Weichien Clutched October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 hi bros and sis thinking of changing my computer. my current 1 is 6year old already and is hopeless. went to sim lim to look around. imac seems good, but a little more expensive. but good stuff doesn't always come cheap yea. wonder anyone using mac here? what is the pro and con. i ever play around with it but it's not mine! any bro care to add something about mac? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 I have not touched a windows computer for around 10 years and I own 6 Apple computers. What is your specific use for a computer? What software do you always use? What type of files do you always receive? From there we can better advise whether a Mac suits you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 If you are a gamer, you'd be better off with a Windows PC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 4, 2007 Author Share October 4, 2007 i don't play games. but i need to be online very often. meaning the computer will only have it's rest day on sat and sunday.!!! oh yah i only play 1 game. which is football manager. i understand that a mac can run windows so it doesn't worry me much not having a chance to play my fm if it's not possible to run this game on mac. but it will be a waste if i buy a mac and run on windows. what's the purpose. i actually like the format of mac. fast, good nice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 (edited) I think Macs are still very strong at multimedia (graphics & audio). But for other things, I think Windoze are still better. Edited October 4, 2007 by Lexxmexx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 4, 2007 Author Share October 4, 2007 what about the price? is it worth it's price for mac? is it overprice? i'm only looking max 3k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 From what you have described about your usage, you are basically going to use it for net surfing and possibly some general documentation and email. I think the Macs will be an overkill for you unless you are loaded I think you are looking at desktop computers, right? Your budget of $3k can get you a very powerful Windoze based PC liao. BTW, running Windoze on Mac machines is undermining the power of the Macs. It's like putting a Ferrari in the middle of an CTE jam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched October 4, 2007 Author Share October 4, 2007 what about a laptop? i check the web and there's a macbook. around 2.5k. desptop or laptop actually make no diff to me. cos i will be still using it at home only! got to see which 1 more worth it for it's price * 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo * 1GB memory * 160GB hard drive1 * Double-layer SuperDrive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Before changing to mac, you will need to ask yourself these few questions: - What kind of software are you using? Are they Mac compatible? - Are you ready to spend time to learn how to use the Mac proficiently? - Do you often exchange files on various computers? - Are you willing to spend more money on Mac software? I'm both a Mac & PC user as I'm working in the media industry. Therefore, I cannot really say which is better. It all depends on what you want from your computer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Why Mac is strong in the graphics department is because the way Mac displays colour on the monitor is using CMYK, and CMYK is what many industrial printers and even home printers are using. That is why the colour representation is often more accurate. Windows uses RGB to generate colours on the screen, thus there is often a colour issue when it comes to industrial print standards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleman 1st Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Take the plunge. Go Mac. You'll not regret. Check with MUGS: http://www.macusersg.org/forums/ There's even a healthy Mac user community in HWZ. Mac hardly ever hangs. No worries of virus. Being more expensive is a myth. Ppl are used to chiong software abundantly available in the windoze world. Be HIP: Honour Intellectual Property. What windoze can do, Mac can do also. Only better. There are sharewares around too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 FYI, a windows based machine or Mac based machines are no different now as they now both use the same type of hardware eg: - Processor: made by Intel - Harddisk: made by Seagate/Hitachi/Western digital etc - DDR2 RAM: made by many OEM manufacturers like Kingston, Twinmos, Cosair etc ....u get the drift? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Eh, dun mislead pple leh, my G5 os X also hang every now and then leh. Better or not will have to depend on which software. Certain software, windows performs better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleman 1st Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Not misleading anyone here. Mac hardly hangs. That's a simple fact. I did not way won't hang. Your G5 might hang more frequently than other Macs. On the average, a Mac hangs much, much less frequently than a windoze machine. Like you say, depends on what s/w you're using. Usually it is the user who screws up. Not to suggest that you cause your G5 to hang loose. A simple re-install usually fixes the prob. Apple have regular update patches too. Thread starter's query is very much like buy Jap/Asian car or conti car? If a motoring enthusiast keeps a closed mind about Conti, he'll never take the leap of faith. Ppl keep thinking and passing erroneous info about more ex to buy and maintain conti car. Spares of conti more ex. Higher FC, etc.......... Anyway all new Macs have 'Intel Inside' now. It's a 2-in-1 machine. That justifies a little premium to pay for the niffy machine. Some Mac users also claim Mac's a babe magnet! That's a bonus. *LOL* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 Likewise, a windows PC does not hang as often as one may think. Its usually the user. Not the machine. I'm running my own sideline fixing pple's com @ their home for years liao. From my observation, 90% of the problems comes from the user themselves. Not the machine or software. For my Windows PC, I don't run an anti virus programs for years and nothing has happened. I think it has hanged on me only a few times the entire year. Reason: I run some game hacking programs or overclocking the hardware thats y. So I would not say which is good. For some things, my G5 performs like some God given thing, for some, i prefer the Windows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 hi bros and sisthinking of changing my computer. my current 1 is 6year old already and is hopeless. went to sim lim to look around. imac seems good, but a little more expensive. but good stuff doesn't always come cheap yea. wonder anyone using mac here? what is the pro and con. i ever play around with it but it's not mine! any bro care to add something about mac? With a PC, you spend more time being an engineer than as a user. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elriond Neutral Newbie October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 tat is certainly true... as for some1 saying mac being a chick magnet, true to a certain extent... 'cos i don't think a macbook is a chick magnet nowadays... more and more ppl using it and carrying it around... whereas the latest iMac model will definitely raise a few eyebrows if you haf female visitors... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched October 4, 2007 Share October 4, 2007 bro..i think its not very true la... i agree tat it really boils down to how you treat your comp and take care of it. of course you mustnt anyhow install stuff and know wat ur doing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...