How Red-light Cameras Work?

Guyver

Guys.... since there's so much things about the TP... just would like to help all of us to know more to keep our points.... go to the link to see how red-light cameras work....

http://www.howstuffworks.com/red-light-camera.htm

After reading.. u know why those black lining on the roads liao..... [:)]

Edited by Admin

2 things that i've question about :

1) In US (assumption), they send the summons with the picture to the offender... is it like that in S'pore?

2) Quote : "Additionally, they are a good source of government revenue. It doesn't cost much to maintain the system once it's installed, and it works 24 hours a day, seven days a week, systematically catching violators and sending out revenue-generating traffic tickets that are really hard to contest." Wah, can said until like that ah!!

1) In US (assumption), they send the summons with the picture to the offender... is it like that in S'pore?

2) Quote : "Additionally, they are a good source of government revenue. It doesn't cost much to maintain the system once it's installed, and it works 24 hours a day, seven days a week, systematically catching violators and sending out revenue-generating traffic tickets that are really hard to contest." Wah, can said until like that ah!!

From what I've come across, in S'pore, they don't send a photo. Instead, the person to whom the car is registered gets a police summon and the owner is supposed to respond within a given number of days. And here's where the catch comes in - I've known people who have asked (even paid) others (usually those who don't drive much or have a relatively clean record) to take the fall for them. Last I heard, it's like 6 points and $150 for a 1st timer..... [:(]

In addition to being a revenue generator, redlight (and speed) cameras are also an excellent deterrent, especially if they're not working, as most of us are not willing to take the chance and find out whether the camera is actually working. As for the revenue bit, there are some places where a large portion for the income of the police force actually depends on cameras. Of course, just across the causeway..... [laugh]

Edited by Renegade

Yah man... but i think it's $200 fine and 6 demerit points.... and think licence is very important to us in S'pore... so nobody would want to try that...

Treat all camera as real, its not fake but the camera, or wiring may be spolit. Once they decide that this camera so long never produce result, they will check it...

Peace Bro [angel]

can you name some fake ones

Oh... that's easy... just assume all are fake ones.... and when u see somebody kana.. then u know that particular one is real one lor.... [laugh][laugh]

Just kidding.. pls drive with care... and always watch out for cameras when approaching junction... [nod]

Once I passed one junction where the camera just kept on flashing and flashing! Wonder why they don't use the red flashes, less binding to drivers! Imagine a person got blinded by the flash and crashed into another car... shakehead.gif

Treat all camera as real, its not fake but the camera, or wiring may be spolit. Once they decide that this camera so long never produce result, they will check it

sorry to hijack this old thread.. was wondering how long then the redlight camera be activated once light is red..?? [confused][confused]

and also.. does those TP hiding on bridge and below bridge use cameras with flash?? (was blinded by some flashes while on AYE just now..) [blush]

when amber, u can still cross the white line ....u wont kana

if already red and u still cheong white line.. think there is sensor on the road after the white line..this will activate the camera to snap ur vehicle.

the ones TP using is type of portable radar cum camera..shd be with flash..better and clearer shots

[shocked][shocked][shocked]

then i can go walk walk liao.. kena downgraded overnight!!! [bigcry][bigcry]

AYE, kena 3 big flashes.. definitely not highbeam from vehicles, becos no one behind me..

at Keppel Road.. thought can chiong across.. no flash.. but very clear that i chiong across whiteline when light is just after red liao.. [smallcry]

in sg,they dun send pics....

cos my fren tried to ask for the pic from TP and they say have to pay duno how much....