2nd hand car engines

Sugar

Hi bros,

I would need to change car in 1 years time.

Given the prices of new cars, i will have to settle for a 2nd hand car. But i am not ruling out brand new cars yet.

Lets say a 7 year old car with 30,000 km per year...assuming standard servicing was done. How many percent of horsepower the engine would lose in the 7 years?

For 2nd hand cars, i am not so worried about suspension, air con, upholstery etc....i am more worried about engine and gear box and chassis....

Get a new car and saves the trouble...... -_-

if i have money, i would do that...but sadly i dont have

Lets say a 7 year old car with 30,000 km per year...assuming standard servicing was done. How many percent of horsepower the engine would lose in the 7 years?

For 2nd hand cars, i am not so worried about suspension, air con, upholstery etc....i am more worried about engine and gear box and chassis....

Dun worry so much. Just do the necessary checks before buying and after buying, do the necessary oil/belts/other changes and you'll be fine.

Engine of 7 years could still be in good condition. It all depends on how the previous owner maintain it.

Dun worry so much. Just do the necessary checks before buying and after buying, do the necessary oil/belts/other changes and you'll be fine.

Engine of 7 years could still be in good condition. It all depends on how the previous owner maintain it.

assuming standard maintenance, oil change etc....is there a rule of thumb to say that the engine will generally lose xx% of hp each year?

IMHO...if the previous owner has regular oil change...the engine should be ok. GB depends on how he drives. If its like my brother in law...good luck to you. He will shift the gear from DRIVE to REVERSE in a split second...he says its faster...knn and then proceed to drive like a turtle. These type of gearbox is waiting to go up lorry one.

For high mileage cars....just be prepared to change your bushing and mounting. Invest in that repair...your car will feel damn shiok to drive...just like when it was new.

Buying used cars you have to set aside a sum of money for repair...dun expect the owners to repair for you then sell...there are such people around...but rare. If you know you are going to sell...would you repair if you can put it off ?

When I get a used car...first thing I do is to do a big servicing...ie...change all the engine oil...brake fluid, coolant, all the belts etc. For peace of mind. Then other stuff like suspension...bushing...mounting etc...I slowly replace...else the repair bill is gonna be a shocker.

Remember...most cars are reliable if left stock...its what some does to it that makes in unreliable.

Getting a used car which is more than 5 year old and above, there is always a risk there la. Many times also depends on your luck and how you select the cars from the used car market. I have a few friends recently also buy a 5-7 year old used car, so far none of them have any problems with their used car. [:)]

if i have money, i would do that...but sadly i dont have

if borderline case of affordability think it's better that you dont buy a car.

imagine if any repair etc, you gonna cry.

if it's not a borderline case then go buy a new/newer case and save yourself headache

assuming standard maintenance, oil change etc....is there a rule of thumb to say that the engine will generally lose xx% of hp each year?

I believe there will surely be some lost of hp in an engine over certain years of running, and high mileage. But if the ex-owner do good maintinence and is not a rough driver, then the lost in hp won't even be obvious and significant. You might not even feel it.

Actually engine power can also depending on other parts like gearbox transmission, drive shaft, tires, etc.

I have bought a 15years old automatic car before and happily drove for another 5 years before it was eventually scrape .

It was a over engineered Toyota CORONA 1.6 .

No worries...just buy. Like me bought a 9 years old car with 184K km. What I did was

to change all the oils etc etc and a set of tyres and all good to go.

Get your mech to do a compression test, from the readings , he should be able to get you a rough estimate.

bro if you worry buy a 2nd hand OPC and convert it to normal plate lo. OPC car wear and tear not that high than those normal plate cars right?

If the car from new is service with a good 100% Syn oil like Mobil 1,used 98 petrol most of the time,i don't think 210k Km is alot...for any engine.

how much power u want?

come come i recommend u these products to bring back the POWER and LIFE into your engine!!!

Surbo2.jpg

Supper-10800-Gs-KING-POWER-Magnetic-font-b-Fuel-b-font-Saver-KP-1-Oil-font.jpg

806.jpg

bmw-e36-electric-supercharger.jpg

gas_gadgets_02_0710-lg.jpg

Edited by Mockngbrd