Painting Calipers

Turbobrick

SAY NO TO painting stock brake calipers!

If you paint, you are actually adding a thermal coating to the brake caliper to reduce heat dissipation. OFcoz u cant feel it in street driving or street racing, but try coming out from Genting highlands u feel the diff.

Dont let me see your car in long-kang (drain)! [:p]

My brakes got free upgrade to big big one from agent so neber mind lah [:p]

Seriously, I went to PG with my painted calipers and my tranny overheated before the brakes so not too concerned with the brake caliper overheating first [crazy]

I used Hammerite paint found in must DIY shops. It's still stuck there! Still have half a can left, and that's after painting 4 - 5 cars! Gimme a call if you feel the urge to paint your calipers.

Cheers!

Hey Mike! I also use Hammerite on my calipers and still got more than half after four calipers two coats each. Damn shiok! I got some paint chips due to my clumsiness from changing pads, other than tat the paint holds up real well!

Cheap and good, the hammered look also damn shiok! [cool]

I also used the Hammerite to paint my calipers (front) and drums (rear). The paint is still not faded yet, just that the front caliper is heavily soiled with the brake dust.

I used blue, what colour did you guys paint?

[pirate][sly][pirate][laugh][crazy]

Letz see......the above seems to tell a story ler... you are a Pirate from Japan who fought a Pirate from China until u went Siao?? [:p]

Edited by Barakian

Me used Hammerite also. [blush] RED [blush]calipers to match my car!

As for rear drums, me painted them silver. No special reason, just that black is b-o-r-i-n-g!

One point to note is the hammerite paint is very brittle, it'll hold and last damn long but just one tap with a hammer or tool and it'll chip off. Must touch up everytime I work on my brakes [:(] Skillz not enough yet.... [:p]