Is Engineering - A dead end career ??

Cavver

sorry but i still do not see the way u do.

when the world is using 486, there is no wifi, nor mp3 players, and handphones are not mass marketed.

Today, in a pc, u still have a processing chip, plus wifi, plus bluetooth, plus graphics, additional ram chips, sound chips. Technology have become more sophisticated. Handphones have become standard equipments and so do changing them becomes frequent. how else u think 4 million population have 6 million subscribers and the multiple phone shops around the island.

in short the world is digitizing and is unimaginable to say demand is diminishing.

btw, I not sure which area of semicon u are in, but no offence, either you are in the wrong area of semicon or in the wrong company that makes you paint such a grey picture... and TECH is still getting ard 5-6 mths last year, though it is pretty uncommon.. and overall, i not saying semicon is booming but is still slow steady growth in the island.

On the area of pay, it will depend if you are in a value add area or manufacturing area. A company of IC design (meaning the brains to design how the chip works) with a workforce of less than 500 can have a revenue comparable to a low end manufacturing with workforce of 2000.

Yes. price erosion is the problem.

But combined with better output and increased consumption pattern of consumers, it is still generally a good thing.

And price can erode because...?

No worries, I am not asking nor expecting you to agree with me. Just don't have the same expectation of me...

I am working as a vendor, so main customers are fabs. I don't know if you consider as the 'wrong' area of semicon. But I see one difference in our views.

You assessment seem to be focused on semicon as a whole, mine is more on it's prospects in Singapore.

Edited by Scoots

Working as vendor. Mainly in 200mn but also have touched on 150mm and 300mm....

________________________________________________________________________________

_________

What type of machine u handle ? Working as a vendor should be good since another 2 more 300mm fab coming out, selling machine to them will keep u busy for sometime liao ... [:p]

As above .

Very scarely sia ,, I'm still a poly student @ engin [:(][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][:(]

Not really as long as u don't sign on.... Most sign on personnel came out to be property agent, financial planner, MLM not because they like it but no choice.... My friend out from "camp deadly", then join as a property agent in ERA for about 2 years already, gave up recently and now doing something about "education".... i felt it's MLM but he is not willing to disclose to me.... anyone knows abt "buying" to study education online?

Do an MBA & in the meantime do engineering sales or related. If all goes well should be able to reach senior management position between 35 - 40 years of age. Trust me [:)]

u must be one of them [thumbsup]

As above .

Very scarely sia ,, I'm still a poly student @ engin frown.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.giffrown.gif

sorry to OT abit.... i still see young people (look like Singaporean) selling car care/ grooming product in open space carpark nowadays..... market so bad? can't even get a decent office job??

i think i will seriously consider this job as dead end careersweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Do an MBA & in the meantime do engineering sales or related. If all goes well should be able to reach senior management position between 35 - 40 years of age. Trust me [:)]

Some people have succeeded. Others have not. I have seen many of these people. I was at this crossroad to do my MBA in my late 20s to prepare for my career advancement as I get older. (Kiasu a bit). But realised that MBA is not suitable for me. Eventually I went to do my postgraduate studies of my specialized field and I got it.....I don't think I can make it to get an MBA.

By the way bro, not trying to splash cold water on you. This is just my opinion and you can differ your thoughts with me. We are all here to share and learn from one another. I find that there are a lot of MBA graduates out there. Too many institutions offering MBAs and people can obtain it so easily.

bro,

if really want to do MBA, make sure it is branded one like INSEAD....

otherwise, nobody really cares if u have a noral MBA....like from NTU or NUS.....

at least i dun....laugh.gif

i kw some companies look for mba, esp those ang mo ones. i once had a manager who had mba, but kana wacked upside down by customer and management. In the end, he ended his "industrial attachment" early.

There are so many MBA graduates even those from local universities.

I agree with you that go for those reputable ones.

Last time when I was in civil service, my boss, who coincidentally was a scholar, went to a reputable US unversity to do his MBA under the government scholarship. Apparently, he told me that he go there not just to study. But first to collect name cards, and then build network.

Sure enough, after his studies and he came back to Sinkapore, he resigned from the civil service. Someone in his class was in "senior management" of one of the companies located in Silicon Valley and both became good friends during his one year study there. This friend's company one day got a new opening and my boss was offered the post. He gladly took it.

hee hee, you hit the jackpot of why i said must go branded MBA....

the real value of the MBA is in the networking, collect namecards....

the things they teach in class, you can learn on the job....