the wet. Edited January 20, 2007 by Nero159 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andpercent Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 2wd also got 2 variants. Front and Back 2wd. Most cars are front except for some performance cars. In terms of FC, 2wd gives you more KMs. Pick up, depends on road, power of car....etc. Maintenance wise, 4wd is of course more, another set of wheels to worry about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 4wd .. lower insurance :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 bro, old thread leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 2 mth only meh .. got older thread.. me very bored now :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 may be talk about 4WD , so how, how has driving the AWD changed your life? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear March 14, 2007 Share March 14, 2007 We just went to the 9 turns at kingEdwards :P .. really fun lor ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 16, 2007 Share March 16, 2007 (edited) where is that? 9 turns? careful lor when doing this kind of turns. for example the south bouna vista road, uphill or downhill ,there are many blind spot. it only take one accident to regret.i'd think do it at the car parks is much safer as u can be sure that there are no padestrian / cyclist/ dogs / cats in your way. :) btw, the thing about awd, personally I feel that for the impreza, it is the all wheel powered helps to keep the car on course when go thru wet roads. also about 'cornering', it is a dangerous thing to do, better don't high-speed corner at public roads. :) i know it is fun to cut ppl at corners, been there done that, but these risks is not worth taking. drive cool! :) just glad that I am still in one piece. its irony that having AWD is to make the driving safer in wet condition. however, the safety feature has become a reason for driver to push the car to higher risk. well.. just my thoughts. Edited March 16, 2007 by Slayer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie March 16, 2007 Share March 16, 2007 what the different between a 2wd & 4wd in term of fuel consumption; pick up; maintenance etc thanks Drifting more difficult in an AWD compared to RWD..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie March 16, 2007 Share March 16, 2007 yup AWD is never to be push the car to any limits.....to me those safety features r only used for real emergency and not an excuse to push it to the max or to SPEED! Safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Digging up an old thread because I just don't quite get it. There are some cars that start AWD which I presume is also 4WD or they are not the same? We are in Singapore with no winter and hardly any off the road tracks, when do you need AWD? Can AWD be disabled or they are always in AWD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Digging up an old thread because I just don't quite get it. There are some cars that start AWD which I presume is also 4WD or they are not the same? We are in Singapore with no winter and hardly any off the road tracks, when do you need AWD? Can AWD be disabled or they are always in AWD? Marketing gimmicks. Just have to know and find out what type of 4WD/AWD the model is using. 1) full time all wheel drive eg. subaru system 2) part time all wheel drive, most time in 2WD, only when it detects a slip will 4WD be activated. Some say abit retarded in reaction. eg. nissan xtrail, hyundai santa fe, kia sorento 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Digging up an old thread because I just don't quite get it. There are some cars that start AWD which I presume is also 4WD or they are not the same? We are in Singapore with no winter and hardly any off the road tracks, when do you need AWD? Can AWD be disabled or they are always in AWD? Sounds to me AWD and 4WD vehicle, their FC will be higher?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 (edited) Marketing gimmicks. Just have to know and find out what type of 4WD/AWD the model is using. 1) full time all wheel drive eg. subaru system 2) part time all wheel drive, most time in 2WD, only when it detects a slip will 4WD be activated. Some say abit retarded in reaction. eg. nissan xtrail, hyundai santa fe, kia sorento conti Luxury SUV normally also full time AWD, such as X5, XC90, LR, Q5/Q7 etc Edited March 4, 2016 by MQX87511 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Sounds to me AWD and 4WD vehicle, their FC will be higher?! AWD/4WD systems add weight to the car. More componets, more axles and more differential to take care of. the extra system weight by itself contributes to the higher FC already compared to pure 2WD. The extra axle/differential friction drag that the engine power needs to overcome contributes further to the higher FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 We are in Singapore with no winter and hardly any off the road tracks, when do you need AWD? Can AWD be disabled or they are always in AWD? You will definitely appreciate full time AWD in the wet weather we have here. Even in dry, the full time AWD impart the car with extra grip and thus confidence when going round sweeping curves or bends. Most full time AWD cannot be disabled. Some part time AWD can be disabled by a button. I have owned FWD, AWD, RWD....... RWD is most fun but AWD gives the safest drive feel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 OK, if I have no issue with 2wd even in wet condition, then no need to consider 4wd if I am not going off road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...