Panda Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 I totally agree! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 dun feel so vexed. if u dun like the system, just voice out to ur boss. there is nothing wrong. take alook at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHwLu3sHm0I relax abit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. If you are excellent, you will be headhunted.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Draft a list of your current tasks and state how much time you spend on each one in a week. make sure they add up to 40hours or more. remember, any activity that takes up your time can be listed, eg. meetings, time spent travelling to another site, phone calls, etc can all be included. then send this list to your boss asking which tasks he intend to offload from you if you take that finance task. if your boss say he can't offload any, then tell him you can't take that task. tip: list all the tasks you don't like to do so that they can get offloaded. or if you are working for an MNC, just send a mail to HR and it's settled. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 and if you are the best, you headhunt people. (cos you're the boss) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 First, talk privately to your boss, point out that it's not within your job scope (OK, try your best, because most employers don't like to hear the "not my job" phrase). 1st warning. If it continues, bring it up again, and say if no change, then you bring up this issue with HR. 2nd warning. OK, if nothing happens, then bring up to HR - then refuse to do the duty that you feel is dumped on you. Be careful here though, you need to document everything that transpired, or else the company turns around and say you're "insubordinate" - and this can be cause for termination (but then, this solves your problem, doesn't it?) I would say, look around for another job - any job will do for now - if your aim is to get away from this 'dumping' situation. Then next job, learn to 'tai-chi' everything, stay 'under the radar', start from a new beginning. Because once you start to accept irrelevant jobs that are 'dumped' on you, there's no end to it, and your kindness/understanding will always be abused Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Quote remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. If you are excellent, you will be headhunted.. no need to be excellent to be headhunted... as long as you are good AND people outside your organisation know this, its enuf.. unless of course if you referring to be headhunted by PM to run his cabinet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Author Share August 7, 2007 (edited) Hey hey, not only me surfing net, I saw a many ppl (they claimed that they are very busy everyday one) even play games hor.. managers also... so this is nothing new in our company liao.. all act blur sotongly but work brightly... Btw, their pay is double to my pay.. They come work late, seldomly back home early.. So what's the problem.... They can do the above while I can't??? Hihi, we are not manager level not even reach senior yet... I just hated it when someone complaints abt her own job & make all management levels personnel headache then they start to throw other dept job to my dept.. (happen a few times already). As I'm consider youngest in this dept, I'm the one they will throw the sxxt to me 1st... When I don't have time to do my own jobs, I get penalise... when they no do their job, I get penalise (happen once) No backup for me when I go oversea, come back, do like gila woman... documents must be out in time, so no matter where am I, I die my soul also got to come back & do.. Boss know but he did not do anything... Sometimes, he appears as very understanding & kind boss, but seldomly, he appears as unreasonable & unkind boss.. To me, he still a good boss lah, he never wanna control our movement, even allow us to have breakfast before starting work... hmm, I wanna say " I don't want to take out dept work to do.. that's not my responsibility". Do something which is value added, but this is not something value added to me.! The credit is belongs to Finance... not mine... but if wrongly done, I get the hell from it ... Edited August 7, 2007 by Ms_tan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 Why not hint to management that they can easily hire TWO fresh graduates to do the job of the existing finance lady salary? u mean one pay/2?? this is what the highly educated fresh graduates can get? is this how u 'cheapen' your fellow MATE??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 stand firm..say u are bz...and list the work u haf online... 'exaggerating' in the process judging at the time she posted the thread, she seems not that busy afterall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. then i m quite good lor... take sxxt, at the same time throw sxxt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 Difficult to reject can you take pay LL have to swallow it. I got a shithole from my ex colleague as well. He screwed the whole thing up and I have to clean up the mess now. I have nothing against ang mohs but I really do think alot of ang mohs all pian jia one... talk very good but do work all buay gan one no wonder there is a saying: ANG MOH JIAK GAO SAI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 after that... kana sack... Y? cos she really that free mah.... the list including post in MCF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picantorian Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 (edited) If you really feel that you should not be taking on the extra load, I would suggest that you may want to talk to your boss about the situation. However, all talk is no use, you need to show him something to back up your claims. You need facts and figures. You need to think like a boss and try to see things in his view, and turn it to your advantage. Lastly, you need to play by ear a little, looking at his body language etc.If all else fails and you have so much grouses, either you stay on for the sake of your family, or you leave for greener pastures. No point going to work daily with so much unhappiness lingering, your life just gets worse and more miserable. Hope it helps. Edited August 7, 2007 by Picantorian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Author Share August 7, 2007 I don't think that existing finance lady holding high education cert but she has experience, cos the 1st retrechment did not retrech her (management retreched the company that we've bought over)... She is lucky that time... Hmm, she has stir many troubles & I (very black hearted) do hope this time round, the company will 'chase' her away... Heard many engineers told me that she got attitude problem, even dare to step on Engineer manager's tail... Arrows shooting here & there many times liao... Don't understand why a trouble maker can still make it till now... ... Troublemaker & a non-troublemaker : Troublemaker makes ppl days like hell, able or not able to fulfill work with deadline (I'm not sure). Non-troublemaker do no harm to others, able to fulfil work with deadline but surf net. Company prefer?? Care to share... I don't wish to make the situation worst for both my boss & myself. But I really cannot take it like I've mentioned earlier when I started this topic. I really need & want my boss to know how I feel... Thou I know, I'm sure that I can fulfill this task to me, but I simply just cannot swallow saliva just like tat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 after reading all your post in this thread, i hereby honour you with 3 little words: TRUE BLUE SINGAPOREAN - like to complaint u jolly well know that you will be tking over the job and there is no way you could reject it, even tok to your boss may also seems no diff, so Y complaint, bite the bullet and move on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Author Share August 7, 2007 Draft a list of your current tasks and state how much time you spend on each one in a week. make sure they add up to 40hours or more. remember, any activity that takes up your time can be listed, eg. meetings, time spent travelling to another site, phone calls, etc can all be included. then send this list to your boss asking which tasks he intend to offload from you if you take that finance task. if your boss say he can't offload any, then tell him you can't take that task. tip: list all the tasks you don't like to do so that they can get offloaded. or if you are working for an MNC, just send a mail to HR and it's settled. Yes, I heard my company is an MNC but hor, the benefits here are sucks! & the HR won't do work even any complains they recevied... so is always wat the staffs here been doing... It's so embarrassing to say that ours is an MNC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 then why are you sticking around? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...