Ahbengdriver 6th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Well if u drive at 110kmh, u can reach KL in 4 to 4.5 hours. So if all the way to penang, 8 to 8.5 hrs is possible at that speed. I am more int to know the highways between KL >> penang, got polis toll collectors or not , bcos I dont intend to drive at 110kmh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 1. From 2nd link Malaysian immigration to Penang is about 750+ km. At consistent speed of 110km/h.... 8 hours (plus minus some traffic and stoppages at toll plaza) is reasonable without any pit stop. 2. If you drive up north often, you'll know that once you pass the first PLUS toll plaza (i think its around Kulai or Simpang Pulai or before that... cant remember) to pick up your ticket; after 2 small toll plaza from 2nd link, you wont hit another toll plaza until you reach Ipoh. So, getting TNG stored value means having your money lock up in the card unless you drive to Malaysia often. Anyway, i dont think the queue at toll plaza is that long... waiting time is usually less than 5 mins, unless you hit peak hour traffic in which case, TNG also has long queue. In any case TNG card can be bought at some toll plaza exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Well if u drive at 110kmh, u can reach KL in 4 to 4.5 hours. So if all the way to penang, 8 to 8.5 hrs is possible at that speed. I am more int to know the highways between KL >> penang, got polis toll collectors or not , bcos I dont intend to drive at 110kmh I see, It looks like I can go straight to Penang without stopping in KL or PD, if I can get there in less than 6 hours. I usually take about 3 hours or so to reach KL. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 from my experience, Johor has lots of speed cameras. Then malacca is peaceful. Negri Sembilan (Seremban) can speed all the way... no police at all. Selangor (before KL) has lots of speed camera. After KL, you hit Perak (after Tanjung Malim/Slim River heading into Bidor/Tapah) which is the most dangerous state (i'd say between Tapah and Taiping) with many speed traps and police on the highway. All the way till you pass Taiping, then its peaceful again till you hit Parit Buntar/Nibong Tebal (Penang state territory)... then becareful, until you reach Penang bridge. The road between Ipoh toll plaza and Nibong Tebal is Cangkat Jering highway where you can test you car's power up hill and downhill, winding roads... but speed limit is only 90km/h. Inexperience driver should drive carefully otherwise you go down the ravine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Wanna speed.... then go in the wee hours and you can do any speed you like w/o getting a ticket..... If its holiday.... the traffic police also damn on (no its the opposite, they dun go holiday too) .... 7:45am already have road block with bench setup.... I kena just before Malacca Air Keroh exit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 (edited) Yeap agree. I go up to KL, genting, etc pretty often so I can recite the speed trap areas in my dreams liao, having paid some gratuity over time . of cos the polis also know the game and they sometimes shifts their positions +/- so even if u have GPS its not always 'safe'. I have lesser experience from after KL to the northern parts. I normally take some idea from MY cars, if I see 3 or 4 cars cheonging , I just follow. die die lah Ok thanks for your sharing, when I come back I let you know how much i donated to the Polis salary. Edited November 1, 2007 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 if u go early(and I mean early) when traffic is light on NSH and those Polis hasnt start 'work', u can reach KL in 2 hours or 2 and quarter hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 nearest will be hatyai, lots of malaysian tourist there Any attractions there beside temples? Thought of going there without spending a night. Alternatively, just touched and go at the border and back. Wife is not very keen in going to Thailand. She told me Hatyai was bombed several times by terrorist at tourist spots. Regards, shopping and lots of shopping there isn't much @ the border, lots of shophouses but you can still go there to see see look look ... have a short experience since your so near ... when i visited hatyai on my previous trip, there was bombing in southern thailand on the day before ... i saw lots of military police petrol the area but i do feel safe on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 and its much cooler to drive in the wee wee hour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 (edited) if you guys dun mind business class hotel in the city, i.e. without a pool, Cititel is not bad. Got this really good authentic jap restaurant at ground floor. Kirishima. Edited November 1, 2007 by Rskeisuke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 1. From 2nd link Malaysian immigration to Penang is about 750+ km. At