So_nice 6th Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 aiya, wats the problem? mr lemon will come out and say (at best) "it was an honest mistake, lets move on. not to worry, there will be many good years ahead for all cabbies" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Most cabbies work 7 days a week. There are those who will give themselves one day off but they belong to a rarer group and usually they does so also becos their income belongs to the higher bracket of $90++ per day type..If you can only rake in $60-70++ a day as a cabbie, most of the time, you will not dare consider giving yourself a day's break in a week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 They are damn right waiting times is shorter. In fact, zero waiting time. I was near centrept last night and there was a long queue of empty taxis at the taxi stand forming from centrepoint all the way close to the cross road junction at Heeren/Orchard building area waiting for passengers. I think cab drivers are really suffering - I see lots of empty cabs waiting for passengers at TPY MRT station every evening when I pick up my wife from the station. despite myself having bad experience with impatient cabbies on the road occasionally, I do feel they are quite a pitiful lot.. does anyone knows how much the CEO of Comfortdelgro earns? I heard after bonus, it exceeds S$1 Million.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Sporean are not just forgetful, but scared of problems too. many are brought up/inculcated with " ta shi hua siao, siao shi hua wu" mentality. If you dun stick to that, u will be criticized, condemned, ostracized and your asset frozen, leaving only one path, apologize, pay up and dun speak up again. Media is just a tool to create illusions so that they can upgrade their "peanuts" to "bananas".... I dun think i can remember this incident when the next GE is due. Singaporean are very forgetful de. Haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Based on figures provided by ComfortDelGro, Singapore's biggest taxi operator, cabbies are pocketing about $11 more a day, earning about $318. That $318 per day is before or after rental and diesel cost? What is the sample size? What kind of cab? Is that for per shift or is it the total amount of both shifts? if 318 per day before rental and diesel and the cab is the Mercedes cab which has advance booking for the whole day, then yeah..probably it is true. otherwise, I really don't think so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 if taxi driver so good earning, $318 per day, i think you won't see any white collar worker in singapore anymore 318 works out to be $9k monthly income if no rest days, or a very decent 6k plus if rest 2 days per week. this clearly is a ruse to deflect the attention from the high rental the taxi companies are collecting from cabbies. just imagine at $2700 per month rental, it is even more costly than the rates of mercs e class or bmw 3 series car rental charged by car rental companies and i am surprise at the intelligence level of the persons who allowed this $318 comment to be aired publicly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Drivers' earnings up, cab waiting times down: Raymond Lim Based on figures provided by ComfortDelGro, Singapore's biggest taxi operator, cabbies are pocketing about $11 more a day, earning about $318. actually the above statement is ??? cabbies are pocketing about $11 more a day which a) will let them earn about $318 more a month OR b) bring their earning up to $318 per day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Epr0mlse 2nd Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 If I heard correctly on the news, it's reported as $318 per day. This morning the cab driver also complain to me during the ride.. all the way to destination.. They even make noise at their head office at Braddell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 (edited) yeah man.....I will quit and go drive cab if I can get 318 per day I think they meant 318 more a month, but the way the report is written is like 318 a day. Edited January 25, 2008 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yunfeng Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 That $318 per day is before or after rental and diesel cost? What is the sample size? What kind of cab? Is that for per shift or is it the total amount of both shifts? if 318 per day before rental and diesel and the cab is the Mercedes cab which has advance booking for the whole day, then yeah..probably it is true. otherwise, I really don't think so. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Aiya, maybe figure get from the highest earning that cab driver can earn on particular day leh ... $318 per day is not impossible, but unlikely to be earn that amount everyday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 its $11 a day and $318 a month from the news. $318 is based roughly 29 days of working. Seriously, u guys are not taking the numbers as it is, i hope. If you control media like news/radio/papers etc, its not difficult to have part time actors and fabricated statistics to conjure intended illusions to score sympathetic goals so that theres something worth saying for the next GE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 As expected from the great Lemon Lim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 Drivers' earnings up Wu Yah Bo??? Bo Yah Si Gui Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 Some other numbers that should be looked at should also be: Number of taxi drivers used to arrived at this figure a. If it's a sampling, what's hte sample size and group (make up of day and night shift?) b. If it's based on the number of taxis in the fleet/gired. Then what's the number of hired taxis vs the number of taxis STILL hired after the fee hike/at the end of this 4 week period. Have to give him one credit is: YES, the fee hike has definitely made waiting time less... because there's less of us who can afford taking cabs. There's now less demand and more supply. Basic economics, dun need minister level pay for this kind of work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 Sekali walkover in his area then LPPL... I can pretty much much garuantee+chop that his area will be a walk over .... after "They" rezone him to a no contest area.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 I caught a glimpse of this report on CNA when I was getting ready for work tis morning and it seems like cab driver earns S$85/day. Wonder how they arrive with this figure?? One of my uncle is driving a taxi & tot my grandmother that, one day he earned $50 for 4 hrs only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vodkeith Neutral Newbie January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 Bro, wats the $318 about? ...BMW 318? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 26, 2008 Share January 26, 2008 Complain also no use lah...they got to make it "work" else how to increase Taxi rental charges then the taxi company can increase their profit year after year. Anyway they made people avoid taking taxi so that people wont complain no taxi mah...it works didnt it.... When taxi driver quit their job then it will solve another problem...less congestion i do hope they gave up driving and maybe join the casino instead, this is happening in Macau ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...