Same old Problem: buy new or used (pls help)

Duffy

dear bros,

i know this have been ask upteen times and would still appreciate kind advise:

would not mind used car and if so will assume stocked car and everyting ok oso same make and brand just new or used.... mainly on depre and cost.... i know there are table which some bro out there have provided but believe me when it comes to deciding, extra comment or advise is still apprecaited.

Both will loan full amt and max year and interest at 2.5 new and 2.9 used.

a)new car price 80k, omv 21k, coe 17k

b)used car 2.5 yr old price 63k,omv 29k coe 16k

c)used car 3 r old price 60k, omv31k coe 23.5k

both used car assume will both be either scrap or export b4 7th yr. new car assume export b4 5th yr. body assume 5k.

if possible how much to top up or get back if scrapped or export.

thks in advance.

Are you saying 2.98% for used car? My friend just took a used car loan from UOB at 3.18% up to 9 yrs. At 2.98%, can share which finance co.

I will take a used car anytime if it is already available in the market for a couple of years. If you are going for a pretty new model, don't have a choice but go for a new one.

Edited by Amazon777

Thks bros who replied.

The % for used car are just some figure,will assume used car 3.18%.

can any bros advise on the depre between new and used and is the used car worth to buy if driveing pass the "5th" yr period till about 7th yr cos I know scrap b4 5th yr will have higher scrap value.

how is the depre for both used like compare to new cos cos for new with max loan and tenure will take almost 7.5 yr to breakeven whereas used with slighly higher omv and coe should be able to breakeven around 3-4 yr.

(just to bro who say dont buy if take max loan, for info, I did have cash but using for other area which have higher interest)

Thks

dear bros,

i know this have been ask upteen times and would still appreciate kind advise:

would not mind used car and if so will assume stocked car and everyting ok oso same make and brand just new or used.... mainly on depre and cost.... i know there are table which some bro out there have provided but believe me when it comes to deciding, extra comment or advise is still apprecaited.

Both will loan full amt and max year and interest at 2.5 new and 2.9 used.

a)new car price 80k, omv 21k, coe 17k

b)used car 2.5 yr old price 63k,omv 29k coe 16k

c)used car 3 r old price 60k, omv31k coe 23.5k

both used car assume will both be either scrap or export b4 7th yr. new car assume export b4 5th yr. body assume 5k.

if possible how much to top up or get back if scrapped or export.

thks in advance.

If you foresee changing car within 2yrs or less ... get used.

If 3yrs and above ..... get new.

Bro... a lot of factors in play. To be honest, I'd go for C and try to nego the price down so that the sale price is very close to Paper Value + Body. I bought an 04 April Honda Jazz 1 year ago at $41k from owner. Maxed out loan and term. Monthly premium was $610 nett. I broke even last month and exported it. I was very surprised that I managed to break even after sucha short while. Paper rebate + body = Outstanding loan. Bottomline is... if you're buying a 04 to early 05 vehicle, u're somewhat protected by the high paper value when you feel it's time to relinquish the ownership of your car.

Nowadays, dealers will typically advise you to get a 05/06 model and tell u that an 05/06 model goes by depreciation rather than the low paper rebate. I personally think it's bxxxxxxt, especially if u're selling it in times of economic downturn... u go and ask them to take back the vehicle based on 'depreciation'... just see what crap prices they'll offer you.

second Landex. Full & max loan not advisable, live within one's means, u never noe what happen few yrs down, economic downturn, will that affect yr income??!!!

wohs!!

darn konfusin u' ve said..

2 words..

wan to buy PI cars....

look for AH GUYVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

he is the GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD stuff!!!

thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

5 yrs...

AR BARK KART.....

if wan to survive.... down hard..

best is pay cash..... den can squeeze them darn hard...

till they KPKB!!

flowerface.gifflowerface.gifflowerface.gifflowerface.gif

STEADY POOON PEEE PEEEEEEE!!!

we've got another sensible guy around!!

thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

dun let those fiakers milk us suka suka..

time to squeeze their bolahs!!!!

flowerface.gifflowerface.gifflowerface.gif

Just sharing on income vs car price to be prudent. Just a guide, loan less than 7 -5years at 70% to 80%. Well, oso have friends that paid off in cash or only one-year loan which is min requirement by BM or others.

income abv $200K = >2.0 to 3.0litre car

income abv $100K-200K= 2.0litre car

income $70K -$98K=<2.0 to 1.6 litre car

income $$60-$70K =<1.6 to 1.3 litre car

income $$50k to $60K = <1.3

income $40-$50Kto =1.3 to 1.0 lite car

that is factor into all the monthly maintenance, insurance, petrol, road tax, car parking etc...

I have known of investment bankers making $0.5M/yr and don't drive, prefer to take MRT to Raffles place for convenient, no need to find parking and always on time to office.

Also a senior level exec abt $450K/yr only driving Volvo S60 and another $250K driving Altis.

Why? These are financially very savvy people who know that car depreciates , and rather use the money saved to invest further to increase the wealth even more! And planning to retire at 45 or 50 years old. It is very common for such prudent people which always believe in using $$$ to make more $$$.

just sharing, 2 cents worth of thot!

bro Landex, this is just a guide only lah....... if those who are financially very savvy and prudence or disciplined, they use $$$ to make more $$$ lah,,,,,,,

do understand many people out there still prefer to spend 30% of annual income (take high or max loan) on car which to those financial savvy people they will not do.

Generally, to be on the very safe side of affording a car, not more than 15% of annual income ....... rest of $$ invest in some $$ making stock or whatever.....