Kenlinliu1419

SURVEY: Folding Someone's Door mirrors  

98 members have voted

1. 1.

• Fold other car's mirror
    • Fold your own car's mirror
    • Fold each car's mirrors
    • Never fold at all & squeeze between them

u r a fuuuck up driver, 1st time i know of someone go fold other people mirror. DAMN FuuuCking SELFISH

FOLD UR 1ST!!!! if cant go out than gently fold the other car! some mirror cant be fold at all & u might spoil it!

What's wrong with folding a mirror? Don't you know original mirrors are designed to fold/ or at least bend on impact?

You are hyped up to the extent like someone is folding your lan jiao.

Of course, I have to admit some louya aftermarket cosmetic mirrors will not fold at all, like many taiwanese examples, but the owner is partly at fault for putting his car at risk. A sideway brush with a bike or a pillar could rip the screwholes of the window frame. That's chance users with louya cosmetic mirrors will have to take.

Even motorised mirrors will bend, if the source is not louya.

I'm also inviting anyone to fold mine too. Who cares! Almost all wing mirrors are designed to folder both directions. Am not so sure about motorised type though.

If vehicle next door parking properly, 99% of the time no need to fold any mirrors. If I'm next to pillar, bo bian have to park nearer, then folder own mirror before deciding if necessary to fold the other vehicle's mirror. Fold better than knock into it while opening door right? Some of you guys really very hyped about people having any form of contact with your vehicle hor? [lipsrsealed] It's just a goddamn vehicle lah. Mechanics also touch your vehicle with greasy fingers what. [hur]

disagree, not sure if you park in open space car parks before. There are killlifes out there who walk between cars as a 'shortcut', and because they are too fat (ie. means they underestimate their own size), they either bump both or one of the car mirrors into folding, or they will just fold it.

And i think you don't get it at all. Some mirrors CANNOT be folded by hand, you do it, you spoil the mirror.

Some cars, like the old one I had, I have to re-adjust the mirror tilt EVERYTIME someone folds it.

Perhaps you've never been in these situation, thats why you think it's okay. Just like everyone think it's funny to laugh at clowns until they become one.

Just know that, my mirror will be spoilt by manual folding, and I will exact whatever necessary means to recover the damages. If you spoil a mirror, and not man enough to admit and compensate for it, I think you have no basis of argument here.

i think you have already treat this situation with an extreme mentality.

1) maybe you car side mirror cannot be folded, that does not mean the everyone's car is the same

2) if someone even after parked the car 'properly' and folded his own mirror yet cannot pass through, is it the other car's parking or parking lot too small maybe? so tell me, if you are the owner what will u do?

3) Somehow u seem to have experienced alot of people folding your mirror based on what you said. surprisely, through my 10+ yrs of driving, i ever need to fold anyone's mirror except my own. maybe something strange there? [gossip]

4) when people resort to folding others mirror to get through, it means there is no other way to pass. like mscp where the back is blocked and sides are pillars, not open space cp.

ultimately, nobody wants to touch others property unless there is no choice.

By the way, i know some mirrors cannot be folded, have to see if there is a pivot.

If you have such a mirror, good luck to you.

Proper side mirrors should fold, and people expect them to.

I personally would not fold people's mirror unless i absolutely have to, and definitely not cosmetic mirrors, but most auntie and uncles will not know the difference between them.

You might as well say its the stray dog's fault for pooing in your house when you left your house door wide open. Of course, you can argue its your house, and the dog should know not to enter stranger's places

imo, its just pot calling kettle

My mirrors cannot be folded too. But thank God there is a spring-back action in case anyone tries to fold it so it won't get spoilt by those ignorant ppl, unless on purpose. But what I don't like is these ppl leaving their fingerprints on the mirror glass.

Btw, I think Lancer 1.6 Basic model's side mirrors cannot be folded. I tried on my sis-in-law's car and it didn't budge, or I didn't eat enough rice. But I remember for Sports version, the mirror can fold, although manually coz someone folded my mirror in as a prank or something and I drove off without noticing. Can anyone confirm?

Not all side mirrors can fold..... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I think non-foldable side mirrors are still quite common. Maybe among the more affordable family cars.

IMO if auntie and uncle not knowledgeable about mirrors or not sure, then better don't touch. [;)]

3) Somehow u seem to have experienced alot of people folding your mirror based on what you said. surprisely, through my 10+ yrs of driving, i ever need to fold anyone's mirror except my own. maybe something strange there?

Maybe the one who needs to fold other car's mirror needs to lose some weight. [:p][:p]

Btw, I think Lancer 1.6 Basic model's side mirrors cannot be folded

Confirm can fold, my previous ride was lancer 1.6 GLX.

3) Somehow u seem to have experienced alot of people folding your mirror based on what you said. surprisely, through my 10+ yrs of driving, i ever need to fold anyone's mirror except my own. maybe something strange there?

Maybe the one who needs to fold other car's mirror needs to lose some weight.

No.. the person.. must cut the fingers.... nail [laugh]

I'm also inviting anyone to fold mine too. Who cares! Almost all wing mirrors are designed to folder both directions. Am not so sure about motorised type though.

