Thug Clutched June 28, 2007 Author Share June 28, 2007 That is if the owner is really one of the passenger's father. But if this is the case. Most probably the owner of the car would sue the driver for theft. But this will also involve the son becoz if the key not taken by the son...who can have easy access to the key unless a break-in. Man..r we thinking too much or this case is, by itself complicated? What if the elderly man is only the owner of the car in name, ie. the car is being used and paid for by his child, who was one of the rear passengers. But it was registered in the dad's name to pay cheaper insurance premium? Then the son let his friend (who doesn't have a license) drive the car. So in other words, registered owner authorised child to drive the car but child allowed friend who doesn't have license to drive the car? After all, it was only mentioned that the people in the rear were absolved from blame simply because they were not sitting in front. It doesn't mean that those in the rear do not have driving licenses. Nothing has been told about the age of the passenger sitting behind though. But this is also highly possible. But if i'm the car's owner's son, I would be sitting infront and not at the back. But hard to say. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 28, 2007 Author Share June 28, 2007 He was still young mah...elders dun sit there and pray... depend on how religious r they...today i dun think the mum and grandmum would go too... Ya, sad lor...really died already nobody to 'song zhong'. *sigh* Nephews and nieces are not considered your immediate family mah, after all... and yes lor, today the old folks did not go, but must be damn sad lor... Just have to wait for justice to fall upon the buggers who were in the Getz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 28, 2007 Author Share June 28, 2007 He was still young mah...elders dun sit there and pray... depend on how religious r they...today i dun think the mum and grandmum would go too... Ya, sad lor...really died already nobody to 'song zhong'. *sigh* Nephews and nieces are not considered your immediate family mah, after all... and yes lor, today the old folks did not go, but must be damn sad lor... oh ya, heard from the family they intend to keep the urn in the house. I think its good also, he can still be at home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 28, 2007 Author Share June 28, 2007 the rear passangers, being the friend(s) should noe that the driver at point of incident did not haf a valid driving licence and hence should be liable for abettment under sec 108 cap 224 of the penal code, for abetting the driver to drive without a valid driving licence. Ermm...this is not possible, because: 1. Abetment only applies to criminal offence. Driving without a licence is not a criminal offence. 2. Being a friend sitting in the car does not amount to abetment. IF he is the son of the car's owner and he gives the key to the driver knowing that the driver does not have a licence, THEN it will be considered an abetment, as per S107 C224, Exp 2 below: "Whoever, either prior to or at the time of the commission of an act, does anything in order to facilitate the commission of that act, and thereby facilitates the commission thereof, is said to aid the doing of that act." Abetment is a serious offence; once convicted, the abettor may be liable for the same punishment as per the offence committed. Punishment for such abetment is provided by law in S109 C224; S108 is the definition of an abettor, not punishment. Lastly, C224 IS the Penal Code, which is ONE chapter by itself. When you put "cap 224 of the penal code" it seems to mean that there are many sub-chapters in the Penal Code, which is wrong. You can learn more about the law here: http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/ wa biang eh...~i can never be a lawyer........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan78 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2007 Share June 28, 2007 Sad to hear of such an incident... reminds me of an accident where my fren also lost his life.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer666 Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 I feel that the roads here in SG aren't that user friendly in terms of safety. When my bro in law(who is a Swiss man) came back to visit my family members here recently, i brought him out for dinner. As i was stopping in the middle of the road (white brackets) to turn right from a main road, he was like "what the hell are u stopping in the middle like this!!!" And so i explained, this is how we do a right turn. Very much trial an error situation. I agree its dangerous! How many times do we have to high beam and horn at cars who just wanna rush that right turn eventhough the traffic is in our favour? I hope the ppl in charge would just put a stop to the turn right(trial n error)procedure! I noticed that some roads have implemented the red arrow sign and removed the brackets. Slip roads should have traffice lights too. "Give way" sign just dont work here in SG. Cos not many would. Even as we filter to the main road through the slip road, someone would be speeding just to prevent your entry. How polite... Then the farkar behind u would keep horning. In Swiss, if its green light u go. if its red, u stop. Accident free, unless u speed and knock onto something. Very robotic but safe. I am so sorry to hear about the accident. To hell with the driver who causes so much sadness to the victims' love ones. If u cant farking drive properly, take public transport. Trying to act cool, and see what happens?? Now u are a murderer. Go and paste a BIG "L" sticker on your forehead la LOSER! U are living in an island lah... how long/far can u run?? Sooner or later