Question regarding run-in

Fcw75

Can I ask if the owner manual said the first servicing is at 1000km OR 2 months but after 2 mths still haven't reach 1000km, would you guys still send in for servicing:

1) at exactly 2 mths even though the mileage is let's say only abt 500+km

OR

2) would u wait until 1000km which might be 3 or 4 mths down the road then send for servicing?

Any comments?

Gotta read in between the lines, I think it is whichever occurs first. At least that's wat's stated in my Honda booklet.

What is the problem with the servicing when it reaches two months but odo meter not yet reach 1k? The first oil used by the manufaturer is of different grade and is purely for run in and may not be effectively lubricate and clean the engine as design after the specific period. You are not saving any money for not sending in for servicing but may cause more damage to the car in the long run.

It's not the money saved I'm concerned abt, rather it's whether the engine parts has been seated properly b4 I flush the engine oil with the tiny metal pieces out.

So your view is to send in for servicing at 2 mths regardless whether the 1000km is hit? Same as the other bro then. Thanks!

Edited by Fcw75

I am curious to know why it takes so long to run in your car. Some one here in MCF run in his car in just a day by driving up north. I just got my new ride two weeks ago and when I made appointment for my fist servicing at 0.9k, it reach 1.6k when the appointment date is due.

Oh, juz to clarify...it's for a new motorcycle that I bought lah. Dun ride it much nowadays bcoz of the weather so been driving ard. Almost 2 weeks liao and the mileage is 60+km only. [dizzy]

Actually running in the car on highway is the worst as u dun get to play around with the engine rpm and gears often enuff.

The biggest problem with breaking your engine in on the street (besides police) is if you ride the bike on the freeway (too little throttle = not enough pressure on the rings) or if you get stuck in slow city traffic. For the first 200 miles or so, get out into the country where you can vary the speed more

and run it through the gears !

Edited by Fcw75