Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 hello everyone, i just changed to new rims 3 weeks ago, and now the lug nuts started to rust. Is that common? Its original OZ racing ultraleggera. What is the material ah? Any idea how to remove the rust and how to prevent them in future? Appreciate all replies...thanks so much... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 If supply by the Tyre Shop.....Go back and See him Again.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 the lug nuts came together with the rims one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 Go back and Ask him Why ?..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ceratoisthebest Neutral Newbie July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 Go back ask y. And get it changed ASAP b4 yr rim fly out. A lot of possible reason. But to me i think someone did something to yr brand new rim b4 u get it. Dirty tricks. Anyway get it checked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 is it those with holes in the centre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 Your anti rust coating could be gone...I think they gave you normal nuts or use lugs. Even if its stock lugs, they dun rust. Either go back and ask the tyre shop to change or just go other tyre shops and get them replaced. Those cheap ones would cost u around $20 for the whole set...(I agar agar only ah...) Or this is a good time to spurge on those nice looking racing lugs !! (but some pple say TP fine $50 per nuts...which IMHO is NUTS !! If you are getting racing lugs, make sure its from a reputable brand and not those pariah brands...cos the latter may shear off under stress. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 i got a strong feeling that they gave you fake lugs nuts or so called not original OZ lug nuts.. if its new really cant be rusty 1.. unless you drive your car into seawater... go back and question them... wat i know is some rims dun come with lug nuts.. i got my volk racing original 16inch but it didnt come wif lug nuts.. so i paid another 100 for lug nuts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 oops..ok maybe i used the wrong words...i do mean the normal nuts that came with the rims... thanks to everyone who replied. i'm going to post some pics soon. i think i need to go back to the place where i fix my rims to ask what's wrong. i dun think anyone sabo leh...and also i dun understand why can rust so easily one...such a short period of time only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 here are the pics :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 by the way i heard that the nuts should be of the same material as the rims? cos if not may wear off prematurely due to different materials, probably shearing like what Ghostrider said although i'm not sure if he's referring to that or not... and so sorry for the super big picture man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justaname Neutral Newbie July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 (edited) bloody hell. you have the same problem with me. I'm using OZ ultraleggera bought from JT. What happen is that my lug nuts is rusty. I asked him why I'm not getting OZ lug nuts isnt that included in my purchase of the rims? He avoided my question and gave me another set of OEM lug nuts!!! It seems to me that you and I bought it at the same location. Edited July 6, 2007 by Justaname Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 bro.. i think ah.. your nuts.. really bad quaility... go back to the rim shop and demand for better nuts or change them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 ops.. you all bought from JT isit? honestly... not tat i m saying bad things.. but sometimes... he oso not tat good.. i went to him to change rims and tires... then i found out more info abt the tires he recommended and i was quite disappointed why he recommended such tires to me coz i was newbie... i mean cheap is 1 thing.. but dun anyhow recommend and say its good. as for me.. i will not be going back to his shop anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 hi bro, does my nuts look like urs when u first got it? is it the ones that came with the rims or OEM ones? About JT, are you referring to AMK Pxh Hxxg? Nope not from them, but the shop is at AMK too though. In addition, the shop owner is my father's friend so i don't think he'd cheat me/my dad. And i just remembered, i sent my car for servicing at Comfort Delgro right after changing the wheels. Do you think its possible that their spanner (or whatever they use to remove the nuts) is already rusty inside that's why make until my (wheel's) nuts become like that? Damn sad man...paid so much for the rims and now the nuts like that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 hi bro, i was just wondering how you know the nuts low quality ah? is there any indication? if i going to change, what should i look out for??? would really help if i gonna change them also for some bros above who said change to racing lug nuts, are those illegal (TP fine $50/nut ah)? i believe those that you all are talking about is the ones that are very colorful one is it...i see people have like purple or bright pink/blue nuts on their black rims... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched July 6, 2007 Share July 6, 2007 nope bro.. i m not talking abt the colourful ones... coz my volk racing dun come wif lug nuts.. then how? i m not sure if OZ give original lug nuts or you need to pay more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear July 6, 2007 Author Share July 6, 2007 what's the diff between normal nuts and lug nuts? i searched the internet but no definite answer, and the pictures in this site (http://www.stocktonwheel.com/lugs.htm) seem to suggest that what i have are lug nuts? searching for its definition show this: lug nuts - The nuts that hold the wheel onto the vehicle. You must remove them with a lug wrench to change tires. which means basically its the "screw" holding the rims. it came in a plastic bag together with all my rims so i believe its the original one... gonna make a trip down to the shop soon.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...