Valentino Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 I'm not sure if this applies to cars as well, but my bro's new 1-mth-old bike was stolen last yr. His claim was only just settled and he only got back $17k, or supposedly 80% of the market value. He paid $23k for the bike. I asked him why isn't it a 1-to-1 payment since his bike is new and he said bcoz he bought only 3rd party, fire & theft and not comprehensive cover. This means he lost $6k for that 1 mth of using the bike. even if it was a comprehensive cover, i doubt ur bro would have got back the full value. this is because not all insurer provide 1to1 exchange. also, i think bike dun have comprehensive cover de. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Why cannot??? Thatz how I accumulate my NCD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 (edited) you can buy third party with loan if your loan amout is less than paper value Edited April 13, 2007 by Aucsl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Than tell me why can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Coz I'm a living example. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 If I buy 1st party insurance with authorized workshop and involved accident but is 3rd party fault. Can I choose non-authorized workshop to repair and claim against the 3rd party??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 (edited) Why not, u not claiming ur own insurance leh. The other party have to guai guai pay up thatz all. Authorise or non-authorise workshop is for own damage claim. Unless that 3rd party is also ur insurance party which happens to me!!! Edited April 13, 2007 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 (edited) Thanks! but what do you mean "Unless that 3rd party is also ur insurance party which happens to me!!! "? Both insured with same company? Edited April 13, 2007 by Aucsl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 is there any great difference between a comprehensive and a 3rd party fire and theft? and which would you go for, for cars under 5yrs old? I think 3rd party only covers 3rd party, and not you the driver and your car. As for me, will go for comprehensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Yup, if both is same insurance company, then have to lan lan follow their instructions lor. Living E.g : Me wif Income, kena rear ended by another car also wif Income. My car 1yr old only. Went Idac n so on, driver also say his fault. Wana bring car back to AD to repair, Income say cannot. I argue wif CSO on phone. They gave me few choice : 1) Go to their authorised workshop. 2) Give u certain amt n u settle urself. I never renewed wif them at renewal time. Told them to F-off. I'm claiming 3rd party also kena restrict by them!!! Moreover car only abt 1yr old only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk88 Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 How come my insurance renewal is more expensive that previous year even though i have additional 10% NCD?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Sorry to hear that. Income very niew one, can eat must eat. What to do, bite the bullet and go on lor. Me AXA, hope not so niew Ooops... tw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 I dont know, call up ur insurance company lah. U kena claim b4??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk88 Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 nv claim b4 leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 (edited) Edited April 13, 2007 by Aucsl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 Maybe this will give you a nude picture ! http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1...again._P1816228 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk88 Neutral Newbie April 13, 2007 Share April 13, 2007 thanks a million! haizzzz...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched April 13, 2007 Author Share April 13, 2007 If your Car.....With Finance.....I dun think.....Finance Company will allow U.... To buy 3rd party F&T......... i have checked with finance...they said, up to me...but advisable to take compre ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...