My CNG conversion

Genie47

Dirtrider_ak renewed his w/o a hitch. The car is still the same car. The premium is tied to your loan. Your loan no change, so insurance premium no change.

Hi Genie47, thanks a lot for sharing your info! I'm getting a new (and 1st) ride (axio) and am interested in cng. However, my SE told me that my insurance premium is 20% more than normal cars! Do you face that problem? He told me it's cos of the additional load... [dead]

i'm reaching 28 this year, and only got my license last year sept... hence i'm a newb driver with higher insurance, and couple that with the 20% increase, my SE estimated my insurance to be about $3k+!!! [furious]

I've estimated I'm driving about 320km per week, so if pump at boleh land, it's $52 per month for CNG. If pump at petrol at boleh land [lipsrsealed], petrol costs is about $100 a month...

I'm have already signed on the dotted line, but since it's new year, my SE says still possible to change to non-CNG if the letter wasn't sent to LTA yet. now my decision hinges on what's my insurance coverage like... would love to have your opinion.

Anyway, what's your tank size? 66l? It contains how much CNG at max capacity? My SE told me my tank can contain 12kg.

Edited by Tokens

Does conversion to bifuel car has any repercussions to our insurance premium and claims in the event of an accident?

No issues so far. Insurance is on the value of the car. It is because of law i no choice ... if not i dun even want to buy them ...LOL donating to them nothing comes back except papers every year to say u hv insurance.

Edited by Dirtrider_ak

Stupid SE smoke you lah. Insurance is against the value of your car. Maybe it is because you just got your license. Noobs higher loading. Mine is 58L water capacity. 10 Singapore kilograms or 12 Malaysian kilograms. laugh.gif

Please lah. Maybe you should reconsider buying a car. 320km a week is not much. I cover 500-600km a week.

Edited by Genie47

You have to bear in mind that power loss depends very much on the car that you convert. Most japanese cars you will not feel the performce loss. Hill climb or not. When we converted a Honda Civic Type R, even that that negligible CNG loss.

My Mondeo is a bit different. Power loss is noticible.

Thanks for sharing. I believe power loss shld be neglible for cars that are meant to run...for example, type R, alfas and etc etc. Cars like Mondeo and C5 wich are orginally a bit underpowered would probably give the feeling of power loss a little more..but still, for me, the savings is too attractive to ignore..sometimes, you got to wonder...do we really need that much power in a small country like ours?

any ideal about the Hyundai Sonata

my SE did tell me the insurance is an estimate, but i replied that my fren who was in a similar situation got insured at 2.3k only. he's only 3mths passed his driving, same age. i'm gonna get the SE to get me a better deal, or i'm going to find insurance on my own [:(]

anyway my distance is a conservative estimate. not sure what's going to be the true value. anyway another reason is cos i'm almost always going home late... getting a cab is a nono... [knife]

I got a strange feeling our orginaly ECU is adapting and the CNG ECU maps seems to miss map and so air to fuel ratio is off. Something like Piggyback ECU theory. After sometime the orginal ECU seems to learn and the mapping for the air fuel ratio is off. Mine happens when in loaded range, yours on the pickup range. I seriously thought about buying the OMVL software and the CNG ECU cable to analyse my own and change the affected map using air fuel ratio tap from the oxygen sensor.

If not then it could be my TPS is not responding fast enough to adapt the CNG

Your case could be too lean. rich it up and it should be ok. Ok just to make sure, you accl hard then you get the jerk right?

Your view.

Edited by Dirtrider_ak

Not a hard jerk. Sometimes when travelling, it is jerk, jerk, jerk. Small little ones.

BTW, visited Jln Buroh again. The left nozzle is now the German trigger gun type. Very convenient looking. Also confirms my fears that "All professionals are conspiracies against the laity." The PhD in gas filling gave the typical professional answer to my query for a non-professional task. laugh.gif

I saw that too. The prime taxi complain a lot abt the system. lol anyway the gun type is usd in JI and it is good. Look at the modification on the Nano Box ...LOL like kenna ginnepig and they are suppose to be the pro. Chey 20 years of non experience. I wonder how come mandai so fast and good ...LOL. I have never seen a problem at all from day one of operations. I guess they know what they are doing. One thing in common they have, it is not link to the cashier yet still Malaysia Boleh style .... CASH... hahaha

Your jerk is definetly an issue bro. Mine is not like that. At this point i ran out of ideas what caused yr problem. To me suspect only ahh I also not PHD, maybe regulator or injector intermitten. Dunno ... only 2 components of non delivery of gas which cause the jerk or misfire.... dunno really i am guessing maybe be tok nonsense also.

Just saw this posting and it's really interesting ....now i am more aware of the CNG thingie.... [nod] green horn very excited [bounce2]

recently saw a lot or articles in the papers that's why went on the net to find out more...

[flowerface]

seems that apart from Kia, Chevrolet is also planning to do something....

Fastlane: Chevy's bi-fuel Optra

Christopher Tan

Sat, Feb 02, 2008

The Straits Times

CHEVROLET will start selling a bi-fuel Optra (sedan and wagon variants) here as early as March. Assembled in Thailand, the petrol-CNG Optra will be the second factory-made bi-fuel car to be readily available here. Mercedes-Benz introduced a bi-fuel E-class back in 2005.

CNG cars enjoy a green tax rebate equivalent to 40 per cent of their open-market values. The Optra is expected to be priced at or just under $60,000.

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...0205-48318.html

wondering if anyone has any advice ???

what ride u booking? will u benefit fully from the reduction in OMV? or the SE "takes" some of the rebate?

i suggest u get the 82l tank. 66l is the standard one i heard its range is about 180km.

the cost diff for conversion b/w the 2 options is juat $400.