consistent speed of 110km/h.... 8 hours (plus minus some traffic and stoppages at toll plaza) is reasonable without any pit stop. 2. If you drive up north often, you'll know that once you pass the first PLUS toll plaza (i think its around Kulai or Simpang Pulai or before that... cant remember) to pick up your ticket; after 2 small toll plaza from 2nd link, you wont hit another toll plaza until you reach Ipoh. So, getting TNG stored value means having your money lock up in the card unless you drive to Malaysia often. Anyway, i dont think the queue at toll plaza is that long... waiting time is usually less than 5 mins, unless you hit peak hour traffic in which case, TNG also has long queue. In any case TNG card can be bought at some toll plaza exit. 1. I go in almost every weekend. SG is just too expensive to shop and dine. 2. I somehow enjoy driving long distances and it kills my joys to take out RM at the toll and line up to pay. With TNG, I just touched and sped off. Very rarely you see TNG queue pile up as compared with those cash paying counters. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenixth Neutral Newbie November 1, 2007 Author Share November 1, 2007 Thanks Miles. I'm going to Penang next week. Would definitely try the tram to Penang Hill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 Yeap agree. I go up to KL, genting, etc pretty often so I can recite the speed trap areas in my dreams liao, having paid some gratuity over time . of cos the polis also know the game and they sometimes shifts their positions +/- so even if u have GPS its not always 'safe'. I have lesser experience from after KL to the northern parts. I normally take some idea from MY cars, if I see 3 or 4 cars cheonging , I just follow. die die lah Ok thanks for your sharing, when I come back I let you know how much i donated to the Polis salary. 1. Not that I talk big or what, I've never kena any speeding fines for the past few years of running on NSH. I run at the kind of speed I feel comfortable with all this while. I don't pay attention whether there are camera or polis cars on the road and I don't like to travel at night or during wee wee hours. 2. However, lately I kena one incident, which I've posted a thread here but I didn't get any feedback from the bros here and here it goes: "Yesterday went Melaka for one day shopping, Tesco, Mahkota and the one opposite. As known, Melaka is about 200Km away. At about 130Km or so, Someone emerged from the Road Shoulder from the left hand side behind a big truck suddenly shot a very glaring LIGHT at me in bright day light! So dangerously blinding the light is! So glaring that my vision was "blinded" for a second. Hence, I felt this is a very dangerous approach. I was running slowly like 130Km/h then. Don't know whether it is one those camera trap. I was expecting some road block ahead but nothing happened. Drove back also didn't kena stop along the way. I've never kena speeding fine in MY before so what should I be expecting? Anyone know?" Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 if u go early(and I mean early) when traffic is light on NSH and those Polis hasnt start 'work', u can reach KL in 2 hours or 2 and quarter hours That has been the standard time I took to reach there. As I've said, I only run during the day. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 nearest will be hatyai, lots of malaysian tourist there Any attractions there beside temples? Thought of going there without spending a night. Alternatively, just touched and go at the border and back. Wife is not very keen in going to Thailand. She told me Hatyai was bombed several times by terrorist at tourist spots. Regards, shopping and lots of shopping there isn't much @ the border, lots of shophouses but you can still go there to see see look look ... have a short experience since your so near ... when i visited hatyai on my previous trip, there was bombing in southern thailand on the day before ... i saw lots of military police petrol the area but i do feel safe on the road You know women lar, scare this scare that. Unless, I can convince her that there are nice shopping places there, it may work lor . Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear November 1, 2007 Share November 1, 2007 tell her that stuff in thailand is cheaper then malaysia ... sure can get most women attention Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 5, 2007 Share November 5, 2007 Its safe, no worries. Will be driving there for the 2nd time on the 20th Dec, staying 2 nites there. When coming back, can try the car ferry to Butterworth... I'll be driving up on the 21st Dec..... miss you by a day, else can drive up together.... Staying there for 6 nights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear November 5, 2007 Share November 5, 2007 Wow...6 days in a row! Where will you be staying? I'm staying Evergreen... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...