we would see your face in the papers. Cant wait. Driver and three passengers of other car said to have fled the scene The Straits Times BANK executive Lim Chee Kian, 28, was sound asleep in the back of his friend's car in the early hours of the morning on Saturday, when another car slammed into their vehicle. He was killed after his body was flung onto the grass verge, next to a traffic light at the junction of Jurong West Avenue 4 and Jurong West Street 64. The driver of the second car and his three passengers - all men - apparently fled the scene after the crash. But police say they have identified the driver and tracked down one of the passengers, who is helping them with their investigations. The owner of the second car, who was not driving the vehicle when the accident happened, has been contacted by the police. Mr Lim was getting a ride home at about 3am, after a night out, when the accident happened. He suffered severe head injuries and broken facial bones, and was taken to the National University Hospital, where he died at 3.15pm. Mr Lim, who was not married, lived with his parents in an HDB flat in Jurong West Street 81 - barely five minutes from where the accident happened. The driver of the car he was in, Mr Zhou Zhi Wei, 26, and the front-seat passenger, a man in his 20s, suffered fractures and are still warded in hospital. Both are also bank executives. Yesterday, Mr Zhou told Shin Min Daily News that he was keeping a straight course when he saw two cars - one red and the other black - speeding towards them from the opposite direction. 'The two cars suddenly turned at the junction without signalling or slowing down,' said Mr Zhou in Mandarin. He said the red car managed to complete the turn, but the black car slammed into the side of his vehicle, sending it careening into a lamp post before coming to a standstill. 'I was so shocked, and by the time the car stopped, I was in pain but could not move at all,' said Mr Zhou. He said that he saw four men getting out of the car. 'They left the scene while we waited for the ambulance to arrive,' he added. Police have classified the case as 'failure to give way'. Eye-witnesses or anyone with information on the accident can call the Traffic Police hotline on 1800-547-1818. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched June 29, 2007 Author Share June 29, 2007 Some junctions do haf red arrows. I believe it for busy junctions only. If every junctions have a red right turn light, then its gonna be jam every where. Coz SG is small, Swiss is different, they are big. So many ulternative route to choose from. Anyway, today my friend who was the driver is going for his operation on his hand. (Finally!) He is going nuts staying in the hospital. Yeah, the farkers should go hell immediately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) All I wanna say is that: 1.Driving without license is an offence. 2.Registered owner of car cannot shake off responsibility UNLESS his car was stolen or was taken by someone he permitted. 3.If authorised user of car passes key to another person to drive, he/she takes on the responsibility of ensuring that this other person is able and legally permitted to drive. That's all my basic understanding of what that should constitutes as 'right'. However, I do agree what's 'right' doesn't get covered under the law all the time. Edited June 29, 2007 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim22 Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 [reply] [reply] [reply] wow. can i have ur protrait? den i can hire somebody to build a statue of u to be displayed in major temples. den we no need pray at tua peh gong or guangyin liao. pray u enough cos u noe everything that others dunnoe. i salute u man. i was at de scene and i dun even noe that de driver was distracted and yet u noe. wow, i'm so amazed and fascinated by u. Your views on worshipping of idols have NO BEARING on traffic accidents..An idiot like you can't see the night from the day?...With this kind of scenarios, the all too frequent scene is being played out time and again. Paganism does not buy you any advantage in knowing the obvious even though you claimed you were at the scene. As a matter of fact, being AT THE SCENE doesn't make you any wiser. The entire post right from the beginning was skewed in the manner that the only showed that it was biased but a lot of inconsistency showed. Quoted :" Like there was not many cars but yet he claimed 'can't see the cars approaching recklessly?"...Travelling at just 70 to 80km/hr but can't tell the speed of the other cars in the opposite drections...dark at the junction?' You go figure out the rest and get wiser. Whatever u had posted is showing side towards the 2 cars. So can I suspect u been the driver of the red car? Or one of the passenger of the Black Getz? Vtoh is trying to say all ur assumptions are merely ur own assumptions. But yet u boldly express urself here. I give u credits for this. U mentioned the 1st thread shows bias. Quoted :" Like there was not many cars but yet he claimed 'can't see the cars approaching recklessly?"