If vehicle next door parking properly, 99% of the time no need to fold any mirrors. If I'm next to pillar, bo bian have to park nearer, then folder own mirror before deciding if necessary to fold the other vehicle's mirror. Fold better than knock into it while opening door right? Some of you guys really very hyped about people having any form of contact with your vehicle hor? [lipsrsealed] It's just a goddamn vehicle lah. Mechanics also touch your vehicle with greasy fingers what. [hur]

Ya.. they are designed to fold upon impact.. but not for ichy fingers..

If a person can exit from the car by the door.. I dun see why that person cant walk thru the gap? unless the later that park is so kuku to leave veri little allowance side by side.

i think you have already treat this situation with an extreme mentality.

extreme? yo bro. which part of "don't touch my car" that you do not understand?

1) maybe you car side mirror cannot be folded, that does not mean the everyone's car is the same

likewise back to you, you will not know if the car's mirror can or cannot be folded, why must you assume all the car mirrors are the same? Can't you just fold your own car mirror?

Do you have a fetish for folding other people's car mirror?

2) if someone even after parked the car 'properly' and folded his own mirror yet cannot pass through, is it the other car's parking or parking lot too small maybe? so tell me, if you are the owner what will u do?

find another lot then! thats what I would do. If you want, you can write in and complain about the lot sizes also. Leave others' cars alone!

3) Somehow u seem to have experienced alot of people folding your mirror based on what you said. surprisely, through my 10+ yrs of driving, i ever need to fold anyone's mirror except my own. maybe something strange there? [gossip]

Excuse me, 10 yrs of driving don't equate to anything ok? I can have people with 20+ years of experience reversing into me while i'm stationary at the bottom of a slope and he is at the top.

You happy folding your own mirror, thats fine, just don't touch other people's car.

I suspect you are suggesting that it's my parking, but no, I always have my blind spot mirrors pointed at the floor, and my car is always DEAD CENTRE. I park often in MSCP and Open air carparks, I often choose single lots and avoid high traffic areas. I've gone through 4 different cars over the last 6 years and every single one of them have kenna one schmuck that think he/she is holier than thou to fold the mirrors to get through.

I think something is very wrong here. You want to fold your own mirrors, thats fine. But your right to pass the vehicle stops the moment you touch and shifted someone eles's property.

4) when people resort to folding others mirror to get through, it means there is no other way to pass. like mscp where the back is blocked and sides are pillars, not open space cp.

ultimately, nobody wants to touch others property unless there is no choice.

By the way, i know some mirrors cannot be folded, have to see if there is a pivot.

Like I said before, if you damage it, you own up and pay for it.

Some mirrors misaligns when you fold the sides. You are causing unnecessary harm.

I never believe as 'no choice', you made a choice when you choose to park in a tight lot. You made a choice to fold someone's mirror. These are choices. Just saying 'no choice' is just a pathetic excuse to reason for something you feel guilty about.

If you have such a mirror, good luck to you.

Proper side mirrors should fold, and people expect them to.

I personally would not fold people's mirror unless i absolutely have to, and definitely not cosmetic mirrors, but most auntie and uncles will not know the difference between them.

So you are saying , everyone expects your house door to open and shut, so when I want to look through your house, I have the right to open your house door? And if it's locked, I don't care, i just bash it open? Hey, it's your fault for installing a lock, doors are meant to be opened wat.

You might as well say its the stray dog's fault for pooing in your house when you left your house door wide open. Of course, you can argue its your house, and the dog should know not to enter stranger's places

I'm quite amused that you are relating those people who fold other's mirrors as stray dogs who anyhow poo. Yes, you are right. Thats because stray dogs do not have a sense of civil mindness and they are stupid, uneducated and ill-disciplined.

imo, its just pot calling kettle

not really, its pot telling everyone that its okay to be black, while nowadays there are such things as electric kettle.

oh yeah, just to add, next time when you walk on a path, and you meet a tree, be sure to cut it down first because its in your way. [hur]

Edited by Slowmo

sometimes, it's really not up to us to choose which parking lot especially during peak periods when everyone is desperate for a lot.

Even then, I still believe that we should not touch other car's mirror, unless strictly necessary. If really have to meddle with other car's mirror, only 2 possibilities:

1) either you or car beside didn't park properly

2) lot is really too small.

For possibility no 1, please ensure you park properly first. Then try to exit from other side of your car, if possible. If really comes to extent when have to fold other ppl's mirror, do it. After passing, can fold it back. BUT if u damage it, please leave a note.

For possibility no.2, if u really happen to find that the lot is really too small, can write in to carpark's authority to review it.

Edited by Redboy

Perhaps from this thread, we have come to realise that it's worthwhile to invest slightly more for cars with mirrors which can at least be folded manually, considering the typical sizes of sg parking lots.

Edited by Redboy

i would've accepted that someone folds my car mirror if I parked like a champion of 'parkingidiots.com', utterly deserves it. ya?

even for #2, I will close the side mirrors on my own initiative, I don't need to wait for someone else to bang their breasts into my car.

But even after all is said and done, I still have schmucks who thinks its cute to fold mirrors. [shakehead] Come on, I always leave enough space for my door to open w/o problems getting out of the car, coz I'm always in the middle of the lot. Why are there kill lifes who still need to fold mirrors? Thats seriously fuucked up man.