Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 looking forward to try this new engine however, B-Series still rule ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 dun think got any left. what a pity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 1.5 RS (M) Power 120 bhp Torque 145 Nm Engine capacity 1,496 cc Engine type 16-Valve SOHC VTEC, In-Line 4-Cylinder Compression ratio 10.5 Bore x Stroke (73.0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 1.3 G (A) Power 100 bhp Torque 127 Nm Engine capacity 1,339 cc Engine type 1.3L Super CVT- i ,16-Valve SOHC VTEC, In-Line 4-Cylinder Compression ratio 10.5 Bore x Stroke (73.0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Both 1.3 and 1.5 same kerb weight? So yall know which one to choose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 VVTL-i does not meet new environmental requirement, I doubt Toyota will refresh this technology. U sure that's the reason, coz Honda's K20A iVTEC still can meet Euro emission requirement leh, albeit wiith less hp than Japan's version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Really ... ya pity. Not to mention they have no sports car/sedan (except the 3L Mark X) in their Japan line up with the demise of Caldina GT. Probably they are more concern with beating GM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Its funny you should say that, because ever since Honda left the B-series engines behind they have taken a huge step back. Where they made the magic 100bhp/litre mark back in the 90s, they make a measly 120 with this latest incarnation of the L-series. Should we really be celebrating? Maybe the engine is greener than before, maybe it uses less fuel, we really need to put that quoted figure to the test. You need to remember that Toyota only introduced the 1NZ engine into their platform around the time of the G9 Corolla, and engines do cross from one chassis generation to another. Case in point: the B16 spanned the EF, EG, and EK generations before being replaced by the D-series. Were they being lazy? B-series was taken out due to tighter emission ruling all over the world... basically if they continue to make B-series engines... they have no place on earth to sell the car... they have the technology to put out 1.6L engine pumping out >185ps on a mass production scale... but that would never pass emission ruling in our present time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Well said, consistent with what I read. Power isnt everything nowadays. Leave some breathable air for our little kids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 You can google it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Must use one's reasoning capacity to interpret also mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VVTL-i Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Maybe for SOHC with the camshaft above, it's difficult to use only single normal spark plug as it is not in the most ideal location thus two spark plugs were used instead. Now that we have spark plugs with multiple electrodes, I guess that solves some issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Ah ... it says it does not meet Euro IV, but didn't say it does not meet Japan's std which is lower than Euro. Anyway, i will advice against putting too much trust in the factualness of wiki. If Toyota really wants to do it, i'm sure it can improve it's vvtli technology to meet whatever emission std. Honda has done it with their similar-to-vvtli technology which is available in European and Japan markets, so ultimately it is the effort not the technology (which is never meant to be stagnant anyway). Hack, even supposedly emission unfriendly rotary technology, having only one small proponent in Mazda, can also survive, what more a tried and tested technology like vvtli if back by the biggest car company in the world. More likely some top brass to toyota axed vvtli figuring it is not going to be an effective money spinner given the effort required to refine it for emission std. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 yup..i was about to say that.. the old B series engine cannot keep up with the emission std for road going cars.. if there is no emission std, then i think i'll find F1 engine in my car liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 That's a big assumption. That's why in my post I said: I don't think Toyota will "refresh" this technology. Toyota more interested in making cash cow products (mass market). Sport cars I believe will move into Lexus brand with some V8 / V10 engine to compete with Euro-made. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 Lexus only have one new sports car model in recent years also. Still pursuing that's for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 10, 2008 Share January 10, 2008 I'm wondering when they will actualize the a-vtec technology. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...