Qinglong 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 you get back less since you paid lesser at the first ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Get back less at same rate as wat we paid in the beginning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tokens Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) i believe i know the answer to this question. the green rebate is based on the current OMV, and is 40%. the ARF is the amount of OMV minus any rebates given. so based on my coming ride, which i booked in 1st bidding in feb (i.e. following 110% ARF), OMV=12900 ARF=110% Green Rebate=40% of OMV = 40%*12900 = 5160 Real ARF=110% of OMV - rebates = 110*12900-5160 = 14190-5160 = 9030. the calculations can be also used to work out the new ARF. Assuming i scrap my car in the 10th year, my parf is 50% of arf. so my parf is $4515. Comparing to a non-green rebate CNG car, my parf would be 7095. i.e. a difference of $2580! however, i won't rejoice yet, cos if i decide to convert to cng later on, i'll have to fork out $3000 (assuming best value for sequential system). and on top of the $3000, my non-CNG car costs $1000 more. so have a total of $4000 deficit. therefore, the total gains of self-installing CNG would be 2580-3000-1000=-$1420... i.e. i'll lose out in the end if i don't go for green rebate now. however, aftersales installing CNG does have some benefits, like you can choose your CNG setup, more customization etc. I'm not sure if my SE allows CNG customization or not... have to ask. now still making the painful decision to choose CNG or not... my only gripe is that my SE is only rebating me $4000... they eat $1160... and could someone also verify what i've calculated? i'm making these calculations based on whatever info i can find off the web. Edited February 20, 2008 by Tokens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 Of course! Your car will have a lower value if you take the rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Scrap get less, how abt selling it in 2nd hand mkt? presumed I have to price it lower than non-CNG cars also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 Hard to say. If it is "in fashion" and there is a demand for these cars, it might push the price up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Is your Optra MT or AT? Also, before your conversion, what's your petrol FC like? Your CNG mileage of 200-250km seems viable. As the present refill stations are a bit out of the way for me, I'm trying to compare petrol FC vs CNG mileage to see if it is feasible. E.g. petrol FC is 12km/l vs 200km with CNG thus if petrol FC lower, obviously CNG mileage will be lower as well. Genie47, do you have any figures to compare between petrol FC vs CNG mileage? Yes Mine is a MT. It is range ard 10.5km/L to 12km/L. Fluctuate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Try exporting it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Get back less at same rate as wat we paid in the beginning? Summarised, Upfront discount off new car price of 40%*OMV. After 10 Years, you get 20%*OMV less in paper. (normal car parf = 55%omv, cng parf = 35%omv) If you own the car for 10 years, effective savings is 20%*OMV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Just to add to what MOK_ has posted, this is the breakdown difference between normal and CNG car with 40% rebate. 1-5yr - 30% 6 yr - 28% 7 yr - 26% 8 yr - 24% 9 yr - 22% 10 yr - 20% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 If your OMV is already known, then your calculated rebate of $5160 is correct. Although my OMV is not known yet, my SE gave a $5000 rebate ($4000 for CNG kit + $1000 off car price). The estimated OMV is about $13500. I guess they won't declare my OMV less than $12500. The higher they declare, the more $$ they can earn from me, double-edged sword. Look on the bright side, your $5160 will be reduced to only $4257 the moment you drove your car out from the showroom (due to PARF rebate of 82.5%). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 What we want now is a station in TOA PAYOH SPC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 dun wan lar. Wait kanna ERP if pump inside. Kidding. it would be a big push if there is CNG there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 Let them iron out Jln Buroh first. I went on Mon afternoon and there was this Prime cabby KPKB. "What is it again, huh?" then insert your favorite 4-letter word and all that. The PhD in gas filling and the Galileo engineer just ignored him. I must say the compressor is really pushed very hard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) Told you so the prime taxi is making a lot of noise. Bro Mandai has this smart card thingy I think ppl also KPKB there .....LOL $50 for a car---- break down $5 for admin fees $20 for Refunable deposit and the balance $25 is for you to pump gas ....LOL the irony is PAY CASH horrr ....for the card. I saw merc taxi shouting you dun want to pump I go somewhere else ... hahahaha for me I went JBee ...LOL sad to say I bought the card just incase i need to do a quick fill... hahaha Edited February 20, 2008 by Dirtrider_ak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 $20 refundable deposit.... If use the smart card got 5-10% discount still got reason to buy. So they dun accept cash?? Like that gotta go JB liao. Boycott them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Author Share February 21, 2008 I paid cash because I got $44 with me in cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Get back less at same rate as wat we paid in the beginning? Summarised, Upfront discount off new car price of 40%*OMV. After 10 Years, you get 20%*OMV less in paper. (normal car parf = 55%omv, cng parf = 35%omv) If you own the car for 10 years, effective savings is 20%*OMV. Thanks folks, for the info. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...