$10000 ONLY

Meecar

Wow. If u can think of any investments that can turn just an initial outlay of 10,000 (which is very very little to be honest), into a sum that can afford a car worth, say, $40,000, please please tell everyone.

400% return from an investment of just 10,000 is very hard, if not impossible. Maybe u can try a particular share that has the potential of quadrupling in value. but in current markets, i think that's highly unlikely given your required time frame.

You can do very little with ten grand in a space of a year.

An investment that can return 400% - a return that's already exponential - has to require a pretty significant outlay. UNLESS of course, you're willing to put it in something sooo risky that you might as well buy the lottery... Speaking of which...

So... really. Toto is the only way. Haha. Not what u're looking for eh.

Edited by Spas

what if say 100K, only want 40% return, possible? say all within a year time.

Not enough. 1 mil and we'll start talking 40% return in a year. Maybe. 10mil would be a more comfortable outlay. 40% is quite a lot even for an initial outlay of 1mil - esp in a volatile market.

Also depends on risk appetite. Prepared to lose 50% of your 1mil too?

100,000k better to invest in fixed income securities. Less risk and way better than leaving it in the bank to be devalued by inflation.

But seriously, if I have something that can turn 1mil to 1.4m in a year. I wouldn't say it here. I'd make u sign a contract and charge you a fee for it.

And again, take the 100grand out of the bank and buy some bonds. Stay away from US treasury bonds or securities derived from it. Baaaad.

Edited by Spas

seriously, if i have one million in hand, i wud sit back, relax, play mahjong and continue of what i m doing now... what for i risk myself?

i m easilly contented [:p]

If you're above 70 years of age maybe 1mil would be enough.

If u're any younger - judging from current local standards of living - it wouldn't last you comfortably unless you're willing to live very sparingly.

Fact.

very easily contented maybe not but perhaps you got a frugal lifestyle?

Problem is when you hit the first million, you wont stop there, my fren.

That i guarantee you.

but seems like at this moment, i am unable to hit anything near 1 million... or even half a million...

say if i have 100K now, what u think is the best thing i can invested in in order for it to grow into a million? and how long does the 100K to 10 fold it?? [:/]

wah u fail in 3 businesses... ranging from $40K to $3M...

wanna ask you:

1) where u get all your fundings?

2) with $3M start-up cost, what kind of business are u in?

3) since you got $3M, why dun u juz reture?

4) are u an undischarged bankrupt?

5) if you are bankrupt, how much you are paying per month now? how long u think you can be discharge?

1) In the first few, funds were from partners each coming up with $10k or so. The late venture was backed by holding company

2) after market performance parts [:p]

3) $3M is not my money

4) no

5) N/A

[wave]

If you got $10,000 to invest in 2008

any bright ideas on how to increase the sum by investing in 2008

so that can buy a small car by the end of the year

please : dont advice on the following as have tried and failed

4D

Big Sweep

ToTo

Casino (Genting, Star Cruise)

further would not take the following advice as there is a good chance of permanently dont have to buy a car

rob a bank or petrol kiosk

begging in Orchard road

so as you have gathered this is a serious request to put our brains together

thanks [:)]

10K cant do much ....

seriously, if i have one million in hand, i wud sit back, relax, play mahjong and continue of what i m doing now... what for i risk myself?

i m easilly contented [:p]

Same here, once reach a million cash-on-hand may be sit back and relax liao, half-retired stage. Go and find a 4 to 5 hours job to warm up the body daily. 1 mil put in bank also can have close to 2k to spend monthly.

wah.. baking of $3M by holding company ah.. the shareholder muz be KPKB now [laugh][:p]

but i think u r good lah... at least u can 'con' someone who part the $3M with them for u [:p]

Wow. If u can think of any investments that can turn just an initial outlay of 10,000 (which is very very little to be honest), into a sum that can afford a car worth, say, $40,000, please please tell everyone.

400% return from an investment of just 10,000 is very hard, if not impossible. Maybe u can try a particular share that has the potential of quadrupling in value. but in current markets, i think that's highly unlikely given your required time frame.

You can do very little with ten grand in a space of a year.

An investment that can return 400% - a return that's already exponential - has to require a pretty significant outlay. UNLESS of course, you're willing to put it in something sooo risky that you might as well buy the lottery... Speaking of which...

So... really. Toto is the only way. Haha. Not what u're looking for eh.

yes it is true

but the point here is not the 400% but ability to beat the fund managers in getting a better returned than them

the problem with these fund managers

they have all the research at their finger tips

fund price drop still get paid

fund price goes up they get a huge bonus

yes the stress working in the environment is difficult so is the rubbish collector

dont you think the rubbish collector's job is really tough too

they have to take the Sh*t from our rubbish especially those you do not take consideration when throwing sharp objects into the rubbish shoot

very easily contented maybe not but perhaps you got a frugal lifestyle?

Problem is when you hit the first million, you wont stop there, my fren.

That i guarantee you.

I cant agree with you more

because there is an issue of

acclimatization to the current lifestyle

oh almost forgot

greed steps in

seriously, if i have a disposable one million dollar... i will migrate liao... [laugh][laugh]

1 MILLION difficult to migrate

australia expect you to invest x among of money which would eat into your 1 million

and etc

malaysia already want 1/4million for the then silver hair program

anybody worked out how much it is necessary required to retire

with a monthly income of $3000 from your investments

ha ha... $3M to a holding company is peanuts niah. [sweatdrop]

oi! I neber 'con' ok... don't any how say [:p] I was invited to head the company due to my previous extensive experience in entrepreneurship. [scholar]

wah u fail in 3 businesses... ranging from $40K to $3M...

wanna ask you:

1) where u get all your fundings?

2) with $3M start-up cost, what kind of business are u in?

3) since you got $3M, why dun u juz reture?

4) are u an undischarged bankrupt?

5) if you are bankrupt, how much you are paying per month now? how long u think you can be discharge?

1) In the first few, funds were from partners each coming up with $10k or so. The late venture was backed by holding company

2) after market performance parts [:p]

3) $3M is not my money

4) no

5) N/A

[wave]

may we know what business you are in

may be some of us are interested in partnering you

how about opening up another zouk

the zouk owner used to be my neighbour

obviously he has since moved to a high class place