Lastdance Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 If I go Malaysia buy body kit and spoiler(be it new or 2nd hand) but nvr install and bring back SG, do I need to pay any tax or fee? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 Keep the bill, you would need to pay GST if it is more than certain amount. But you can ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lastdance Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 can? and what is the certain amount? how bout 2nd hand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 If is GST will be 5% but will be going up liao to 7%. Just declare at the Customs Red Channel where you can make enquiries . . . keep the receipt . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk88 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 cannot buy and fix it there meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 Extract from Custom website: GST Relief Bona fide travellers, other than holders of a work permit, employment pass, student's pass, dependant's pass or long term pass, will be given Goods & Services Tax (GST) Relief on the following total value of new purchases, excluding liquors and tobacco: Travellers away from Singapore for less than 24 hours: 18 years of age and above: $50 Below 18 years of age: No relief Travellers away from Singapore for 24 hours or more but less than 48 hours: 18 years of age and above: $150 Below 18 years of age: $50 Travellers away from Singapore for 48 hours or more: 18 years of age and above: $300 Below 18 years of age: $100 Important Notes Please note that the GST/duty-free allowance is for your personal consumption. It is an offence to sell or give them away. If you have goods exceeding your GST/duty-free allowance, the excess items can be brought in only on payment of the GST and duties. GST and duties have to be paid on any goods that are imported for commercial, business or trade purposes. [/color] May find out more from here: http://app.ica.gov.sg/travellers/entry/dua...el.asp#dutyfree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lastdance Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 need to bring back spray so not fixing there how bout 2nd hand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk88 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 my frn fix there...come back ask painter dismantle and spray paint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 Easiest is to go www.customs.gov.sg where u can just send them an email and you will get the info u want liao . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lastdance Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 I've dropped them an email. Wonder how long they take to reply? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 pay 5% GST only if the item exceed $300 in value. aiya, ask the shop to give u 1 receipt stating Rm500 if it cost rm1000 lor.. anyway the cisco there do not bother one lah.. i always buy medicine for my grandpa n mother worth around Rm1000++ they also dun bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 U can do anything just no get caught . . . if kanna the fine is 10times the GST evaded or a certain amount depending whichever is higher . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 think they also have a hotline which u can call at office hrs which are manned by the officers . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lastdance Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 as expected call their hotline they ask me to call another number. call the other number they say should call the hotline. why am i nvr impressed with the government sector? anyway they say will get the relevant party to call me IMMEDIATELY. but as i was typing this, they redeemed themselves. got the call from them. car bodykit not dutiable. if i go malaysia and come back within 24hrs, purchases of $50 no need tax. if 2nd hand item and no receipt, tell the customs see whether they tax me or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 gd lor . . . :) if best get a black and white to avoid dispute when coming back . . . gd luck bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 As in to "declare" how much it is in the bill is ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 u know for the woodland custom, the area where u step out of yr car n open the boot, that area is meant by CISCO, further down where there are dogs and manned by younger & meaner looking officer are POLICE. The custom & Excise is in the aircon area. if u are unsure n would like to simply pay GST, just go the RED zone. Then the police there will direct u to the Custom office (but i tell u its a long wait inside.. do it during yr really leisure time) However, the CISCO, POLICE wants mainly to catch smugglers of Ciggies and Drugs and alcohol (but no 1 goes into malaysia buy cheap alcohol so they mostly skip that). Custom is only interested asking u to pay yr GST for ciggies. If it is just a few fiber parts here n there (and no cigarettes), dun bother lah.. just drive through unless the cisco or police stop u. Also wouldnt fine u, why so scared? the 1st time i buy medicine (for cholestrol etc, in singapore all need doc prescription), i became that idiot who stop car, ask cisco i wanna declared on medicine (drug).. he told me not sure if allowed, and ask me go police. police ask me go custom see if need pay GST. Go custom they ask me how much, i say around $300+, they tell me its ok... so from then on.. i can't be bothered as long as not those "drugs" that can send me to jail. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 please becareful with "cheap" medication there are fairly numerous types of fake medication around including hypertensive and lower cholesterol medication if you must check see if you can contact drug company and give them the code on the label most companies would help you not worth saving a few dollars if you cannot guarantee if the medication is actually helping you because it may be fake hope this is useful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...