Supercharged Mazda 3?

Lau_mathew

Bro, i believe it is due to the engine layout that causes the 'Not So Cold' aircon on the current Mz3.

It's still pretty cold when you set it to the maximum 18 degree [;)]

Of course cannot compare to Toyota one [:)]

why not buy the MZ3 SP20 then supercharge it? Sp20 already got a 0-100 time of 9.1 secs, so supercharging should bring it down to 7 sec? Else if u get the 1.6L one n supercharge it, maybe end up 9 secs nia..

Huh.... supercharge and the improvement is only so little? Chun boh??? [sweatdrop]

Should be a remarkable diff right?

Anyway, if caught... its considered as an intake mod and the fine is like only $50? Is this correct? Compared to exhaust mods which the fine is like $500 instead.

Costs ard $6K?

Where dey get the kits from?

Bro, this one i dunno [:)] Paiseh [blush]

IMHO, not worthwhile to install these supercharger kits cos you'll need to upgrade your brakes and lots of stuff and furthermore i believe it's not street legal yet [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

The increment in terms of power isn't worthwhile the cost & hassle of it [nod][nod][nod]

A 1.6L would always be a 1.6L over here in Singapore not matter how much goodies we pumped in IMHO [:p]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

HMMM...thought Supercharging fine is more severe (may even get compounded) than Turbo Charging... [gossip]

Superchargers are belt driven vs TurboChargers using exhaust gases....

that's what I heard also.

SC is considered engine mod ... same class as "upgrading" engine. eg. 1.6>2.0L

TC is considered exhaust mod ... same class as decat/operated muffler/etc.

i see... thanks...

am still old school lah... laugh.gif

Bro i nt too sure hw to explain but intake infront, exhaust behind is better. [thumbsup]

Civic 2.0 is using that layout, but 1.8 still using the old set up.

If u dun drive recklessly, dun tink need to upgrade the brakes rite?

Power will increase ard 30bhp +/- if i m nt wrong.

And if LTA allows, den it can be considered value for $?

1.6 will alwaes be a 1.6. No doubt abt that, but u feel more shiok driving after modding? [laugh]

wah lao...the Uncle is damn outdated and lousy lah...

Mazda cars are no longer a carbon copy of ford cars, and if i'm not wrong, the only thing that MIGHT be the same is the basic floorpan. Even this, i have doubts.

What you mean must strip aircon and all the parts? If you are talking about supercharging, then fret not. I know where to go lah. Anyway, SP2.0 good car, but like alot of people have discussed, I can buy a Mazda 6 with that money liao. In addition, the 3 SP 2.0 sedan damn ugly in my opinion. I like the hatch, which costs the same as a M6

i have personally seen a very stock mazda 3 1.6l dyno at st powered to be 96 bhp after stage 2 of supercharging went up to 199.6 bhp same dyno machine at st powered. and the increase in bhp is very linear. and the size of the supercharger is no bigger than its alternater.

This is the new trend in engine design. Mitsubishi 4A series engines are designed this way too. To lower down the engine emission in some way. Good point is, your bonnet is less heated up compared to the traditional design.

i do find the engine layout very different and strange...

air throttle in front and extractor behind...

don understand the logic... anyone? gossip.gif

Add: easier to hide a snail with such a layout? wink.gifsly.gif

it all depends on boost and how much the internals can take right ?

If stage 2 means changing everything along the drivetrain that moves, then the value for money goes down a lot liao right ?

Any estimated total cost for this 100% power increment ?

If u dun drive recklessly, dun tink need to upgrade the brakes rite?

If BHP don't increase alot, i think stock brakes still boleh tahan but if too much then better change [nod][nod][nod]

1.6 will alwaes be a 1.6. No doubt abt that, but u feel more shiok driving after modding?

Agree Bro [sly]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

you can always pop by monster garage and look at the dyno charts. if not you can go and chek the records at st powered.