Gnoikj Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Author Share June 11, 2007 Its a very big gamble! If kenna, the fine cannot be compared. The question then is why should OPC owners subject themselves to this kinda situation? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Certainly not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Author Share June 11, 2007 Thanks bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I think the word tagging is something that sounds quite offensive, like tagging a criminal... for now, something to help OPC drivers pay this $20 (whatever they call it) will be good.. maybe a cashcard reader with some indicator type.. so instead of tear coupon, just insert cashcard and autodate/time (shown on indicator) + auto deduction. Spot on! This is exactly my sentiment! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 and dat is crap if u asked me... is it necessary to haf so much info on display man.... now still want all this tagging system..... where the heck is privacy man.... talk about privacy...u all notice commercial vehicles got this sticker at both side, with the name and address of the owner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I guess most people choose to break rules/law thinking that they will not be so unlucky to be caught. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I think the word tagging is something that sounds quite offensive, like tagging a criminal... ...Agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Honestly I have none. I have thought that the current pay as you drive coupon system was working fine until I stumble upon this thread and the frenzy surrounding it. I am however aware of such cheats but not the extent of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derrick Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Agree. But sometime we hope laws can be bent not break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 True..true....even our beloved LKY bended some rules while fighting for powers in the 60's.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I'm starting this thread cos some forummers have suggested it receive due exposure on its own rather than riding on the 'OPC Offender' thread. It was going a bit OT there to be quite honest. OPC owners are a misunderstood lot most of the time. They are restricted from using the roads between 7am to 7pm weekdays. When they are seen on the roads in this period, there is a tendency for non-OPC owners to slam them as 'cheats'. Even if the OPC owner has his coupon. This has of course led to many unhappiness between the 2 kinds of car owners. You only have to check out the 'OPC Offender' thread to understand. I proposed over at that thread that an electronic system of tagging or accounting be instituted for the OPCs. My argument is that this is no different from the electronic parking lots in shopping centres or some HDB carparks. The analogy is that some people will 'cheat' by tearing less coupons and others who witness it may be unhappy and take issue to report. Same goes for OPC. Several forummers mentioned that people who report on OPC cheats are busybodies and should just get a life. Hence, my proposal that an electronic system would circumvent this problem. No one will be able to 'cheat' by not tearing coupons and if this is minimised, then lesser complaints. Your views are welcome. Please be constructive and not slam my idea/suggestion as 'Sh@i', as one forummer declared. I put up this idea with the intention to improve relationsiphs amongst road users, not cause divisions. Everything electronics are but then who are going to absorb the start-up cost? Likelihood it will be end-users like us. Eg. ERP Gantries, ERP-type carpark systems, no more flexibility in the entire system. You want this to happen? Later then public outcry will starts......hmmm isn't it another routine cycle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derrick Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Agree. Like I said earlier on, the cost will be back on us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Simple.... 1. LTA mandates installation of GPS system akin to those that tracks the oil trucks (car owner nvr know where it's installed....got reserve batt to send out if cutoff) 2. Owner registers his credit card / bank acct with LTA....At same time, owner pays a deposit amounting to 1 mths worth of OPC coupon ($20 x 20 = $400 - put $500 for safe measure) 3. As OPC driver drives during non-OPC periods, amt calc. at LTA's end. Calc. via GPS which is synchro with std clock and distance moved....panchiang panchiang let u drive 25M 4. End of month - gets bill to be paid. 5. Within 30 days, no pay, car gets possessed. And oh yeah....OPC car needs to pay installation plus mthly subscription charge for the device.... From your post it seems that you're very 'anti-OPC' by nature.....but y so? The 'red-eye' syndrome? or cos u're paying more road tax so should be entitle to the road more than others? Hmmm....doesn't make any sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I guess most people choose to break rules/law thinking that they will not be so unlucky to be caught. Agree. They feel good too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 [reply] From your post it seems that you're very 'anti-OPC' by nature.....but y so? The 'red-eye' syndrome? or cos u're paying more road tax so should be entitle to the road more than others? Hmmm....doesn't make any sense. - no lah..... only want MY FAIR RIGHT OF USE!!! nothing against OPC car users if they follow the LAW....I am absolutely OK if they pay the $20 coupon ....and it's not only road tax....still got COE rebate leh... COE determines the use of scarce resource called roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 (edited) You ever used GPS system b4 or not?it's not so simple la. you think everywhere so easy to get signal? - why need to have signal e'where. Computer only need to compute MGR differential b/w last signal and latest signal... ...can't claim car somehow magically appear somewhere else right? Even car under tow oso must put coupon, I believe, and even so, can verify wan.... ....that's all u nid... OK ler, can accept OPC car owners drive ard freely in u'grd carparks ler....no nid to be perfect, unless we put in an antenna Edited June 12, 2007 by Southpark2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 perhaps LTA could think about this should they scrap the current ERP system ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...