Approvel Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 For noise reduction, SP is not going to help much, better off changing to a more quiet tyres. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Yihing Auto-Accessories Trading 465 Joo Chiat Rd Singapore 427677 Tel : 6344-9698 Fax : 6344-2329 i went ther b4 2 ask him quote 4 my ICE b4..he quoted all clarion products..quite exp 2 but his wkmanship is gd..SP material i dunno use wat..but i swear by dynamat xtreme. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 my gut feel, and that of quite a few forummers too, is that the brand doesn't really matter. what matters is the size/weight (thickness). the "aluminum foil" layer helps to hold things together and prevent too much melting/slippage. it was not thought that the mass loading/absorption/dampening properties were much different in between brands of bitumen. too bad my bitumen was done by installer when i didn't know anything. next car, i'll DIY. nothing beats DIY - u analyse the spots of the door that requires serious damping and u whack everywhere, especially those spots. something no installer will do for you ... and something u'll end up regretting once everything's nicely done up and u still end up with some vibrations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Approvel Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Ya, nothing beats diying our own car. Guess your gut feel is accurate , brand doesn't matters that much, just like different amps doesn't differs too much, like inthe RC challenge. Not many can actually pass the challenge 100%. Thus, use cheap cheap bitumen material for SP, amps use cheap cheap Sony Xplode one is enough, no need those x x x branded ones la, cables use those black/red one enough, cd all use burned ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monstruo Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Well, give them a call and speak to mr wong himself. He will explain the selection and usual of materials and some sp concept. I am not going to type out grandfather story so give them a call or just head down. If you are set to let them install, just stay and see how mr wong installs. I bet you will be very amaze. BTW. The address given was the old location As of today, they are located @ Yihing Auto 1067 Eunos Ave 4 01-220 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 well i came across an advert for cheap soundproofing ... ---------------- CNY SOUNDPROOFING OFFERS FROM SOUND WERKS! $27 for 1 piece of material to install anywhere you want! *except roof and floorpan *for roof and floorpan, $50 for initial piece and subsequently, $27 as well. lets say a typical car will do up.. 4 - 4 doors 2 - roof 2 - 2 wheelarcs 4 - floorpan 2 - tyrewell & boot total cost is just $424! so what are you waiting for? rush down to Lor 1 Realty Park. From Punggol Nasi Lemak go straight down past the traffic light intersection then turn left! We are located at the end corner of all the shophouses.. you can reach me at 91544534 (Isaac) if you have any enquiries. --------------- so for just plain old bitumen soundproofing, no other extras, toms and hairy dicks can all come and compete in this ballgame. the material cost is just $16-20 and everything else above that is profit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Thanks, that's good information! where did you get this info from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Approvel Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 (edited) Price Adv is very reasonable, even the initial price of $50 for roof and floor pan is not x, cos the work to remove chairs and roof linen is not easy. Anyone tried them? Edited March 11, 2007 by Approvel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 not simi good info lah. i think that offer maybe expire liao. it's some CNY offer right. their usual advert price is about $33 or so. but the point is, the raw material cost is more like $16 a piece. anything else is how much they value their time. and almost any plain jane can take bitumen and gor'pang'piah. it's all that accessing of the roof, that "careful" handling of the door panel, that +/- heat gun, how much they value their labour time, that determines the final price. of course got those who believe that the more expensive materials are worth paying for. but have we heard yet that the cheaper materials fail to work? do people report that the materials melt all over the place? i've yet to find negative reports on cheap material. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blacklabel Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 where is the more affordable shop to do sound proofing man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 (edited) Soundwerkz and Wishwerks (don't think they are related) offer soundproofing at around the same price. $200+ for 4 doors double layer. according to my "research", with prices like that they should among the cheapest in singapore liao. cheers. (info gathered from various forums) Edited March 11, 2007 by Ultramega Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 i did my door sp at wishwerkz. 128 for 4 doors single layer. good workmanship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scarletpica Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 cheapest is 1 thing, but what material are they using? Cos' i prefer to pay for quality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sinner Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Try them, a bunch of free-lancer. Good workmanship n like professional. Check them out here. http://sg.geocities.com/ebb_bp/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 if you scared of ppl stripping yr car and damaging some parts after fixing back, then maybe you can consider Tufetoff spraying. i think i mis-spelt the name they just spray yr undercarriage and wheel arcs, i think. call them and find out abt their prices. i think the only thing is you need to go back once every year to re-spray..... i personally never use them before, but my dad's hyundai car is tufetoff coated. and i find his ride is pretty quiet... quite impressive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 Saw some pics of soundproofing done by Soundwerkz in another forum. it has this word "AURIX" printed all over. that could be the brand, or maybe just the name of the material and brand is something else..not too sure. Wishwerks is using their own material..interestingly, they call it "Soundwerks" haha.. and they have that word printed all over their material too. if u want well-known material, try Raammat (www.raammat.com.sg). good or not i don't know, i never try before, supposed to be very good according to some reviews i read. price around the same as Soundwerks and Wishwerks. call the number on the website for the latest price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 i think u mean Sound-Clad? that is the sound proof coating. TuffKote is the rustproof coating, and for TuffKote they do strip the plastic door covers to spray the inside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie March 11, 2007 Share March 11, 2007 well as mentioned, those shops give affordable prices :) but one thing that's pretty interesting is that most people who posted in this thread are looking to REDUCE SOUND TRANSMISSION. make the interior quieter. some are interested in car body dampening as well but seems that the majority want a quieter ride mainly. yet all these material mentioned, i.e. bitumen, is mainly for dampening. its effect on sound transmission is not that much compared to some simple and light materials, e.g. aircon foam. well this is my suspicion, i have not done any actual testing to see how much sound gets cut down. but apparently such foam works better to reduce sound that travels from outside the car (other vehicles) to the inside. so how come this bitumen thing got so popularised? it's heavy, expensive, dirty, full of brand hype, and doesn't reduce transmission as much. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...