Question on shocks

Dwoon

My ride is getting more bouncy by the months. Other symptoms are the car seems to be pulling over to the left as well as it dips rather badly during the corners and I no longer feel safe.

Could someone advise whether its the springs or the shocks that are dying?

Of course, I could get new springs as well as shocks.... but if only the shocks are dying, then I'll re-use the springs and save the $500 or so.... do springs have a life??? Mine's done ~100K.... and the shocks 110K kms.

Thanks for your feedback.

Oh ok. Thanks.... KYB makes the stock ones for my car model too.... but it costs $110 a piece. [:|]

Guess I might as well change springs since I'm at it.... if the symptoms still remain... I'll have wasted $100 labour just to redo with new springs.... not to mention the alignment costs too...

Shocks will kapo [nod][nod][nod]

Spring i never heard of kapo-ing ... unless tio accident [;)]

Original oil filled type shocks will last about 80,000-100,000km subject to the type of load capacity you are having [nod][nod][nod]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

But will they sorta sit lower over the years.... and in doing so, the stiffness is also affected? hmm... but should be the other way round right? more compressed = stiffer = less bounciness? [sweatdrop]

Sit lower is when your shocks start to wear out especially with heavy load[nod] [nod][nod]

Spring's stiffness is not so much affected IMHO [nod][nod][nod]

If you try lowered springs plus sport shocks and run over uneven grounds & humps at a higher speed, the bounciness is [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dead]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

I'm already on slightly lowered springs..... it helps reduce the bounciness in my case... else I get car sickness. [rolleyes]

But going over uneven ground at high speed, its not what I classify as bounciness.... that's bumpiness. [:p]

Yup, my shocks are the original ones..... springs were changed out for slightly lower ones and stiffer as well. Yeah... guess its about time to change after 4 years..... just afraid the springs are gone too which I hope not.

But the ones being sold by the local KYB stockist is without the leveliser for the rears... so its gonna be a gamble... hope the car won't have a saggy butt when on full load....

Oh ok. Thanks.... KYB makes the stock ones for my car model too.... but it costs $110 a piece. [:|]

Guess I might as well change springs since I'm at it.... if the symptoms still remain... I'll have wasted $100 labour just to redo with new springs.... not to mention the alignment costs too...

springs dun spoil so easily. i got mine from a shop at race course road several years ago.

car pulling over left - may be related to yr rotors (or discs)

Stock Shocks usually oil filled are softer than gas filled, life is about 60K of use.

If you want better handling, go for gas filled. If you prefer softer setup, then select oil filled.

After market shocks offers Twin tube (gas & oil).

Springs can last around 130-200K, which is unlikely to gp Kaput!

Go for better shocks like Bilstein, Koni, Ohlins & Sachs.

errr... on budget leh, cannot afford them bilsteins, teins, etc.... anyway, the shocks have gone for 110K kms and springs about 100K. So guess its time to change.....

I also notice that the front passenger side's height clearance of the wheel arch above the tyres to be about 3 to 4mm higher than the driver side.... this was during the pumping of air into the tyres. So I guess the shocks are gone huh?