Road is for us to share.

Flameignite

Was driving at guillemard Rd today to look for some good eatery, this taxi choose to horn twice at me. Looking around, saw no car, so the intention of the taxi was clearly directed at me. I was thinking what I was suppose to do since it was a 3 way lane road, and I was already on the extreme left lane. (Expect me to drive on the pavement?!). 2 other lanes were clear of cars, so I chose to ignore his actions. Subsequently the cabbie tailgate me for probably for a good 30metres, before attempting to change to the first lane (extreme right).

It was so coincidental that fate brought us together again. The traffic light turned red so he had to pull to a halt just before a right turn. My vehicle was also slowly approaching the traffic light, and I chose to stop in the middle lane beside the taxi.

I look into the cabbie, and he start waving his hands action at me. I was like giving the [confused] , if you wana overtake me juz do it, I am not stopping you. Then his actions got more violent, and I thought i saw him pointing middle finger @ me. [furious][furious].

feeling offended,I wind down my window and confronted him. Ok may be 2 wrongs don make a right, but sometimes this few rotten apples deserve to be [whip]. Then he look away. "BASKET" dare to point don't dare to take responsible for his own action.

Then the light turn green, I decided to just move on. Come to think of it, I should have gotten down, and get his passenger to be a witness to the entire situation and write a letter to the cab company, but at that point of time somehow the story of the cabbie that got charge recently for causing a death of a financial adviser and anger got over me so much that I didnt take down the number plate of the cabbie. [bounce1]

O well next time I will have try keep my head cool and service the necessary action.

**To the the passenger in the cabbie who probably won't read this forum: Apologise for causing a "hoo-haa", probably gave u a fright. [:)]

did you have your hazard light on to indicate that you might have the intention to stop?

but bad of other driver to point finger.. but he's not wrong in his horn if you didn't provide clean indication of your intention.

It's unwarranted that the taxi driver pointed his middle finger at you.

Did you do anything that could have warranted this action?

were you driving very slowly while looking at the eateries on your left?

I really have no idea, I was driving at a steady speed while looking out for the eatery. But in any case its a road with 3 lanes and no oncoming vehicles from behind. His intention is to turn right at the traffic,so he just need to keep on the extreme right lane. So there is no need to tail gate me. Horning me will only confuses me though. I am already on the extreme left lane,there is really nothing i can do, except to "filter left and drive on the pavement", can I? [sweatdrop].

I didnt have the intention to stop, was just looking out for the particular road name and eatery. putting hazard lights on, while moving off might create confusion for other traffic user, driving slowly may be more appropriate unless the intention was really to stop.

When I pull over beside him , and the aftermaths of looking at his actions of hands shaking violently in the air which I really cannot conclude anything [confused] At that instance i responded with a shrug( my shoulders with both palms up),perhaps that tick him off.

But i really would like to hear from the cabbie why when there is 3 lanes with no oncoming traffic from the back. I keep left, he wants to turn right,but don't filter right, instead chose to horn me and then tail gate me.

Horn me, tail gate me, all I can accept, but pointing middle finger does offend me though.

Now that I have cool off, come to think of it, taxi uncles sunday also need to work.May be the taxi uncle had a hard day @ work that cld added to his fustration on the road.

* *In any case if anyone related to this uncle, I apologize for any possible actions that might warrent such action or cause him any distress, if there is any to start with. But uncle, plz refrain from pointing ur finger at others. If it was someone else, who knows you might get [knife] one day.

Bro, if you put yourself in the shoes of the taxi driver, you will understand why he is angry. Right and wrong are all relative. From my point of view, looking out for an eatery while driving is a no-no. Not only do you potentially hold up traffic, your attention is not focused on what is in front of you. What happens if a child dashes out onto the road in front of you while you are looking at the Char Siew Png advertisement signboard? Chances are you won't be able to stop in time to avoid a fatal situation.

Frankly speaking, should just write down the number and shoot him.

-Do you deserve to be in this job, especially in service line?

-Try being that as a Bank cashier, I'm sure the next thing, you be off.

My dad is a taxi driver as well, Other than a few 'standard' booking and traffic fines as usual, He has always been a responsible driver. Why? He told me that he have to since he chose this line. Simple.

The worst is to lose your cool while driving. If Singapore is rule by head, not rules. I'm sure a lot of us would have been beaten up on the road.

Well, there are different schools of tot based on what you've described.

Whether hazard lights are on or off while moving slowly, looking for an eatery will warrant flashing or a short horn from other road users. Reason is some believe u should on them to warn those behind u. While there are also some who think otherwise as this will cause confusion. There are also some who prefer to bo chup.

