Sony 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 quick question: do they check for illegal modifications? or should i say do they care if u have illegal modifications ? and I heard they check for plastic surgery and see if the gender is correct as stated on the passport as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 In Reply To these custom guys very experience one, if the car is empty tank, the weight of the car sure lighter than if its 3/4 tank full. they just observe the tyre pressure on the road can leow.. Steady.. observe thru the pressue of tyre pressue.. Very innovative your comment..trying to make me laugh all over again izzit..? tyre pressure.... We need innovative answer to innovative idea and dump question will be met by 'intelligent' answers.. [/reply] Aren't we brilliant ? papa and mama should be proud of us Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 In Reply To when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? they will put one long metal rod into the car fuel tank.. just like checking oil level.. they will know if tank is 3/4 full or less Have you tried inserting something into your fuel tank before? BTW, have you seen the various shape and sizes of fuel tank as well? i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. Oh ya..I have heard of that as well. Hear say it's quite accurate... Apparently those officers are very well-trained and is in demand. they even beat dogs who are trained to sniff for petrol.. [/reply] Eh, different from what I heard... I hear say hear say that they actually train the dog, then eat them up, so that they can inherit their ability... SPCA is not going to be happy when they see this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 Steady... ICA will be posting a full page advert to recruit more people as escorter, or better known as pump attendant liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 my ride how? last time when i very cheapskate, can go in with just very slightly under 3/4. after dinner at city square/meldrum walk, come out, can pump close to 20 liters or sometimes even 22 liters but my total is only 45 liters. maybe if pump to brim, 47 liters? so if they pump over 15 liters at the nearest mobil how? i still think they siphon out on the spot at the customs n check.. there is a waiting area for those who pay fine due to under 3/4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 In Reply To In Reply To these custom guys very experience one, if the car is empty tank, the weight of the car sure lighter than if its 3/4 tank full. they just observe the tyre pressure on the road can leow.. Steady.. observe thru the pressue of tyre pressue.. Very innovative your comment..trying to make me laugh all over again izzit..? tyre pressure.... We need innovative answer to innovative idea [/reply] and dump question will be met by 'intelligent' answers.. [/reply] aren't we brilliant ? papa and mama should be proud of us maybe Gad also proud of the answers/contributions.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 In Reply To In Reply To when you pass thru the custom check, they have the scanner that scan your car. I think they can see your petrol tank level from the scanner. Am I right??? they will put one long metal rod into the car fuel tank.. just like checking oil level.. they will know if tank is 3/4 full or less Have you tried inserting something into your fuel tank before? BTW, have you seen the various shape and sizes of fuel tank as well? i've also heard of story whereby the officer will come close to the fuel tank opening and then yell in it..he will then try to hear for echoes.. if there is and depending on the number of echoes heard, its an indication of the level of fuel left in the tank.. Oh ya..I have heard of that as well. Hear say it's quite accurate... Apparently those officers are very well-trained and is in demand. [/reply] they even beat dogs who are trained to sniff for petrol.. [/reply] Eh, different from what I heard... I hear say hear say that they actually train the dog, then eat them up, so that they can inherit their ability... SPCA is not going to be happy when they see this those dogs! no wonder they always confiscate my ramlee burger... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 Now you know where they sent it to for destruction? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie April 14, 2007 Share April 14, 2007 U can risk empty tank across causeway anytime u want.....try your luck, at most fine $500 nia. But tempering the petrol gauge is a totally different kind of risk!!!!!! U can pass through 50 times, 100 times even 500 times without been caught........But u only need to get caught ONCE.....GAME OVER liao. Car confisated + Jail term awaits. Future gone down the drain. The risk is similar to OPC cars cheating on the $20 coupon. Kena once will pay a very very heavy price. Think if you try to go Malaysia with less than 3/4 tank . . . it is an offence under the Customs Act and all vehicle used in the commission of an offence under the Customs Act is liable to be seized and forfeited subsequently if Customs make an application for it. And under the Customs Act, once the application is made to Court, the Judge will have to forfeit the car as long as 2 conditions are met namely (i) the presence of an offence under the Customs Act (ii) the vehicle is used in the commission of that offence. For this case mentioned, it was stated clearly that the application was made by the Customs prosecutor, as such the judge is powerless to do anything but did advice the owner to appeal to the Attorney General Chambers for consideration regarding the application . . . . think few yrs back a almost new merz was forfeited for similar offence the owner also fined $500 for the 3/4 tank issue and jailed for lying to Customs officers . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 quick question: do they check for illegal modifications? or should i say do they care if u have illegal modifications ? In fact alot of the customs ppl r VERY into mods. So many times i have been asked where i do this where i do that by the customs ppl. They r very frenly actually, most of them la. Aiya this case COMFIRM is kena tip off one la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 (edited) Addtional of a switch whereby once you activate it, your fuel gauge will show 3/4 even when your fuel tank is empty These 2 guys might have got caught by doing what u've said. If they have, maybe, half tank, they might not get caught at all. Why? IMO, they were caught when their car passes through the X-Ray machine...... Btw, X-Ray is not a myth, its those portable types that they've once shown to public in a news report. Bro sure not? Really got X Ray machine dat can scan ur fuel tank meh???? I think might as well ask them use optical fibres slip into the fuel tank to see lor, comfirm accurate one macham those the surgeons use. Edited April 15, 2007 by Thefear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 they already have optical fibrescope liao . . came out in papers few yrs ago when they used it to detect secret compartments of cigs and VCDs . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superduper Neutral Newbie April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 Just saw in papers yesterday, 2 guys caught tempering their petrol gauges kanna fine $500 n jailed for 2 weeks. One car even got compound. Such a heavy punishment. Though first time offence is fine only.... hello!! for cheating offence, where got so light punishment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 The actual truth is that the designated officer will wear his red underwear and stare at your petrol tank to determine the level of petrol in tank.... X-Ray vision hor...dun play play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 Think U referring more to Supa-man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 my ride how? last time when i very cheapskate, can go in with just very slightly under 3/4. after dinner at city square/meldrum walk, come out, can pump close to 20 liters or sometimes even 22 liters but my total is only 45 liters. maybe if pump to brim, 47 liters? so if they pump over 15 liters at the nearest mobil how? i still think they siphon out on the spot at the customs n check.. there is a waiting area for those who pay fine due to under 3/4 My lancer tank capacity is 50ltrs. Hence i always go in with the needle btw 3/4 & 1/2. I can pump average 20-22ltrs too. Sometimes i calculate wrongly and needle was just above 1/2 tank....then can pump abt 25ltrs. I go in at on weekday nites or sat PM or sunday AM. 95% of the time there wasnt any checks at all. While 5% of the time, they wave me off. So i guess needle btw 3/4 to 1/2 should be ok bah. My house MSCP is approximately 12.5km from the caltex petrol pump at Jbee. So i do save quite a bit on petrol. Especially when i always have lunch or dinner at woodlands/admiralty....this save half the journey too. Traffic jam wise...do avoid weekday 6-9am and evenings 5-7pm, friday & sunday nites. Any other timings, a car can easily breeze in and out of the causeway. At the very least, the traffic is very much better than CTE ANYTIME. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 that seems quite oversized a tank for a 1.6 my 1.1 tank is 45 (but i think in real life can pump a few more liters than tt). for getz 1.6 also 45 liter i usually play safe if needle below 3/4. pump a few liters to show them receipt if they check. but my tank gauge non-linear since day one.. at 3/4 mark the tank actually just over half only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 Wah....yr car's tank so good. 3/4 mark = 1/2 tank. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...