Lg3312g Neutral Newbie May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 Oh...fyi, understand after the great flood in Johore. There are quite a few of people and businesses went "south". So no money...people can make crazy things. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 Wow, that guy posts like he's some sort of superhero. I am at a loss for words. After action review and armchair critique is something that anyone can do. Hope everyone has a safe week ahead. Wow, this guy has the brain the size of his nick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 Yah, need to avoid risk. Otherwise treat the loss as a tax for attending to the "attractions" in JB. Some country tax you legally others tax you illegally, its all the same, you pay and pay. Important thing is not to be snobbish or naive that JB is same as Spore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 Looks are subjective. I am not trained in special kungfu but a cumulative of martial arts such as taekwondo, karate, judo, akido and currently muay thai. I have attained black belts in the first 3. Retired them for good? I doubt so. Maybe next time I will mark those robbers with tags so I can recognize them for good. Kns so many.. all blend together become very special liao eh.. i'm a softie leh.. i was putting myself in their shoes. if i kena one "victim" so jialak i'll stick to robbing women n elderly.. Hmmm..... maybe I call it Rojako? Well, there are many stories about robbers being hammered by people in Malaysia too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 i always go JB. After so many years there, and after even the pump attendant know me quite well, i never let my guard down. Always do the following precaution: 1. Dun go anywhere "ulu" 2. Try not to go in too late.. 12am onwards.. alone. 3. When you pump, always take your car key with you, dun leave it in the car, maybe even lock the car when you are out of the car. 4. Dun leave valuables lying on yr car seat. 5. Don't visit petrol station toilets when its late at night alone. Try to go somewhere bright. 6. When paying at petrol station counter, even the car is in sight and near u... KEEP it LOCKED. 7. ALWAYS LOCK your car no matter if car is moving or not moving. Try not to drive with window down. 8. Ladies go toilet, please leave handbag in car.. dun be STUPID. and go with someone.. dont be stupid and go alone!. 9. Even if my friends or wife is inside car, when i step away from car, they will immediately LOCK the car. I dun take chance.. my wife always lock the car even if we are in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 8, 2007 Share May 8, 2007 Hi Chucky Good advice! If the locals are already taking extreme measures to lessen their chance of being robbed, much more should we as tourists do too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 whao. can be Singapore "Ong Bak" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 I'm going to Phuket again. This time I'm driving up to Khao Sok Nat'l Park for a 2D1N stay. It's 176km north of Phuket. Slowly gathering knowledge of the area bit by bit. Before long, I will join Poortraveller in taking the car north of Penang. If any MCFers want to join in this future adventure, it will cover Koh Samui, Krabi, Phang Nga, Khao Sok, Khao Lak and Phuket. 1-1/2 week driving mayhem. ========================== Can consider but only if u take me as your passenger. My car is too old to make the trip without risks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 I've been molested by girls and my wife was by my side. Wife too shocked to even hiss at these hussies. ============================== Did u check carefully cos she just may be being molested by the guy beside her at the same time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched May 13, 2007 Share May 13, 2007 Oh...fyi, understand after the great flood in Johore. There are quite a few of people and businesses went "south". So no money...people can make crazy things. That's what my hubby commented after the recent reports too. He said that recently the MY govt began cracking down on things like illegal VCDs, drugs and I think porn and prostitution too? All of a sudden, after being so lax for so long. And usually those who deal in such stuff are not exactly 'model citizens' too, if you get what I mean. So being forced out of biz, no money, so gotta resort to extreme actions for income. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 13, 2007 Share May 13, 2007 How can? Ong Bak's Muay Thai can tan jiak already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lg3312g Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Yeah...your hubby may be right. So for now, it is wiser to give JB a "miss" unless no choice esp when you are a lady...or going with your family. No point to take such risk. Have a nice day...stay safe and stay healthy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 anyone heard of mugging at petrol stations? Yes, I have witness it once with my colleague. It happen years ago at the BP station (On the way back to JB from Tampoi...the one that is together with Shell and Esso) Was on the way back after a long meeting with client...it ended at 11pm and we went for supper. By the time we reached the petrol station was like 2am already. We top up our car with petrol then went into the station to make payment...before we went in, a SG registered Volvo drove in and parked beside us. When we went into the station, the cashier jump out of the counter and went to lock the door and then ask us to hide behind the counter...then we stole a peep and realised that the SG Volvo was begin rob at gun point !! After hiding for a while (too scare and lost touch with time) the Volvo driver knock on the station door...the cashier when to open the door and we call the Polis from there. Waited with the poor chap and bring him to the station to make a statement and then lompang him back from JB to Woodlands. It could be us if we were say 5 to 10 mins late...that was a close shave. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...