Since you stopped beside the taxi, why not try winding down the window to ask for an explanation? This will solve most problems. Of cos, the possibility of the other party refusing to face u is there too.

I'm just guessing.........Maybe the taxi driver read your shrugging of shoulders gesture as "So what can u do to me". Seems a bit sia lan [laugh] which I dun think is your attitude.

End of the day, drive safe! [:)]

Was driving at guillemard Rd today to look for some good eatery, this taxi choose to horn twice at me. Looking around, saw no car, so the intention of the taxi was clearly directed at me. I was thinking what I was suppose to do since it was a 3 way lane road, and I was already on the extreme left lane. (Expect me to drive on the pavement?!). 2 other lanes were clear of cars, so I chose to ignore his actions. Subsequently the cabbie tailgate me for probably for a good 30metres, before attempting to change to the first lane (extreme right).

It was so coincidental that fate brought us together again. The traffic light turned red so he had to pull to a halt just before a right turn. My vehicle was also slowly approaching the traffic light, and I chose to stop in the middle lane beside the taxi.

I look into the cabbie, and he start waving his hands action at me. I was like giving the [confused] , if you wana overtake me juz do it, I am not stopping you. Then his actions got more violent, and I thought i saw him pointing middle finger @ me. [furious][furious].

feeling offended,I wind down my window and confronted him. Ok may be 2 wrongs don make a right, but sometimes this few rotten apples deserve to be [whip]. Then he look away. "BASKET" dare to point don't dare to take responsible for his own action.

Then the light turn green, I decided to just move on. Come to think of it, I should have gotten down, and get his passenger to be a witness to the entire situation and write a letter to the cab company, but at that point of time somehow the story of the cabbie that got charge recently for causing a death of a financial adviser and anger got over me so much that I didnt take down the number plate of the cabbie. [bounce1]

O well next time I will have try keep my head cool and service the necessary action.

**To the the passenger in the cabbie who probably won't read this forum: Apologise for causing a "hoo-haa", probably gave u a fright. [:)]

Next time...STOMP it!!

Edited by Panda88

There must be a reason why the cabbie reacted the way he did.

IMO whoever is driving behind u cannot read your mind or your intentions whatever it may be.

Take down his number plate and file letter with LTA, taxi company and TP. [whip]

In my honest opinion, you also got a bit wrong....But that does not justify his actions of behaving like a hooligan and point middle finger at you..... [furious]

Next time u just dun look for eatry and driving at the same time loh.... [smash]

That's when accident will happen. Ppl thinking, heck since there is not much traffic on the road I can drive anyway I want. Safe what, no car behind, left or right. Such mentality. [shakehead]

go to his car ask him wind down his window, then drag his head out and use your mighty fist to punch himth_22667278.jpg , if not like now the more you think of the incidentthe more pissed you are.Sit at komputer 2084914.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

If a child dashed out from no where, I believe I still will be able to stop in time. It is not really like 100% concentration lookout for the place. Eyes will still on the road and look out for traffic, while still glancing for the road sign. In any case if a child or motorcyclist dash out, i rather go crash into some other objects then bang down a human. I am sure if your unfamiliar with some places, chances are, while looking for your destination,you will drive slow. There is like no cars behind me except for the taxi. Traffic flow is low.

Even if I tried putting myself in the uncle shoes, I still won't understand the reason why he chose to horn or tailgate me. Its not as if my vehicle has sway left and right. There are 3 lanes, no left turn on my extreme left lane. If I was the uncle, and this bugger in front of me drive slow, juz filter one lane and overtake. Its that simple.

agree that may be different school of thoughts regarding the use of hazard lights when moving off. To me hazard light is on showing an indication that a vehicle is halting any time due to whtever possible reason, so keep a distance. While switching it on and still moving will also irritate other road users.

I was thinking about it yesterday night why was his hand actions getting more violent. Yah the only thing that could spark off this reaction cld be that sia lan attitude. That really wasn't my intention though [laugh]. But when he pointed middle finger, I did wind down my window to confront him to ask him why did he have to do that? But he didnt do likewise. He juz looked away and pretended nothing happen! Anyway I felt like a moron confronting him, when he didnt want to engage conversation with me.

Don't want lah, not so free to stomp. Already hungry at that point of time, still looking for my dinner at close to 10pm. [crazy]. Later that cabbie uncle turn around and ask me why I drive and using phone at the same time. [smash]