Why are these two highways so under-used ?

Darth_mel

Why are the Telok-Blangah/Pasir-Panjang and Kaki-Bukit/Tampines overhead highway so under-used ?

Whenever I travel on them, traffic is almost non-existent. [confused]

Edited by Darth_mel

Tried the kaki bukit flyover a few times purely becos it has no cars...wahahaha....the flyover exit is some ulu kambing place....like some idustrial estate....who lives those places???? want to drive myself out of that place also took me 5 mins before i find any familiar roads....

it is because both highways are out of the way for normal road users.

eg, pasir panjang/telok blangah. can only get to it from haw par villa junction. no accessible from other ways.

another view is that not much of exit/entrance to the highway. so understandable less traffic.

For the second highway, there are quite a few ppl using liao. I dun tink can call it highway. It links Bedok Reservoir to Kaki Bukit only, speed limit is 70kmh and got no road shoulder. More like an alternative route or flyover to ease traffic travelling along Bedok reservoir road to Ubi/Kaki Bukit.

it's actually a worker's quarters. All the foreign workers stay there one. Drive further out you see industrial buildings.

Wa liao.. like that oso can ah? [laugh]

Anyway, would u prefer an empty flyover or a congested highway like PIE. Was travelling back on PIE towards Changi Airport just now. Super congested. No idea why. No accidents, no breakdowns, no TP.

The Kaki Bukit Flyover is used mainly by heavy vehicles in the morning. If not for that highway I think Tampines Ave 10 will be even more congested. Other times it's mainly low traffic.

Why are the Telok-Blangah/Pasir-Panjang and Kaki-Bukit/Tampines overhead highway so under-used ?

Whenever I travel on them, traffic is almost non-existent. [confused]

Its design and planned by those chia leow bee town planners for their own private use.

Can't think of other reasons [sly]

U stay ard that area?

I tink its a mixture of vehicles. There are quite a few cars travelling on that flyover too... [:)]

I like that flyover cuz no congestion at all, smooth sailing traffic. [;)]

Alternative routes I guess but perhaps due to them being so far away from estates, not much people use them. But pretty handy when it comes to like this morning jam on AYE. Stuck in it for 1hr from Jurong to Clementi. I turned out into Clementi and hit the PasirPanjang highway. No cars, no jams, 10mins on ECP already...

My parents live in Tampines. I travel along Tampines Ave 10 frequently, since it was a new rd until the congested rd it is nowadays.

Frankly, I hardly use that flyover unless I'm travelling to Ubi from Tampines. It's easier to go to Paya Lebar using the PIE from Bedok Reservoir coz there're so many traffic lights in Ubi and it's congested except for night time.

Yup. Now that road is very congested. Lots of accidents too...

Like u mentioned, that flyover is only useful for those travelling to Ubi or Kaki Bukit.

Other den that, PIE would be ideal.

I remembered when the flyover was just completed, i cycled to Ubi via the flyover. [lipsrsealed]

Actually not meant for bicycles de, but was rushing for time. [laugh]

I absolutely love the flyover along upper serangoon road linking Potong Pasir to Hougang.

Before that flyover was up, it was hell driving along that stretch.

Kepple viaduct is design not for the general public...its a connection between the new Pasir Panjang Wharf to Kepple Distripark. So the containers coming out from the new terminal can by pass all the traffic and go directly into PSA Gate 2.

And once you get on the viaduct from Pasir Panjang towards Kepple...there is no way for you to get out unless you want to go to Tanjong Pagar or use the ECP...