Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 (edited) came abit late but juz my 2 cents contribution =) i'm on my macbook (laptop tho) so far, seldom encounter problems, all applications can run smoothly (almost no hangs) i am pretty sick of trouble shooting and system dying on me when i was on windows haha lesser chance of catching virus too and faster in terms of internet and response. if u are looking more into video/music/graphical stuff, mac is a better choice. 3k budget can get a fairly good one i guess Edited October 4, 2007 by Strawberrypink ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 If you are a gamer, you'd be better off with a Windows PC. Agree .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Not misleading anyone here.Mac hardly hangs. That's a simple fact. I did not way won't hang. Your G5 might hang more frequently than other Macs. On the average, a Mac hangs much, much less frequently than a windoze machine. Like you say, depends on what s/w you're using. Usually it is the user who screws up. Not to suggest that you cause your G5 to hang loose. A simple re-install usually fixes the prob. Apple have regular update patches too. Thread starter's query is very much like buy Jap/Asian car or conti car? If a motoring enthusiast keeps a closed mind about Conti, he'll never take the leap of faith. Ppl keep thinking and passing erroneous info about more ex to buy and maintain conti car. Spares of conti more ex. Higher FC, etc.......... Anyway all new Macs have 'Intel Inside' now. It's a 2-in-1 machine. That justifies a little premium to pay for the niffy machine. Some Mac users also claim Mac's a babe magnet! That's a bonus. *LOL* So Jap cars which people believe or assume to be more reliable = Mac? And Conti = Window PC? Or otherwise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Likewise, a windows PC does not hang as often as one may think. Its usually the user. Not the machine. I'm running my own sideline fixing pple's com @ their home for years liao. From my observation, 90% of the problems comes from the user themselves. Not the machine or software. For my Windows PC, I don't run an anti virus programs for years and nothing has happened. I think it has hanged on me only a few times the entire year. Reason: I run some game hacking programs or overclocking the hardware thats y. So I would not say which is good. For some things, my G5 performs like some God given thing, for some, i prefer the Windows. Agree with you .... I do my due diligence in maintaining my system .... so far I can't remember when is the last time that I need to "hard reset" my Window PC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 What you say is very true indeed. Sure, Macs are more expensive than run-of-the-mill Sim Lim unbranded PCs, but they are solid as a rock. What I don't like about Mac is that .... the PC parts is built-in together with the Monitor!! So I can't just buy those I like. But I use my friend's Mac with the 30 inch LCD .... WAH!! When I see the price ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 what about a laptop?i check the web and there's a macbook. around 2.5k. desptop or laptop actually make no diff to me. cos i will be still using it at home only! got to see which 1 more worth it for it's price * 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo * 1GB memory * 160GB hard drive1 * Double-layer SuperDrive Have you considered the Mac Mini? I am considering getting one to replace my desktop PC. Hey bro ... If you keen .... let's consider doing Mac Parallel Import .... want or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 i do not have Macs at the moment but preparing to get a Macbook and iMac for photographic and some media works. All my stuff that I bought or use now is Mac Compliant and formated using FAT32 which is supported by Mac as well. But mostly, I'm using NAS which supports both SMB and AFP. So, I'm already geared up in my back end system to support these changes. Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 If you keen .... let's consider doing Mac Parallel Import .... want or not? Is it much cheaper than if I were to buy from AppleStore SG? I thought the prices are pretty much similar because of Apple's tight pricing controls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 5, 2007 Author Share October 5, 2007 hey bro. you also got bring in mac via import ah? give a quote leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 5, 2007 Author Share October 5, 2007 i heard 1 of my friend saying his uncle work in mac which he can get a 15% discount staff price. so let's say 3k. 15% - Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 I always buy from SGL (Sim Lim Square). Their prices are generally 10% lower than Apple Store... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Is it the famous Apple shop on the second floor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleman 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Eh? Not clear enuf? What proportion of Jap vs conti? What proportion of Win vs Mac? MCF folks - Jap/Asian-make owners - keep asking about Conti, but afraid to plunge due to hear-say negative comments of Conti. Even when conti owners assure them, they're not convinced enough to take the plunge. Similarly Windoze users make enquiries about Mac. But still uneasy about paying a slight premium for a more robust OS. In the end, stick to the familiar, warts and all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 nah... now macs are so affordable compared with PC. rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleman 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Yep, the one at the bridge to OG. Friendly service. Pocket-friendlier prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleman 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 Sure, Macs are much more affordable these days. Cheapest MB is just below $1900/- But compared to entry-level notebooks, there's still a gap. Ppl go for price, but forgot that for the weight. And the applications that come resident in a Mac. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 5, 2007 Author Share October 5, 2007 but i still wonder is the macbook 13inch good enough? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 5, 2007 Share October 5, 2007 hey bro.you also got bring in mac via import ah? give a quote leh No lah .... asking lah ... but like Sfhuang said ... their price is controlled ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...