Gnahp Turbocharged August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 11:43 AM, Wildfaye29 said: ahh i see but i not interested in the RF the agent soft top NDs are all specced with 2.0 same as the RF eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-20m-1415935?dl=3709 only looking for JDM soft top 1.5 eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-roadster-15m-1425650?dl=2757&utm_content=SLeligible#popup-closed wanted to check the PI 1.5 JDMs are cat a or b, if anyone happen to know you start showing signs of tio poison.... 😁 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 11:43 AM, Wildfaye29 said: ahh i see but i not interested in the RF the agent soft top NDs are all specced with 2.0 same as the RF eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-20m-1415935?dl=3709 only looking for JDM soft top 1.5 eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-roadster-15m-1425650?dl=2757&utm_content=SLeligible#popup-closed wanted to check the PI 1.5 JDMs are cat a or b, if anyone happen to know Should be Cat A..but can afford such Car,does Cat A or B COE affect Buyers.?Nope. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 11:43 AM, Wildfaye29 said: ahh i see but i not interested in the RF the agent soft top NDs are all specced with 2.0 same as the RF eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-20m-1415935?dl=3709 only looking for JDM soft top 1.5 eg: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-roadster-15m-1425650?dl=2757&utm_content=SLeligible#popup-closed wanted to check the PI 1.5 JDMs are cat a or b, if anyone happen to know For JDM, the badge is roadster rather MX5. Export soft top has both 2L and 1.5L AD: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-20m-1415935?dl=3709&_nei=7f76fc50-ecef-4d56-a852-2b959f849f75 PI: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/mazda-mx-5-roadster-15m-1425650?dl=2757&utm_content=SLeligible PI. price crazy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 (edited) On 8/16/2025 at 11:52 AM, ER-3682 said: Should be Cat A..but can afford such Car,does Cat A or B COE affect Buyers.?Nope. actually is not the cost rather is the 1.5L may be marginally > 130bhp and being cat b the power to price ratio bo hua in local context - 1.5 being low cc kena cat b not cost/power efficient - y pay cat b more for low cc low power local market always has this high cc high power stigma Edited August 16, 2025 by Wildfaye29 add info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 I think this type of lightweight fun car cannot buy based on the specifications sheet alone got to drive to see if it speaks to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 1:11 PM, Gnahp said: I think this type of lightweight fun car cannot buy based on the specifications sheet alone got to drive to see if it speaks to you Based on my experience with MRS, 1.5L version is good for city driving. Can drag every gear. 2L is suitable for highway driving. It has more power. Hard to drag every gear in the city. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 (edited) Anyway,Mazda Engines cannot match Honda Engines for Refinement....the Honda S2000 Engine in MX5 will be nicer. Edited August 16, 2025 by ER-3682 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 10:48 AM, Wildfaye29 said: just happen to be looking for a mid life crisis car and this thread popped up must be manual, soft top and prefer JDM (unker olde skool la) referring to the ND model i realised the agent units are all 2.0L but current JDM specs are all 1.5L and (100kw) 136bhp? does anyone know if these existing PI units resale units are cat A or cat B? Only ever saw one ND 1.5 manual posted on sgcarmart. The 2-3 others are auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 4:25 PM, ER-3682 said: Anyway,Mazda Engines cannot match Honda Engines for Refinement....the Honda S2000 Engine in MX5 will be nicer. I drove a NB and sit in a NC RS for many times you are right, the engines didn't rev as sweet as a Honda, like they just fitted a 323 engine longitudinally (what a mouthful) without any tweaks 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 8:01 PM, Gnahp said: I drove a NB and sit in a NC RS for many times you are right, the engines didn't rev as sweet as a Honda, like they just fitted a 323 engine longitudinally (what a mouthful) without any tweaks 😅 Same as my GJ 2.5 SkyActiv Mazda 6,once over 4,500 Rpm,the Engine sounded like exploding. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 On 8/16/2025 at 8:19 PM, ER-3682 said: Same as my GJ 2.5 SkyActiv Mazda 6,once over 4,500 Rpm,the Engine sounded like exploding. I drove a CX5 with the same engine overseas first impression was - wah... power... then as I step the accelerator further, boh liao, no more, it just convert petrol into engine noise, not forward kinetic motion 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 16, 2025 Share August 16, 2025 (edited) On 8/16/2025 at 8:31 PM, Gnahp said: I drove a CX5 with the same engine overseas first impression was - wah... power... then as I step the accelerator further, boh liao, no more, it just convert petrol into engine noise, not forward kinetic motion Anyway,the best N.A. Engines still is Honda,Toyota,Nissan & the rest CMI...the best Conti N.A. Engines still BMW,esp the In Line 6,smooth & refined. Edited August 16, 2025 by ER-3682 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 @Gnahp990s https://www.mudah.my/2022-mazda-mx-5-1-5-roadster-990s-mt6-light-weight-112190031.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 (edited) On 8/16/2025 at 8:46 PM, ER-3682 said: Anyway,the best N.A. Engines still is Honda,Toyota,Nissan & the rest CMI...the best Conti N.A. Engines still BMW,esp the In Line 6,smooth & refined. Majority of Honda and bmw engines are nice. Only selected toyota and Nissans are good. Edited August 17, 2025 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 On 8/17/2025 at 11:49 AM, Mkl22 said: Majority of Honda and bmw engines are nice. Only selected toyota and Nissans are good. Toyota only the In Line 6 or the V6 used in Lexus are nice,Nissan,only the V6 used in the Cefiro/Teana or the GTR nice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 On 8/17/2025 at 11:55 AM, ER-3682 said: Toyota only the In Line 6 or the V6 used in Lexus are nice,Nissan,only the V6 used in the Cefiro/Teana or the GTR nice. Any Toyota with Yamaha input is 👍🏻 Except Hydrogen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 i miss my 6A12 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 17, 2025 Share August 17, 2025 On 8/17/2025 at 11:55 AM, ER-3682 said: Toyota only the In Line 6 or the V6 used in Lexus are nice,Nissan,only the V6 used in the Cefiro/Teana or the GTR nice. Your 350Z engine no good? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...