Qpik Supercharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 not frequent but there are very heavy downpour in SG once a while. And i appreciate those that on the hazard light becuz there are times i really can't see the front at all.... I duno abt others but i happened to be caught in these type of torrential rain along the ECP a few times. Yes, I also agree with you. Happened to encounter a few real bad ones. Observe that car who activated their fog lights also no use. More effective to activate hazzard light. But, also noticed that there's a high percentage of moron driver who still tailgate/speeding under conditions where you can't even see the vehicles in front. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) Same la...get slapped by a stranger it's also not within legal rights for police to arrest the culprit right? It's also not an offence for lorries or motorbikes to travel in Lane 1 as long as they're not road hogging and not speeding. Such a situation is definitely possible. Driving without headlights on in heavy rain or poor visibility is not legally wrong too. The law states from 7pm to 7am. A lot of things, not necessary to spell out in B&W before ppl can define it as (I don't want to say right or wrong), proper or improper behaviour. Edited September 14, 2007 by Icekitten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Ahhh...but in an situation when i kenna whacked from behind when my hazard lights are on, the driver who rammed into my arse can't claim that i was doing something illegal but have to suck thumb.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) That means your hazard lights are ineffective in keeping reckless/kuku drivers away? Likely situation is he won't ram into you but someone else. Now we don't come to the point where it's right or wrong. That will have no end to it. Point is hazard lights while driving in low visibiliy is an unnecessary gesture. If anyone decides it's necessary, pls have the decency to keep left so that drivers who want to avoid him can overtake from the right. I for one, won't want to stay behind or near such a car with hazard lights on while on the move. If the driver intends to filter at any point and forgets he has his hazard lights switched on, and doesn't do the necessary gestures to indicate clearly to others his intention to filter, I don't want to be part of an accident scene. Edited September 14, 2007 by Icekitten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Yah....i'll be improper too... somehow i'm not surprised.. and we're wondering why SG is such a "fine" country, bcos of the many like you.. who either just dun care to do the proper, or are ignorant, or just plain kiasu.. and end up have to let the govt lay down the law first for every itty bitty thing before we will do it right.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 I already checked with TP. Driving with hazard lights on in adverse weather conditions (eg. very heavy rain with low visibility) is NOT an offence. woots. kudos to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Can someone confirm if driving with highbeam on at any time of the day is an offence or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 I already checked with TP. Driving with hazard lights on in adverse weather conditions (eg. very heavy rain with low visibility) is NOT an offence. Finally, it has been clarified Thanks for your effort Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Jeez..get off your high horse there... In the event of an accident, when you ram into someone's arse, and he claims against you, I wonder if you'll still feel the same... Judge me all you want...but then again, I dun see a halo on your head or unless you are a burning talking bush... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 haha.. stick & stones.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Same to you...u called me "ppl like u"...wonder if you noticed that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) ya, but i talking about the things that you do.. not name calling.. duh.. wanna argue, argue the points, not the person.. Edited September 14, 2007 by Philiplolc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Funny leh...when did i call you names? Argue points? Ok lor...TP say use hazard light in poor visibility NOT an offence...so was I wrong to state that I could do that? U say ppl like me cause Singapore to be a 'fine' country...u judging me already mah..right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 then wat does "get off your high horse" mean? i told u other countries deem it illegal for turning on hazard lights in a rainstorm, and also gave u reasons why it is wrong to do so, and the numerous ppl who also think this is wrong, .. all these info easily googled.. which lead to the conclusion that hazard lights in rain storm is not right.. i also gave reasons why ppl still do it.. irregardless of whether its illegal or not in SG, its still not right.. which means wat? ppl here will still do wats not right until our govt makes it illegal.. so the answer is yes.. you are wrong to state that you could do that, and yes, i'm judging you already.. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 I find it amusing that you can accuse me of turning this into a 'fine' country and turn around to display the same attitude with regard to IPPT and RT... Read your own posts on this...Aug 22, on the IPPT timing... Doesn;t this just stink of hypocrisy??? [Toyo] Re: 2.4km Time [in reply to] Reply "With Quote" -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- best i ever did was during bmt in the late 80's.. 9.48.. last time i timed myself 10 yrs ago was 18mins.. kinda gave up going to ippt after that.. oh, and in case if this helps, not sure if it will still work as i'm out, no more ippt.. after being charged 2 times for missing ippt, i found a loop hole for rt.. for those who've done rt before, you'll know in the 1st rt its mainly briefing where they'll tell you about how if you got emergency or watever & can't make it for a particular rt lesson, don't call, don't write letter, don't do anything.. just turn up the next lesson and schedule a make-up lesson.. and if you miss 4 lessons, you'll be out of course and sent back to unit.. so basically, 1) turn up for the 1st rt lesson.. (very important to turn up for 1st lesson.. then they can't charge you for awol) 2) skip the next 4 and you're out of course and referred back to unit where they'll re-schedule your rt.. 3) and with the army standard, the re-schedule takes 4-6 mths.. 4) by which time its already next in-camp do ippt again, or do the same thing above again and kenna re-schedule.. i did that for 5 yrs.. always the running killed me never could pass.. so hope this still will work and it helps someone.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Can someone confirm if driving with highbeam on at any time of the day is an offence or not? high beaming is an offensive act. but i do not bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 haha.. bringing something totally unrelated to argue your point.. the reason is simple.. its phsyically too torturous for me to pass that i have find a workaround.. and also, there's a reason why its called a "hazard light".. its not called a "low visibility light" or "rainstorm light".. the definition of "hazard lights" already tell you what its for.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Same to you...u called me "ppl like u"...wonder if you noticed that... this sounds like stereotyping. no point debating with such person. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...