Thug Clutched January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 it's diff to buy a car by year end unless u're buying super old coe cars... hmm..... maybe u can go into fx time deposits.... NZD is not bad. Last check on the board rates is showing 8 plus % for interests. COE car? I have one on hand...u wan?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sporadic 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 If you got $10,000 to invest in 2008 any bright ideas on how to increase the sum by investing in 2008 so that can buy a small car by the end of the year http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2fMxoAe1-1117.html Get a car like this. Age=6.5 years old price= $18,800. Put down your $10,000 as down payment. Take $8,800 at 3% for 3 years= $8,800 + $792 = $9,592 End of 3.5 years, you can scrap the car: OMV= $13,995 ===> you get back $11,196.... which is more than you $10,000 Effectively, you are only spending ($19,952 - $11,196)/3.5 years = $2,500 per year, or $50 a week to own a car. And you'll still have your $10,000 at the end of 3.5 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 not me lah.... it's the TS who wants to buy a car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 very smart idea but just wonder how much is the maintenance for a 6 year old car and beyond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 $10,000 is too little to invest. What can you do with it? Even a 10% guaranteed return investment yields you only $1,000. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 trust funds are way too slow and you lost money the moment you invest in them in terms of handling/administrative fee. Hum tum all your 10k into a warrant. Although volatile, but making $40k from $10k from warrant is common. Market is too volatile for buy and hold for 2008, well at least for the first half of 2008. And if you newbie to stock, then just hum tum warrant. Warrant is the best when market is volatile. Lose you just hold niah. But when it swing upwards, holly!! New car on the way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jermy Clutched January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 trade in US options you can make more than 100% profits in a single night if you get your trades right. The risk is only the amount of $$ you put in to buy the options. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 It's going to be a volatile year. Defensive stocks are good for this year. Look for yields above 2%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Market is too volatile for buy and hold for 2008, well at least for the first half of 2008. And if you newbie to stock, then just hum tum warrant. Warrant is the best when market is volatile. this statement will kill alot of people especially those without holding power... Pls advise with care... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Anyone knows about T3B System? Is it really that good as advertised? http://www.trackthetrend.com/t7/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 hehe... TS want to buy new car with $10k investment in 1 year. High risk high return mah. If got low risk high return then everybody huat liao In the end, how greedy a person gets, and how much risk he will undertake to quench that thirst of greed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 well... but as you can see.. he wants matter of factly no risk but super high returns Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 not me lah.... it's the TS who wants to buy a car haa...sorrie dude...but if u wan...i ahve!! ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 It's going to be a volatile year. Defensive stocks are good for this year. Look for yields above 2%. do you sometimes feel really unfair fund manager whether they do well or not get to charge upfront subcription changes then maintenance fee then soft dollar then if you well above eg 20% against target get to keep big big bonus BUT if the fund folds and you are force sell and switch to another fund, fund manager still get salary so bloody unfair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 thanks but no thanks... i'm looking to change my ride in mar... scouting around now..... but no COE cars pls... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 $10k. That is a start. You have no appetite for risk so play it safe coz if you lose a good part of the 10k, you will have no more ammunition for further investments --> dead end. My suggestion is for you to get into v safe and high yielding stocks. I am a stock broker and I have seen many newbies make the mistake of trying to do too much in too little time... and they end up dabbling stocks at the slightest tips they hear. Consider shipping trusts --> yield >10% a year. Yield is stable coz the charter is for long term (7 years onwards .. ie. rates are locked in). While you enjoy this fantastic yield, take time to leanr the market and investing. Take at least 1 year to do it ... and then do paper trade/investments (trade on theory). Paper trade has its own critics but its at least a start. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baka Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 There is no perfect fairness in the world. We pay them some commissions so that we can continue our lives without monitoring and spending too much time on stocks market. I used to be getting ard 10% per annum on average from stocks trading in the past, but it distracted me from work and caused my blood pressure to shoot up when the market was volatile. Nowadays, I trade less and buy more Unit trusts for more ease of mind. Happier now... Warrants - dun think abt it if you dun even grasp the fundamentals of stocks. I have friends been burnt badly recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Funds buy big caps (common household names) and are benchmarked against index. You are likely better off buying index funds as they mirror the index + very low fees. If u thinking of buying UTs, likely u can be better off getting yourself some shipping trusts. If die die must buy UT, only UT I will consider is MENA - Middle East North Africa. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...