...Travelling at just 70 to 80km/hr but can't tell the speed of the other cars in the opposite drections...dark at the junction?' Ask u a question: What is it got to do with the speed we r going to tell the speed the cars from opps are coming towards us? I believe is none. Coz its simply very dark. Have u been to the area urself at the hour? Sit there and try to tell the speed of on coming vehicles before making this "Its a lie." "Oh..thats a lie, I can tell." kinda statement? The entire post right from the beginning was skewed in the manner that the only showed that it was biased but a lot of inconsistency showed. Why the inconsistency? Tell u why. Because at the time I posted up the thread, we had no communication with the TP and all my knowing based on my friends who just had an serious accident. All the trauma is preventing them to give me a proper statement and I'm eager to find the culprit. I can't stop or prevent u from thinking that I'm showing bias. I can only try to input my reason behind this into u. 1 point I agree with u, I did show bias in telling u guys my friend did not speed. Which eventually proofed I'm right becoz the eye-witness say so too. They are my friends! One of them was lying in ICU! My buddy is badly hurt and his family needs him! So if u can, please show some respect to the dead and injured. Get off ur comfortable chair and try to put urself in my shoe! Then u tell me if its hard or not! Thank you. .l.. ..l. So what if you had posted this thread and those involved are your frens...dead or injuried ? This give you the damn right to skewed the incident report and claimed later that you were confused at that time? A forum is used as a place to put up objective ( and supposed true and unbiased incident report ) and draw appropriate comments and opinions from the forumers. Your primary aim to to skew a incident report and to draw sympathy from forumers here. You get none from me for sure. As a matter of fact, the moment I read your first post, I already got a clear picture of what happened then. Collision happened on the road becos one or both parties are not alert and mindful of their actions when they are crossing thru junctions, making a turn, reversing or simply having parked their cars and is just opening their car doors without checking for the presence of others...these are just the few examples. Words are advice are cheap as they say...until when these unheeded words land someone in the ICU and these same ppl like their relatives and frens come calling for justice! Being the deceased's sister, am glad that this incident does not draw your cheap sympathy which we don't crave for AT ALL! To be very clear, we did not request to put up this thread and seek for sympathy. Please do not insult my late brother with your foul mouth even if you are against anyone or comments in this forum. BTW, am not so heartless, I will empathy if this accident would to happen to your family members. Please leave us alone to grieve but not make those hurtful comments to add on our misery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gtti Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Hi Jlim22.. Just ignore those ppl lah.. can't change how they wana think or say.. Pls.. you must take care wor... especially must encourage the rest of the loved ones to stride on..& look forward. just my regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirbrian Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 (edited) bloody police are always late and take thier own sweet time. I always experience this in my estate. I learned from them once that there are two classification: 1) Urgent/safety related 2) Non-urgent/non-safety related For 1), they are bound by their own directive to attend to the case within 15mins, and 2) is within 1 hour. So like I always call the stupid useless police there there are punks and the void deck making lots of loud noises at 1am, it will take them at least till 0200-0230hrs to come and chase them away. Even when I had a attempted break-in last time in my previous home, the stupid men in blue took 1 hour to come and didn't even bother to exemine the scene. Just say they will increase their patrol (sleeping maybe) as the bugger had ran off. So I won't be surprise to learned that a passing by NPC police was surprised by the extend of the accident and like some bro say, the TP (ususally short of staff too to cover the whole island) may take a longer time. But most important was that the rescue teams do come fast. Edited July 31, 2007 by Sirbrian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 hi Jlim22, sending my regards to u n family. i hope the case can end soon and you all can move on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 friend u think police only cater to ur blk nia ah? and btw hor, urgent case 15 mins and non urgent 30 mins. u think only ur void deck got young punks making noise? if they no longer around when the police arrived, u want them to do wat? go and patrol until they are found izzit? come on lah there are other cases to attend. dun make 1 stupid noise pollution seems so big fxxk like tat can? if the police as stupid and useless like u think, u think u still got chance to sit here and post or call at 1am to complaint pple making noise? i think those young punks probably go ply open all doors in ur blk or rob liao. oh ya, before u say u fund their salary; FYI all civil servant pay TAXES too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirbrian Neutral Newbie August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 (edited) Thanks for your rebuke bro. Never knew that non-urgent is 30 mins as NEVER DO THEY COME BEFORE 30 MINS! In fact I was told personally over the phone by the inspector that it is 1hour. Everyone has his own point of view or experience. If you don't like what other saying, maybe you try to place yourself in their shoes rather that f**king them. I'm just giving my comment on my experience for the past 2 YEARS on our neighbourhood police, not all of the police in the island. So assume you are one of the stupid fellow in blue uniform for my estate, f**k off and don't nag on my own point of view. Edited August 1, 2007 by Sirbrian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched January 24, 2008 Author Share January 24, 2008 It taken 6 months or so to have a verdict. A quiet one. The driver, got 2 years jail. The rest I'm not sure le. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...