Insurance query

Redz

is there any great difference between a comprehensive and a 3rd party fire and theft? and which would you go for, for cars under 5yrs old?

i only see the difference is no claim against your own fault....but then, your premium for the next yr will be high.... so i dont really see any logic for an expensive coverage....coz at the end of the day, we still have to fork out the cash.... am i right or wrong? pls correct me

.... and become dizzy? [laugh] i wanted to go for 3rd party F&T but i am really not sure. been driving for quite a while now and my record so far is clean.

and finance oso have to go into consideration too. would not wanna risk that much on 3rd party. but then, remember a while back on lost grandis? the insurance co only paid $10k as claim by the papers....that is scary!

I'm not sure if this applies to cars as well, but my bro's new 1-mth-old bike was stolen last yr. His claim was only just settled and he only got back $17k, or supposedly 80% of the market value. He paid $23k for the bike. I asked him why isn't it a 1-to-1 payment since his bike is new and he said bcoz he bought only 3rd party, fire & theft and not comprehensive cover. This means he lost $6k for that 1 mth of using the bike. [shakehead]

This is so ironic. He bought "3rd party, fire & thief", but not covered against thief??

I'm not sure if this applies to cars as well, but my bro's new 1-mth-old bike was stolen last yr. His claim was only just settled and he only got back $17k, or supposedly 80% of the market value. He paid $23k for the bike. I asked him why isn't it a 1-to-1 payment since his bike is new and he said bcoz he bought only 3rd party, fire & theft and not comprehensive cover. This means he lost $6k for that 1 mth of using the bike. shakehead.gif

Covered. Otherwise he wouldn't have gotten a payout at all, rite?

But apparently the terms of coverage and payout are different than if he had bought a comprehensive coverage policy instead.

If your Car.....With Finance.....I dun think.....Finance Company will allow U....

To buy 3rd party F&T......... [rolleyes]

Edited by Ccssgm

Previously, my COE car was under loan and I purchased 3rd Party Fire n Theft leh. Dealer even asked me want 3rd Party only or not!!!